We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wedding venue”

The Forest of Marston Vale - Forest Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A visitors Centre in the heart of the Forest of Marston Vale, with Lakeside Cafe Bar (serving a range of hot meals, cakes and snacks), gift shop, bike hire (and adapted bike hire), 8km of surfaced, level tracks and beautiful views. With picnic areas, and suitable outdoor seating areas for dog walkers in the Cafe.
bedford england
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful wedding venue”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We held our wedding here in August.
From the very first time we contacted Helen, the Restaurant Manager and wedding co-ordinator, everything went like a dream. Nothing is too much trouble for Helen and her team. This venue is ideal for weddings.
We had our wedding ceremony in one of the conference rooms over looking the lake, our guests then joined us on the terrace for drinks before my husband and i went to the sanctuary gardens with our photographer for some personal photos. We then had photos taken with our guests by the lake before enjoying a beautiful meal.
In the evening, once the cafe was closed to the public, the area was transformed into our evening reception venue, all the flowers and balloons were transferred to the cafe where our disco was all set up and ready to go. The evening buffet was gorgeous, many of our guests commented that they were still full up from the main meal but the buffet was too nice not to indulge!
We had the complete package - venue(use of 3 rooms), arrival drinks,wedding breakfast, wine with the meal, sparkling wine for the toasts, flowers and balloons for the tables and a fantastic disco. Which proved to be exceptional value for money.
We had a wonderful day - our guests, many of whom did not even know the center was there were all very complementary about the venue and the staff.
We would not hesitate to recommend this venue to anyone looking for a wedding venue.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sallyh3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    156
    36
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“a little walk”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great to go for a quick local walk and take time to chill, from the daily hustle and bustle. Accessible car park, always busy with people, bikes, dogs, children,with the bonus of the centre - info on the area together with the restaurant and toilet facilities. Re discovered the forest centre after a team building event.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alicat10235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Early breakfast and enjoyable walk”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

One of the reasons we enjoy visiting Marston Vale Forest Centre is because of the variety of walks. An added attraction for us is being able to have an "Early bird breakfast" which is available from 8.00 a.m. till 10.00 a.m. Monday to Friday. This offer includes a good quality English breakfast with a free coffee for under £5 each.

Many of the walks around the Centre are free but there is also the option of paying a small fee to go round the Nature Reserve. Being keen birdwatchers, we sometimes do this as there are several well positioned hides by the lakes and reed beds. The Centre staff have recently built another hide which overlooks a newly constructed sand martins' nest site. We are looking forward to going back next year to see if the sand martins have taken up residence!

Other attractions at the Centre are a children's playground, cycle hire and a small gift shop. Most of the paths, including around the Reserve, are suitable for wheelchair users.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank krhBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I love this place”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

lovely place to walk, cycle eat and rink. sometimes has events on too. it manages to capture all the sunshine, lovely to walk around with friends families or in couples. lovely wildlife and the little cafe is lovely too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best venue ever for our civil partnership”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Not only is this a beautiful location it offers so much more.
We were lucky enough to be able to hold our civil partnership there and the staff could not have been more helpful and enthusiastic.
They helped us lay out our tables , put up decorations and were flexible and kind.
The catering for our cream tea and evening buffet was wonderful a great selection of freshly made cakes ,scones and pastries and an Impressive evening buffet.
There is a lovely gift shop and weather permitting fantastic walking and wildlife to to be seen.
It is one of the very best attractions in Bedforshire and more friendly people you could not wish to meet.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank biizylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Forest of Marston Vale - Forest Centre also viewed

 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Forest of Marston Vale - Forest Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing