We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of ZSL Whipsnade Zoo

ZSL Whipsnade Zoo
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Dunstable
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy an epic day out at the UK's largest Zoo. Set in 600 acres of panoramic scenery and rolling Chiltern Hills, and with over 3,800 unique animals and 187 different species ZSL Whipsnade Zoo is an adventure you will never forget! See the elephants in their brand new home, view the majestic rhino in their huge paddock, meet our lion pride, spot the cheetahs as they speed by and don't forget to look up at our lofty giraffes too!
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We first went to Whipsnade Zoo in October 2012 and spent a great day wandering around. Unfortunately we missed some animals so went back again this year and it was even better. We got to see a really great elephant display and my son loved the new playground, one of the best we found on our tour of zoos over the summer. The animals look well cared for and happy and we loved the idea that certain animals can just roam where they want to. There are loads of weekend events during the year which we will go to and we will be returning yet again during October half-term. We like it so much we are getting an annual pass for it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank aseahippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SupporterServices, Manager at ZSL Whipsnade Zoo, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding ZSL Whipsnade Zoo. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much! We are also happy to hear that you have signed up to ZSL membership. We hope that you continue to enjoy your visits and thank you so much for supporting ZSL.

Kind Regards,
The ZSL team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,392
    665
    215
    83
    64
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mangalore
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Ideal Young Family Day out !”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a ideal day trip for animal loving kids. Highlight of the visit is a 30 minute trip on the train which covers part of the park. Vehicles are allowed inside the zoo on certain areas. Also a bus facility. The shows organized by the zoo are enjoyable. There is enough for young children to explore the animal world. Also a farm and many other activities available. The visit is not complete without the trip to the the Souvenir shop at the exit !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SupporterServices, Manager at ZSL Whipsnade Zoo, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding ZSL Whipsnade Zoo. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much! Why not become members of ZSL and enjoy free fast-track entry for a year to London and Whipsnade zoo as well as other exclusive benefits such as discounts in our shops and cafes. Thank you for supporting ZSL and our vital conservation work.

The ZSL Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Look out Lodge overnight 13/09”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here at the look out lodge on Friday 13th which gave us really poor weather, in fact it never stopped raining.
However that was the only downside it was great to be there when it was closed and the animals behaved differently, Sam and Tom were really good and knew their stuff.
The lodges were fine but again as the weather was so bad we did not sit outside, I note some peoples comments about the amount of walking but rather that than moving from cage to cage as we did in the 60s/70s, this place is about animal conservation not human convenience!
The food was great and lots of it and the time was well spent both in the evening and the morning all in all great as a treat to yourself or as a gift.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank norwoodboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SupporterServices, Manager at ZSL Whipsnade Zoo, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding ZSL Whipsnade Zoo. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your Lookout Lodge experience so much! We agree that its great to see the animals outside opening hours. Why not become members of ZSL and enjoy free fast-track entry for a year to London and Whipsnade zoo as well as other exclusive benefits such as discounts in our shops and cafes. Thank you for supporting ZSL and our vital conservation work.

The ZSL Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lookout Lodge Whipsnade Zoo - Spend a Night with the Beasts”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

What an amazing experience. Stayed at Lookout Lodge on Friday 27th September 2013 as a 60th Birthday treat. Could not fault a single thing. Thanks to the two Sams for a very knowledgeable and interesting experience, also thanks to the caterers for the excellent food. My favourite two things were seeing the lions at night, they were superb, and feeding the chimps this morning. The lodges are excellently positioned and really comfy and cosy. All in all an amazing experience and the money all goes to a very good cause. it was so nice to walk around the zoo this morning before it opened to the public. We will be be back some time. Thanks to everyone involved. Judy and Peter Webb

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank judy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SupporterServices, Manager at ZSL Whipsnade Zoo, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding ZSL Whipsnade Zoo. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your Lookout Lodge experience so much! We would also like to thank you for your informative review, we will ensure that your feedback is passed on. Why not become members of ZSL and enjoy free fast-track entry for a year to London and Whipsnade zoo as well as other exclusive benefits such as discounts in our shops and cafes. Thank you for supporting ZSL and our vital conservation work.

The ZSL Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous...”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We've just returned from our overnight stay in one of the Lookout Lodges and have had an amazing experience. The cabin was small but very cozy and comfortable. We were welcomed with a glass of bubbly by the very friendly staff.

Before dinner (which was delicious) we had a private tour of some of the zoo and then after dinner were treated to a torch light walk through some other sections. The knowledge and information that our hosts were able to impart about the zoo and the animals was incredible and nothing was too much trouble. We could ask any questions and they were able to answer confidently.

After breakfast the next morning we visited yet more animals and were able to feed some their breakfast before we were able to go off on our own exploring.

Thank you to everyone who made the 24 hours we spent with you extremely enjoyable. This is an experience I would highly recommend to everyone.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SupporterServices, Manager at ZSL Whipsnade Zoo, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding ZSL Whipsnade Zoo. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your Lookout Lodge experience so much! We would also like to thank you for your informative review, we will ensure that this is passed onto your Lookout Lodge hosts. Why not become members of ZSL and enjoy free fast-track entry for a year to London and Whipsnade zoo as well as other exclusive benefits such as discounts in our shops and cafes. Thank you for supporting ZSL and our vital conservation work.

The ZSL Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZSL Whipsnade Zoo also viewed

Dunstable, Bedfordshire
 

Been to ZSL Whipsnade Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing