We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flitwick
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely tea”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I went here for afternoon tea with friends.
The choice of teas was great - lots of variety & something for everyone. The atmosphere was ideal with good service from staff.
The surrounding gardens looked lovely, & would have been great to walk around but unfortunately we couldn't do this as it was quite rainy.
Would go again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank b_5London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven116, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for the review of our cream and afternoon teas. They are becoming ever popular as a pleasant meeting place for family and friends and our new range of 12 Twinnings looseleaf teas have been a great success. Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards, Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    123
    59
    26
    6
See reviews for
105
254
17
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with our family of 5 + dog just after Christmas. Usually a challenge to get a booking sorted out with any hotel for this constellation; not so here. Excellent assistance already at the booking stage to get adjoining rooms in the right part of the hotel. Very warm welcome when we arrived; great service throughout our stay and very good food too.
All that at a very reasonable price.
We would come back here any time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the gardens at the back of house. There is one with a small conservatory attac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trungelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven116, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We are a pet friendly hotel and I know many dog owners enjoy the hotel and walks in the grounds and gardens. Hope to see you all again soon.
Kind regards, Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just held a 40th birthday party at this hotel for my wife! Its a beautiful hotel in really pleasant surroundings! Loads of character and beautiful immaculate rooms. We had the hotel to ourselves with a live band and a buffet. The whole event was taken care of by the hard working staff and we had a great time! Food was excellent! Staff very polite and helpful! I arrived with my decorations which were taken from me and put up perfectly! Nothing was ever a problem. We have had nothing but praise from our guests about the whole event! We stayed overnight along with many of our guests and the same warm hospitality was there again in the morning along with a beautiful breakfast! I would highly recommend this hotel and we have no doubt we shall be returning!

Room Tip: See if you can have a look around first because there are rooms there that our just so full of chara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven116, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank for for the lovely review and we are all delighted the party was a great success. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future,
Kind regards, Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My sisters and I went to the Manor for a cream tea. It is set in a beautiful location with amazing decor and we had such a relaxing afternoon. We sat by the fire and enjoyed homemade scones and cream. We were very impressed with the service; the manager was very friendly and accommodating. We were greeted with a smile and taken to the sofas. We were then offered a wide selection of different teas. The scones were very delicious with plenty of cream and jam. We would like to thank the manager Thomas Brierley for his kind hospitality and we will be defiantly be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIKEANDDANNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braunston, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Many thanks for your review of your Cream Tea experience at the hotel and your kind comments on the team and service. I do hope it will not be too long before we see you again......................
our Royal Afternoon teas are to die for!! Kind regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on 15th December for one night using a deal purcahsed on the internet. A cream tea and glass of prosecco on arrival - or whenever you wanted it. Fresh fruit and homemade cookes in the room, a lovely choice of tea and coffee, a three course meal in the evening and breakfast the following morning.

On arrival we were greeted immediately and shown to our room. We had upgraded to a Superior Room and were shown to a garden room with a private conservatory (Room 14). This far exceeded our excpectations. It was lovely. We then chose the time for our cream tea and were asked if we wanted it in our room or in the lounge. We chose a time and selected the lounge, when we arrived in the lounge a table was layed for us and our tea was brought out.

There was a log fire burning and the Christmas Tree lights were on. It was perfect. We were asked when we wanted our prosecco, we said we would have it in our room after we had finished our cream tea. It was brought to us within a few minutes of our finishing our tea and leaving the lounge.

We then made use of the facilities, reladed in the conservatory and used the whirlpool bath and just chilled out until dinner. We had choosen a dining time and went to the lounge about 30 minutes before hand. Someone came and took our order for pre-dinner drinks and then brought a menu to us in lounge where we selected our dinner. We were then left to sip our drinks in the lovely atmosphere of the lounge until our dinner was ready whereupn a waitress came to ask us to follow her to the dining room she placed our drinks on a tray and carried them through for us. Dinner was lovely and service was fantastic. After dinner we returned to the lounge for brandies which we had sitting by the log fire.

Choice of breakfast was plentiful and service was excellent. After breakfast we made use of the late checkout and walked around the gardens.

All in all a lovely stay and I certainly can't wait to return.

Room Tip: I would choose Room 14, 15 or 16. These are garden rooms with direct access to a terrace and would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AHAMIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braunston, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
What can I say..................your review was a pleasure to read and thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to post the review on this site. The team work hard to create the right ambience and it is great to hear that we managed to get it absolutely right for your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Like a previous writer I contacted Menzies Hotels through their website a week ago and have received no reply.

The hotel itself and room was excellent, but when we came to try and have breakfast we encountered major issues.

There were 13 tables in the Dining Room and we counted 4 'servers'. When we arrived half of the tables were occupied while the other half were still 'dirty' from previous diners. We were requested to wait in the lounge while a table was prepared, at which point we indicated we would be outside as one of us wished to have a cigarette whilst waiting.

After 10 minutes we went back to the Dining Room, to find a table ready for use. We were quickly asked if we would like to order tea/coffee and toast, Which we did, which soon arrived. I was left to scavenge another table for 2nd hand Butter and Marmalade. Then attempting to serve ourselves Orange Juice there was only enough for one. When our Full English Breakfasts arrived they were excellent.

I understand that we were one of the last tables that morning, but still at £140.00 for the night you would expect a better breakfast experience than we received.

Then to have our complaint ignored for a week I must say I am not to impressed with the Customer Service team at Menzies

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank HRBAWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braunston, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Many thanks for the review and whilst we have spoken personally regarding your review I would just like to confirm that your comments have been discussed with the Breakfast team on duty and hopefully on your next visit you will see the Breakfast operation at the standards you have the right to expect. Look to forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your annual visit. Kind regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The hotel is pleasant enough, but trades on the outdated 'country house hotel' theme. Our bedroom (No 7) was large, but in need of some tlc. The tiny bathroom was a disaster with a wooden window blind that, when closed for privacy - the room overlooks the car park! - the blind comes down across the middle of the wash basin, 'cutting' it in two and making it impossible to reach the taps or to use the basin! Truly bizarre!
The tiny bathroom had very little space to put wash-bags etc. The bathroom heating wasn't working - on a very cold November day - necessitating a member of staff to come to flick the fuse back into life; water runs onto the floor from the very badly designed shower enclosure. The room was very noisy from both the car park outside the window with late arrivals and then some early morning deliveries.
The brochure says rooms are refurbished but they must have missed ours, given the amount of chipped paint.
On a positive note, breakfast was enjoyable and served by a very cheery lady.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the noisy car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenVevey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braunston, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Many thanks for the review and I am pleased you enjoyed your visit overall. You raised some good points and we will look into these as a matter of urgency. Not sure I totally agree with you on the comments regarding the 'Country House theme' but very interesting to gain your perspective. Kind regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flitwick
5.0 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
578 reviews
9.6 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
5.5 mi away
Best Western Moore Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
720 reviews
5.0 mi away
Longs Inn Hotel
Longs Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woburn
229 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 18 in Bedford
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor

Property: Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
Address: Church Road, Flitwick MK45 1AE, England (Formerly Menzies Flitwick Manor)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Flitwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flitwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor is the perfect escape for a romantic break, conveniently located just three miles from the M1 and close to the M25. This grade II listed 17th century manor house has 18 comfortable and unique bedrooms including 3 x 4-poster suites and family bedrooms. Our master bedroom has kissing baths and private sauna. The hotel has lots of great facilities including a two AA Rosettes restaurant, beautiful grounds with terrace and croquet lawn and plenty of onsite car parking. The hotel is a perfect venue for your events including exclusive use and the hotel is licensed for civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Flitwick Manor Hotel Flitwick
Menzies Hotel Flitwick
Flitwick Manor
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing