We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids”
Review of The Fancott

The Fancott
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Toddington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Fancott is a traditional family pub located near Toddington, Bedfordshire.A warm welcome awaits you and your guests at The Fancott, where food is available all day, everyday.We have been refurbished to the highest standard. We also have a beautiful large garden, great play equipment for the kids and our famous Mini Railway!
Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here on journey down M1. Lovely food, really enjoyed the pies. Prices were average. Our 4 yr old had a great time on the playground. Will visit again.

Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Owner at The Fancott, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Hi Emily

“Great for kids”

Thanks for taking the trouble to review us here at The Fancott,
where I was pleased you enjoyed your Lunch with us.

Thanks again

Regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 290 of 439 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Been to the Fancott a few times now and it keeps on improving. Took Sunday lunch for 7 but we had made a mistake on our booking, this was sorted out by the staff and we got a bigger table even though the restaurant was full (thanks!). Service was prompt, particually drinks which seemed to come via telephophy they were so fast. Food was excellent as it has been on last few visits. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dc94990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Owner at The Fancott, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Hi There

“Great meal”

Oh how nice of you to write such a nice review of us here at The Fancott.
All of us were delighted you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us.

Great to note service was prompt, particularly the drinks, as Bar gets very busy at times.

Thanks again for review and thanks for being a valued and regular customer of The Fancott.

Regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We spent the afternoon in the garden with 2 young children. great experience for them. Food was pretty good. The burgers look home made and tasted great, the chilli was ok but didnt seem as good.

The children loved the garden, playground and train, and the baby changing facilities are brilliant, much better than many other similar places.

Overall a great place to take children for an afternoon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GazBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Owner at The Fancott, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Hi There Gaz in Bedfordshire

“Great day out”

Oh thank you for reviewing us at The Fancott.

We were all delighted to read you and family enjoyed your day at The Fancott. including the Play Area and The Train!

Regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Lovely outdoor space for family with the miniature railway and play area for children. It was a busy lunchtime so food took a little longer to arrive than expected. The chips were really good, crisp outside and soft inside - definitely not an oven chip! Our fish and chicken were also tasty and well cooked. Childrens food decent portion size and offered a good choice. The bar menu is traditional pub fare, the restaurant serves a different menu, but all round nice Sunday lunchtime experience sitting in the sun.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CountryCousin2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Owner at The Fancott, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Hi There CountryCousin2008 (?)

“Tasty bar food, lovely outdoor setting for family”

Well thank you for lovely review of us at The Fancott and glad you and your family enjoyed The Fancott at it's best on a lovely sunny Sunday!

Regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Decided to give it a go, I found food pricey, nothing jumped out on me from the menu, struggled to find a dish I could order, run of the mill type of restaurant .... No desire to return, staff looked depressed ....

Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Owner at The Fancott, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Hi Penny

“Not impressed”

Bit harsh, I think!

"Decided to give it a go, I found food pricey, nothing jumped out on me from the menu, struggled to find a dish I could order, run of the mill type of restaurant .... No desire to return, staff looked depressed ...."

You don't give me a lot to go on, except the staff looking depressed!!!!
They are normally a lively and happy bunch :)

Oh well thanks for review even though a poor one!

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fancott also viewed

Henlow, Bedfordshire
 
Chalton, Bedfordshire
 
Pulloxhill, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Fancott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing