We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lookout lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ZSL Whipsnade Zoo

ZSL Whipsnade Zoo
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Dunstable
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy an epic day out at the UK's largest Zoo. Set in 600 acres of panoramic scenery and rolling Chiltern Hills, and with over 2,741 unique animals and 193 different species ZSL Whipsnade Zoo is a group adventure you will never forget! See the elephants on their daily walk around the Zoo, view the majestic rhino in their huge paddock, meet our lion pride, spot the cheetahs as they speed by and don't forget to look up our lofty giraffes too!
Useful Information: Activities for young children
england
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“lookout lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Not the normal disabled night away but so much fun. We had a disabled lodge cosy but nice with hot choclate for a night time treat. The beds you could die for plenty of towels soap and shower gel to
The keppers went out of there way to be near me and i learned a lot I use a wheelchair most of the time and was able to use my own car which was better for me on the trips round the zoo
The food was great lots of it even cooked mine plain if you want to have a fun night away with plenty of laughs this is the way to do it

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,244
    598
    185
    70
    57
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
325 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Fantastic Zoo but quite pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Loads to see and easy to get around. Really liked the fact that you could see most things in a day without feeling rushed.

The map is not all that great but you do discover unexpected things as you walk around and that was quite nice.

I would recommend taking the car in if its raining, although that is an extra charge of £20, well worth it, especially if you have a young family or elderly relatives with you. Also I would recommend taking a picnic in as the food there is quite expensive and not that great.

Thought it was a bit of a cheek asking you to pay for the train on top of the high entry fee.

Overall we had a great time but it was more expensive than many such attractions I have been to. We did look for an entry price deal before heading off there and didn't find anything. If you have any Tesco club card vouchers though might be worth saving those up as I think there are discounts to be had be exchanging those!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Not a bad place to pay a visit for the day. Enjoyed the Lions, and the views from the far end of the Park. All in all, a great day out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KvHeerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A full day out with the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

A really well set out zoo with loads of animals and good interactive areas. Masses of space for the animals so do be prepared for a lot of walking (though there is a bus inside the park). Lots to see and do for the kids including an adventure playground.
Note due to its position on top of a hill it can be quite windy/cool even on the warmest days.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank familyPlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
165 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Best zoo in the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Massive enclosures means the animals have plenty of room and don't suffer the stress and boredom of a confined space you often see in some zoos. Excellent for children with the talks and the petting zoo, plenty of space for kids to run around safely..

Helpful?
Thank submersiond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZSL Whipsnade Zoo also viewed

 

Been to ZSL Whipsnade Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing