We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for the little ones”
Review of Stondon Transport Museum - CLOSED

Stondon Transport Museum
Attraction details
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fun for the little ones”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We visit here quite often with my 2 boys, 2 and 6 years who love the place. Bring an i-Spy book with you to tick off all the cars you see. Little cafe at the end, very accomodating.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoH299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not suitable for family day out.”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I don't usually write reviews but felt that I should for this place as we were really disappointed when we went last weekend, especially after reading reviews online. The museum is in a very ramshackle outbuilding and there are so many cars crammed in its difficult to appreciate them all. Whilst my son (3) enjoyed seeing the double decker bus and the fire engine, the layout is such that its difficult for children to fully explore the vehicles and therefore after 15 minutes he wanted to go home! There is a very narrow pathway around the vehicles and the place is dirty, cold and still has leaks. It was definitely not worth the £7 each to get in. Would recommend RAF museum in Hendon or Stockwood Discovery Park in Luton if your children like looking at cars, planes etc.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Forget the buildings, it's the cars you're here to see.”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Despite grinding the underside of my car on the ramp leading into the car park, the ouitside of the Museum looked as run down as we were led to believe from the previous reviews, but this is a great way to spend a good few hours in nostalgic mood.
Whether you're 75, 50 or 30, there will be trips down memory lane here for you, from cars your Grandad used to drive, to those that you used to drive yourself.
To be honest, there are too many vehicles in too little space, as they are extremely cramped, but a joy nonetheless.
The price is about right and this is well worth a visit.
Enjoy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Petrol Head Heaven”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Found more or less by accident, Stondon is a great museum lovingly created by one man with a vision. The variety of vehicles on show is fantastic, from ex-police Ford Granadas to British Leyland prototypes and American Fire Engines. Myself and my nephew travelled up from Sussex on a day trip and it was well worth it, I will certainly go again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phildm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A very extensive private museum”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Sadly not very well advertised at all so little visited. But it contains a massive haul of vehicles. Sadly the revenue just does not really keep up with the maintainance needs so that the place is suffering

Helpful?
1 Thank boilerbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stondon Transport Museum also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing