We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Great Curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Massala

Cafe Massala
Ranked #20 of 92 Restaurants in Dunstable
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dunstable, Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
682 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Another Great Curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

One of my favourite ever restaurants, 8 of us enjoyed a Sunday evening curry here last night, and the food and service were up to the usual high standard. Even though they were busy, drinks and food arrived swiftly and with a smile. Good to see the staff appearing to enjoy their jobs! IMHO probably the best Indian restaurant in Bedfordshire.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy-S60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    14
    7
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It has seen better days”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I went to this restaurant about 7 years ago and it was fantastic, I went last Mothers Day and it was terrible. I should have been put off by the shabby exterior, but I remembered the food from my time before. The paint is peeling off the wood outside and it has a condensation problem inside.
When I rang and booked (for Mothers Day) I was not told it was a Sunday buffet only, in fact the banner outside stated that a la carte was available, inside I was told it wasn't. Having driven from Milton Keynes it was too late to go elsewhere.
The food was awfully bland, poppadoms were stale and greasy, chicken tikka over cooked and dry. Basically don't go there it's terrible.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CDavidLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Awful Indian restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Went yesterday - disappointed as only buffet offered and no a la carte. Poppadoms greasy and stale. Buffet bland . Little choice. Food not hot. Spoiled mothers day which was also my birthday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Judivipers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Always good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Food, surroundings and service are always spot on. Can be a little slow when it's busy but they are busy for a reason.

Highly Recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelTooOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average with poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Had a meal here with my family last week, sat down at 6.30pm and got our starters at 7.30pm. Service was slow, the food was ok, to be honest fairly average. The place was busy but had plenty of staff, it felt to me like a Curry House that rested on it's laurels.

Having to ask three times for another beer and three times for the bill is poor in my book.

Won't be heading back, my choice would be The Meela in Aston Clinton, better food and better service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ainsya64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Massala also viewed

Dunstable, Bedfordshire
 
Dunstable, Bedfordshire
Dunstable, Bedfordshire
 
Dunstable, Bedfordshire
Dunstable, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Cafe Massala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing