We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat 'lacking'”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Henlow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Henlow Bridge Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Group camp on one of their 'entertainment' pitches which only had one electric hookup point - but charged as if standard pitch with hookup;
the bigger issues were:
- the policy of one site access key per field - to be shared between up to 20 pitches.
- one small toilet block for some 75 pitches, and the lack of night time lighting to it from the fields

however, the field fire pits were were fantastic, even if the wood was slightly pricey, and the childrens play area was amazing

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damien h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Henlow Bridge Lakes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 207 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

our son lives nearby in the village of henlow so we came and stayed for 7 nights recently .. we were fortunately to be on site on the weekend of 31st august when they had lots of events on over the weekend .. all was surperbly managed and well presented.
Although the site was quite full with fellow caravaners and lots of camping . the site remained quiet and clean.
The toilet block although had a lot of visitors it was checked and cleaned regularly.
The whole of the site is a lovely relaxing place and you dont need to be a fisherman to go there either !!! ..which we aint .. the added bonus is the chickens which my grandson came daily to feed and was lucky enough to be rewarded with the odd egg from them (with permission from the rangers) . we have been here many a times and have never had a bad visit at all .. staff are always helpful and around should you need one .. in fact one morning we woke up to a rabbit minus its head on the pitch next to us and we told the rangers and withing 5 mins the rabbit had been removed .. nothing is too much trouble for them ... highly reccomended if you want to view the area or go on the train into london which is minuets away on foot .... and we picked loads of brambles from the hedgerows which we devored with ice cream !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol&Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Beautifully green, clean and well kept. Loved the lakes for fishing and feeding ducks. Good central kids play area and staff extremely helpful and friendly. If I could add one one thing it would be low level lighting to the toilets at night.

Good work!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Shelleytubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I came here for a 4 night stay and have just returned home. We had 2 pitches one for my daughter with her 10 man tent consisting of 6 children and 2 adults,and myself and husband in our van.
We books last minute but thanks to the staff on the site we were given 2 pitches together.
The site is clean and the amenities are spotless the park being an added bonus for my 7 grandchildren to play in.
The weekend we went they had a 60s and 70s night and we were a bit concerned about the noise late at night! we need not have worried the music went off at 11pm.
I would recommend this site to anyone with or without children and cannot fault it.
Just to add all the staff were very friendly especially JOE who could not have been anymore helpful, pleasant and patient!!
Thankyou all for making our short break free from any problems and we will see you all again in October

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanniesue58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We arrived for bank holiday Monday, a very busy site. Great play area for children of all ages with areas individually enclosed for younger children. Sadly some one had broken part of a tunnel injuring my 2 yr old. This did not put me off as the staff were great and fixed the equipment immediately. The amenities were clean and very well presented, well stocked shop and welcoming staff. Looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KendraRoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A last min get away with my family over the August bank holiday. The campsite also gets a glowing report from me, we had a hard standing pitch, located next to the shower block. Perfect for all the amenities required.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the shop is well equipped, with food, camping and fishing equipment all responsibly priced. In fact it is the best shop on a campsite I have been to.

We took the kids fishing, the kids learning lakes were excellent, very well constructed swims with safety rails. Think they should fill in the gaps between the decking though, as small, slippery fish tend to be dropped by kids and fall through the gaps (happy to report, all fish were returned safely).

The additional charge for the electric is a first for us, but after loading £5 worth of cards we found we only used half over 3 nights, which left £2.50 credit for the next lucky camper. I would advise you to check the meter before purchasing credit as you may well have some to use already.

Small negative points, the men's toilet/shower extractor didnt seem to be working which left you walking into a steam room at times. There are only two washing up sinks, but you didnt have to wait too long. River too overgrown to fish. The gates by the river were locked about 8.30pm which meant I had to lift my medium size dog over the gate and he hurt his leg landing on the other side.

Overall we enjoyed our experience and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Great site, very clean and well maintained. The staff are very friendly but don't seem keen to accommodate in terms of placing friends together and don't consider where to put campers with young families (i.e pitches nr the play area) and those without.

This was the only downside for us as we were placed right in front of the kiddies play area. Not that we don't like the sound of children having fun but at 6.30am and 10pm this is not ideal.
It would be good if the park was maybe locked until a little later in the day or perhaps the childrens parents should have more consideration of others.
If campers with children were placed in close vicinity of the play areas and those without kids were placed further away in the quieter areas this would perhaps endear us to return as I found we weren't the only folk baffled by this or put in this situation.

We have used the campsite twice. On our first visit we met friends who had two empty pitches close by to them which staff told us were booked so, we were placed miles away in an empty field with no hook up at a cost of £23. When we met our friends later that evening and the next day these pitches were still empty which I found disappointing as being so far away ruined our night a bit.

As we are relatively new to the camping experience we were tempted to go back the next week and did really enjoy it but to go here is an expensive hobby.

We have now done a lot more research there are definitely a lot more cost effective pitches elsewhere with more accomodating staff as this one was disappointing for the cost and the service.

This is ok to escape to for a night if you live close by.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali_t_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henlow
12.0 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Stevenage North
4.3 mi away
The George at Baldock
The George at Baldock
#1 of 4 in Baldock
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
4.8 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Champneys Henlow
Champneys Henlow
#1 of 1 in Henlow
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henlow Bridge Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henlow Bridge Lakes

Address: Bridge End Road, Henlow SG16 6LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Henlow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Henlow
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Countryside Campsite with Fishing Lakes, Lodges, Cabins and Pods. 2 minutes away from the East Coast Main Line Train Station. Able to Accommodate Large American Motor homes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Henlow Bridge Lakes Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing