We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding at Flitwick Manor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flitwick
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Wedding at Flitwick Manor”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

After a lovely afternoon tea experience at Flitwick Manor we decided to book our wedding there. The staff were very friendly and showed us around and answered all our questions. Leading up to the wedding, the hotel kept in contact with us and were available whenever we needed them to help with the arrangements.

On the day of the wedding, Tom Brierley was with us throughout the whole day from beginning to end and could not have done any more for us; he ensured that everything ran smoothly.

Our day was perfect, the venue was ideal for the size of our wedding and all our guests had a thoroughly good time. The service from Tom and the team was excellent and the wedding breakfast meal was superb. Equally, breakfast the following day was fantastic and Tom was there to greet us.

The bridal suite was out of this world and included a sauna! The hotel grounds are stunning - perfect for photo opportunities.

We would recommend Flitwick Manor to anyone thinking of holding a wedding there and also for any friends or relatives who wanted to stay in the area. We had guests that stayed overnight and they were also more than happy with their stay.

We have already thanked the staff for the amazing day we had and for their input into it, however, we just wanted to thank them again. It was a day we will treasure forever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa_Hutchinson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven116, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
It was lovely to read your feedback on your special day with us and the team are delighted you had such a great day and we all wish you much happiness for the future. I have passed your comments on to Tom and his Food and Beverage team and thank you for taking the time to post your review. I hope we will see you at the hotel in the near future and for many anniversaries to come.

Kind regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    119
    57
    24
    6
See reviews for
105
241
17
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cranfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed mid-week, superior room, bed and breakfast, for a treat. And what a treat it was. The hotel is close to the centre of Flitwick yet set far back enough for it to be quiet and peaceful. You approach the manor along a long gravel driveway through the grounds, taking in all its splendor and adding a bit of grandeur to your arrival, before entering reception where the welcome was warm and friendly. The lady who showed me to the room was more than happy to help and made it feel like nothing was too much and she seemed to genuinely want us to have a lovely time and that anything she could do to help would be her pleasure, which was refreshing. We stayed in room 12 on the top floor and benefited from a private balcony/seating area. The room was lovely with nice furniture, a big comfy bed and freshly baked shortbread biscuits, which was a bonus. We didn't have dinner at the hotel, but have heard it's very nice. We did have the full English breakfast, lazily taken in bed, which was nice enough with lovely fresh squeezed orange juice. Overall excellent service and beautiful surroundings. Worth every penny.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12 (superior room on the top floor) it has it's own outdoor area. lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven116, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback following your short break with us. Hopefully next time you will take the opportunity of dining with us or perhaps just a visit to the Restaurant where we are open for Breakfast, Luncheon and Dinner - 7 days a week. Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I don’t often write on trip advisor; I am sure some people use it as a vehicle to air their views in an inappropriate manner. They are just “that person’s” opinion and may have been written and almost certainly read out of context. Everyone seems to think they could do better! In the busy world in which we all live we all too often forget to write about the good experiences and service we have received. However today I have decided to make that time.

I had the pleasure of a two night stay at Flitwick Manor this weekend. The food in the restaurant was amazing and certainly the highlight of the stay. The chef had an interesting and eclectic range of dishes and it was really hard to choose. I particularly enjoyed my Roasted Cod Fillet Sweetcorn & Cockle Chowder, Pickled Fennel Salad and could not turn down the Belgium dessert!

All the staff seemed conscientious and friendly; nothing was too much trouble.

The bedroom was very comfortable and we were not disturbed by the wedding parties that were also taking place during the weekend.

A lovely stay and I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMB2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven116, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review and I was particularly pleased you enjoyed Adams menu and his unusual mix of textures and flavours on his menu.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for two nights bed, breakfast, 3 course evening meal on both nights and cream tea on arrival as a Secret Escapes deal to get away from it all for part of the Bank Holiday weekend. The hotel did not disappoint! The staff, service and beautiful building made it a special getaway. The food was excellent and great choice, also so refreshing to have breakfast cooked to order instead of the usual buffet. This meant you had exactly what you wanted and the food was piping hot. There was a wedding on each of the days we stayed but all guests were treated specially and although the hotel was busy we weren't sidelined. I loved the quirky layout and that meals were served in different rooms according to what else was going on. This meant we ate in three different rooms, all were equally comfortable! Rooms were to a high standard with a good choice of teas and coffee and a nice touch was the homemade cookies, which were delicious. Great location for visiting Woburn. We will return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnnieBEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven116, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
So pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel on a Secret Escapes special offer and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon. We do often promote some great last minute deals on our website or you can call me direct if you have a specific date in mind for a return visit.

Kind regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We attended my brothers wedding here yesterday (24th August). I have never before come across such a disgraceful display of possibly the worst customer service we have ever received. At a £3500 price tag, you expect the best for your special day.

The ceremony itself was in a lovely quite cosy (actually rather small) room, after the service we were taken outside for photos, it then took the staff nearly an hour to put 4 tables and cloths into the small room for the function. Its was a ridiculous tight squeeze as the tables were far far too big, resulting in our family table being 3 inches from the buffet! We all sat down they brought the food in and the food sat there in bain maire style hot holding containers for half an hour while the speeches were heard. During this time a waitress spilt an entire glass of beer over my uncle and the "assistant/deputy/point of call" (and I use these terms very very loosly) spilt a glass of bubbly over the mother of the bride. Lovely isn't it!

The bar is a table set up a foot away from the ladies toilets, you actually have to walk behind the 'bar' to get in the toilets! How vile!

Extortionate prices as these venues are, made even worse by the fact your getting charged a fortune for bottles of soft drinks that either come out of a large bottle of coke (99p a litre in Tesco pored into 4 glasses and charged £2 each, that's a mighty fine GP there!) flat and warm, or a bottle that's not kept in a bottle fridge, but rather a cupboard, lets all roll our eyes together!

So onto the food . . . . . a BBQ in the garden had originally been booked, due to poor weather everything was cooked in the kitchen, so we had burgers - overcooked, lamb kofta style lumps of meat is the best way to describe it - all of which were raw (according to the 'point of call' this was the spices, not the blood, when opening them however everyone was a different colour and different temperature!, raw yes I said raw chicken (one of the key wedding party is pregnant and this could have seriously made not only her but everyone else ill) burnt and raw (now that's a gift to serve both together) sausages and some over cooked vegetable kebabs. Also the burger baps, ah the burger bag, taken out of a bag, from the fridge and placed on a plate, these baps are £5.60 for 48 from the supplier I use (I stopped using them in my venue as they are of such poor quality) - little tip for masterchef, if serving burger baps like this, how about you butter them and warm them slightly, they will taste fresh and look so much better.

I have been in hospitality and catering for 14 years, never before have a seen such a micky mouse organisation, the 'point of call' was totally out of his depth, and when confronted with an angry groom, father of the groom and myself, instead of apologising and trying his best to solve the problem, became argumentative and hid in the kitchen! I kid you not, what an absolute joke. The waiting staff were all too young and couldn't cope with the guest complaints either.

Please good people save your money for another venue

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven116, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Whilst I am always keen to receive candid, professional feedback and address any issues in a calm and professional manner, I find the heading and tone of your review to be most distasteful.
I have had the opportunity of discussing your comments with the Kitchen and Service team on duty and it is fair to say that your review is riddled with gross inaccuracies and assumptions.

Kind regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Herradura, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

After a long hot drive in our old, classic Rolls-Royce, what a delightful sight of an elegant country house greeted us as we drove up the long, gravel drive to the beautiful Flitwick Manor. Despite a minor hiccup over the category of our room - only a standard room rather than the superior room we had booked was available (seemingly not the hotel's fault) - the service we received from beginning to end was exceptional; friendly but discreet and always attentive. The evening was still warm when we arrived so the clinking of ice in a couple of long Bombay and tonics whilst sitting on the delightful terrace overlooking panoramic views of the garden and countryside beyond the magnificent cedar of Lebanon tree was a sensory pleasure.

Dinner was excellent with superbly presented fare and a first rate wine list worthy of a fine restaurant. On the second night after a blustery day watching Tiger Moths at nearby Woburn Abbey, we enjoyed a bar meal of fresh, home made pizza to an equally high standard. This was taken in the restaurant due to the lounge being flooded out due to the carelessness of an over "tired"(?) wedding guest in the room above falling asleep in the bath with the taps turned full on... thankfully no lasting damage seemed to have been done.

Although a popular venue for weddings, we were made to feel as valued guests and at no time were we disturbed by noise (or deluge). But being quite a small, boutique hotel does have its advantages.

To top it all, they even made our old Rolls feel very welcome by allowing us to park in the gated courtyard, thus guaranteeing us a good night's sleep!

In summary, a very elegant and comfortable place to stay in a quiet, out of town location with excellent food, service and comfortable rooms - even the standard ones!

We look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Go for a superior four-poster room - but book directly with the hotel not through bookings.com etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven116, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this great review..............you have painted such a lovely picture....................I can just see the Rolls Royce coming up the drive. We all look forward to seeing you again for a short break.

Kind regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited Flitwick Manor along with 15 friends and family members to celebrate a birthday - I must say we were thoroughly impressed by the setting and the wonderful service received, so much so that we are planning to return on Christmas Eve!

I cant recommend highly enough!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven116, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review and we look forwarding to welcoming your family again on Christmas Eve.

Kind regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flitwick
5.0 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
571 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Knife & Cleaver
The Knife & Cleaver
#1 of 1 in Houghton Conquest
432 reviews
9.6 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Best Western Moore Place Hotel
16.6 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
2,701 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor

Property: Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
Address: Church Road, Flitwick MK45 1AE, England (Formerly Menzies Flitwick Manor)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Flitwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flitwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor is the perfect escape for a romantic break, conveniently located just three miles from the M1 and close to the M25. This grade II listed 17th century manor house has 18 comfortable and unique bedrooms including 3 x 4-poster suites and family bedrooms. Our master bedroom has kissing baths and private sauna. The hotel has lots of great facilities including a two AA Rosettes restaurant, beautiful grounds with terrace and croquet lawn and plenty of onsite car parking. The hotel is a perfect venue for your events including exclusive use and the hotel is licensed for civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Flitwick Manor Hotel Flitwick
Menzies Hotel Flitwick
Flitwick Manor
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing