We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely visit”
Review of The Crown

The Crown
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Henlow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated on the B659 in High Street at Henlow with easy access from Junction 10 off the A1. This pretty pub with its picturesque garden is full of traditional character and the perfect place to eat, drink and relax.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely visit”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Food and service was excellent, sat outside in the garden, possibly the best onion rings I've ever had!
Very friendly and the bar inside looked clean and welcoming

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SimJonLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi There

“A lovely visit”

Thanks for taking the trouble to review our Pub and Restaurant.
Sitting in or garden......
Really pleased you enjoyed!
Pleased you loved our onion rings too as, we get loads of praise for our homemade chips,
proves they are great too.

Regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    182
    85
    42
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
615 reviews
389 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Visit”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I said after I reviewed The Five Bells that The Crown was next (my daughter has just moved to Henlow) and so it was that my wife and I gave it a whirl today.

It was a special Fathers Day menu only today but it included the ubiquitous Sunday roast that I desired - indeed my favourite, roast sirloin of beef. I wasn't disappointed, the meat was very slightly overcooked for me at 'medium' but was nevertheless very good. The vegetables included roasted carrots and cabbage, peas and cauliflower in a cream sauce - delicious.! Roast potatoes were a little undercooked for my personal taste but acceptable for sure. My wife delighted in her beef in beer pie which I must say was full of flavour and contained the leanest of meat which we both prefer. We shared a chocolate brownie bathed in a hot chocolate sauce with caramel ice cream for dessert - seriously delicious and it was wolfed down in record time.

The staff were friendly and courteous (take note others.!), the whole experience most enjoyable and we'll certainly return. Sure it's a little more expensive than other local establishments but think of the 80/20 rule - 80% better for 20% more cost.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nidgehammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hi Nidgehammer

“Well Worth A Visit”

Thanks for review and pleased you enjoyed our Roast Sirloin of beef, even if slightly over done.
Thanks for also complimenting your wife's meal.

I liked the 80/20 rule - 80% better for 20% more cost.
Might use that again on these pages. Keep an eye out for that!

See you both again soon hopefully.

Best regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a very nice meal at this restaurant today, the first time we've eaten here since it was refurbished. Tasteful refurbishment job has modernised it nicely and given it more of a "restaurant" than a "pub" feel. Good imaginative food and great service even on a busy day like Father's Day. The menu was a little limited, but we all found something we could try and everyone enjoyed their food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hi Janine

“Very enjoyable"

Thanks for taking time to review our Pub and Restaurant.
Really pleased you like our refurbishment.
Glad too you enjoyed your Lunch on Fathers Day.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I love this pub and hope it never changes hands”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I love this pub! I have always had great service and great food (and take everyone I know here). I took my mum and stepdad on Thursday, the first time I've been since the refurb and it was just lovely. New decor = big tick. Service = always a big tick. Food = amazing big tick. I think I have sampled most of the menu by now and no matter what I have, it's absolutely great quality and I feel, value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi Niki

“I love this pub and hope it never changes hands”

Thanks for taking trouble to write such a nice review, much appreciated.
We won't change hands I promise!
I loved the Big Tick, then the Always a Big Tick, finally The Amazing Big Tick!

Wow thanks again!

best Regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Working lunch”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Being stuck out in the sticks whilst @ work and wishing to enjoy a 'special' lunch with your colleagues can be a challenge but the Crown @ Henlow made for a very enjoyable experience with a great variety of homemade and delicious dishes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DEL010596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Hi There!

“Working lunch”

Thanks for taking time to write nice review.
Nice to note you felt we are a special place to bring your colleagues.

Great news!

Regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown also viewed

 
Toddington, Bedfordshire
 
Old Warden, Bedfordshire
Stotfold, Hitchin
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing