We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lot better than expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Highwayman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Highwayman
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A lot better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed here on Saturday the 4th of August in order for us to attend an urgent appointment early in London on the Sunday. I looked everywhere and the cheapest accommodation I could find anywhere in London was £180 per night (mainly hotels cashing in on the olympics) so this was a real bonus at only £30 a night and 40 minutes travel to central London on the train. We were happy with the room size and all of the furnishings (flat screen TV, hifi and kettle etc.). We both found that the double bed was comfortable and we both got a good night’s sleep. The hotel provided my fiancé with a hair dryer as she had forgot to pack her own with no problem. I would agree that the room and bathroom needed general updating but unlike a previous reviewer we did not have problems that I would consider dangerous.

On the plus side, the staff were particularly friendly and we had an excellent meal in the pub. We had a very enjoyable one night break and would have no hesitation in staying here again if visiting the area. Don't expect a modern, bright "motel" but an oldie-style friendly pub
All in all for £30 it’s not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richiehals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    41
    51
    43
    91
See reviews for
49
67
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I recently stayed here for a week and found it a fantastic value for money. As the hotel is adjoined to a hungry horse resteraunt there is a huge selection of foods to choose from and fairly cheep for the portions you get. Very friendly bar and hotel staff and always there to help. My room was a double with a double bed and a single, bath and shower room and digital tv, very clean and spacious. I stayed upstairs and can only vouch for the upstairs rooms as they are all the same.would definitely recommend to anyone who wanted a cheap value for money place to stay in the area.so good I've booked ahead for the next 4 weeks as I'm working in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craig k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

2 night stay 28/29 July 2012
Basic, tired accommodation - lack of any customer care. No acknowledgement from 'staff' ie good morning or hope you had a nice stay! Tired bedroom - radiator in bathroom faulty and had a condemned notice stuck on it. Toilet came away completely from the wall when sat on - why give us this room as the toilet had obviously broken away from the wall. Called 'reception' about tv not working - no response. Favouritism at bar for locals who queue jump.

All day breakfast - finishes at 9.30! Tough if you are 2 minutes late!!!!

Room Tip: Don't bother unless you are desperate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dress6996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dunstable hotels

Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Me & my partner stayed here in order to go to an engagement party in a neighbouring town.Room size was just right.Beds are comfortable - slept well. Car parking is free onsite which is a bonus.The hotel provided us with an iron & ironing board which is good.

Negatives - Room needed general updating.Plugs in our room were a hazard as they were coming away from the walls.Toilet literally takes 10 min to refill when flushed which wasnt a major problem but if going to the toilet straight after someone it couldnt be flushed.Walls are paper thin so just hope your neighbours arent loud!
All in all for £30 its not bad for a place to sleep,& may probably stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole Dorset
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We wished we had stayed the whole week-end, had a thoughly enjoyable stay and all the staff were so friendly. Thankyou. Jacqui Stevens room 70 with Heather Cox and Margaret..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

I originally booked a single room but called to upgrade to a double it could not be done until we arrived at the hotel but it was worth it. The room was on the ground floor and better than expected the decor was good and the furniture was in good condition. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were great. The entertainment in the pub was exciting and good value. The bath room was a bit dark and the fan could of been a bit more powerful but otherwise fully functional. The breakfast however was a disappointment. The staff on duty were very friendly and informative on the local area and they went out of their way to make sure we got to where we should be. Will definitely come here again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

first time myself and two friends used the highwayman never again my friend had her footh operated on and was offered no help to carry two coffes she could not do it i went to help her staff so rude food was also very poor 0 rating

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunstable
0.8 mi away
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dunstable South A5 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dunstable / Luton Hotel
4.9 mi away
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Luton-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highwayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highwayman

Property: The Highwayman
Address: London Road, Dunstable LU6 3DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Dunstable
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highwayman 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Highwayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highwayman Hotel Dunstable
Highwayman Hotel Dunstable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing