We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
cheshire
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night, and was very impressed with the size of the room,
the bathroom was very nice, with a large shower, modern and very clean, I liked the choice of pillow's, very comfy bed, we got the room at half price, so very happy, the breakfast had a good choice, their hot option was scrambled egg's and sausage, but I preferred the fresh fruit and cereal, the blonde lady waitress at breakfast was the friendliness member of staff there she deserve's a pay rise.
The only negative's were

1 our room which was at the front of the hotel was noisey due to traffic from the main road
2 The only chair in the room was the one at the desk, so a second person would have to sit on the bed.
3 There was only the floor, or the furniture to place your case/ luggage on.
4 Only two tea bag's so only one cup of tea on arrival,and one before breakfast.

On the whole I would stay again, but not in the front room's.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. As a team we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

1) When you return to us please contact us before you arrive and will assign you a room away from the road.
2) In all our rooms we have one chair and a sofa area; this is part of our brand and ensures that the room is kept spacious for our guests.
3) With regards to your feedback re luggage, we are currently looking at a solution to this.
4) If you would like more teabags in your room please just ask us, we have these available at reception.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank-you for all your comments.

Regards
Louise Thrussell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    225
    85
    42
    35
See reviews for
134
161
31
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Hotel was ok and clean. We where placed in a disabled room, so the bathroom was like being in a hospital (which i have only just come out from a few weeks ago). However the breakfast was the worst I have ever eaten. Would have scored 4/5 with better breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Grimshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your stay and taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased that you found our hotel good. We are sorry you found your stay less than satisfactory due to the breakfast. As a brand we offer the following products on breakfast complimentary:

Our Express Start breakfast menu includes the following:
Delicious scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans**
Warm pastries
Range of plain and fruit yoghurts
Wide selection of cereals including high fibre/low calorie cereals
Choice of fresh fruits
White and brown sliced bread and crusty bread rolls
Cheese***
Orange and apple juice
Fresh coffee including expresso and cappuccino
Black and herbal teas
Hot chocolate

We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. If you have the time to email feedback direct re breakfast I will ensure that this is fed to the brand team - my email address is deputy.dunstable@holidayinnexpress.org.uk

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to host you again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,
Will Glenn
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A group of four of us have just returned from the hotel after spending a weekend there. On arrival there were plenty of car parking spaces and the staff were very welcoming. They explained the 'traffic light' system for breakfast, pointing out that Sunday mornings were very busy and that the early bird caught the best choice and had a good chance of getting a table. They had obviously studied our reservation prior to our arrival (unlike some hotels) and had allocated us rooms in the quietest part of the hotel.
Our rooms were spotless, spacious and well equipped.
So far so good.
Unfortunatley as other reviwers have mentioned the rooms were very cold. The ambient temperature on arrival was 16 degrees. When the heater was activated it only worked with a VERY loud fan and it took a long time to get to a comfortable temperature. Just as it did it was time for us to go out. When you leave the room the heating goes off. We were only away for two hours but when we returned it was 16 degrees again so back to square one.
We could'nt have the heating on during the night due to the noise the fan made so getting up was fun. When the heating was on it did'nt seem to reach the bathroom at all.
The other problem has also been mentioned - The mattresses. They are awful. The only way I could sleep was to cling to the very edge of the bed to avoid falling into the dip into the middle.
On the plus side breakfast was great and varied and very well presented.
Prior to booking I had read the reviews mentioning the beds and temperature but I had underestmated how much these issues would affect me.
Both rooms were the same so it was not an issue isolated to one room.
I know that the Holiday Inn's rates are very good but I wish they would swap snazy lighting for comfort because this is what really matters to guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finleysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your stay and taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased that you found our location and staff service convenient for your needs. We are sorry you found your stay less than satisfactory due to the bed accommodations and AC you were given. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. As a new hotel feedback is essential even more so as we have a defect period. Please be assured that feedback has been given to the suppliers.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to host you again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,
Will Glenn
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amlwch, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed over the night before a flight to Paris - location good for airport, price good for area, food very good for standard hotel fayre, the poor receptionist/barmaid/waitress was rushed off her feet as her manager was otherwise detained, you could see the stress on the poor girl but she kept a smile for our kids and coped without moaning - a credit to the company, we also met the chef who was made up to be complimented on the food by my daughter they really made this travel weary family welcome

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meltch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. As a brand all our staff are multi-skilled, effectively I could check you in, pour you a drink, serve your food and check you out. It makes every day different and interesting!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Louise Thrussell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have visited this hotel several times since xmas and find it very friendly, spotless clean and ultra modern! The breakfast is a nice added bonus and varied and very tasty! The staff are all very welcoming! We will continue to use this hotel without hesitation and highly recomend it!

Room Tip: Noise is very occasional only if someone comes in late and are thoughless enough not to respect othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoy visiting us and you feel that this is a home from home hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. As a regular guest, have you joined the Priority Club?

Priority Club Rewards membership includes a variety of exclusive offers from our hotels and partners. From ways to save extra money to ways to earn extra points, these extra special offers are our way of rewarding you even more! Explore our offers and plan to start taking advantage of them today. It’s free to join!

Regards
Louise Thrussell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed for 1 night for a family party nearby - perfect location - had 2 rooms -one for our teenagers which had a double and a double sofa bed - rooms spotless and comfortable

Breakfast was fine - to b honest we paid £60 for all 4 of us including breakfast so you can't expect too much for that price - everything was provided - plenty of food - self service - quick and easy

Would definitely stay here again - front desk service was excellent

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and how great you found our service at a great price. The team are delighted with your comment 'excellent reception staff, it is always great to hear when you have done a great job!

We have recently been awarded 'Hospitality Venue of the Year' in Dunstable, which we are very proud of. We are a hotel that guests love at a great price.

We hope to welcome you back soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We started off with a slight hitch . We were given a disabled room when we hadn't asked for one. Apparently this was something to do with the booking code ebookers.com use which tells holiday inn we wanted a disabled. Certainly something the customer can do nothing about at booking. Thankfully they were able to change our room despite being nearly full.

Room was a good size, basic but clean with all you would expect. Bathroom was lovely and modern. Double bed is a small double do if you're particularly large in width or length you may struggle a bit.

Location was perfect for us to visit whipsnade zoo just 10 mins up the road.

Breakfast was a little disappointing ( not a massive choice) but considering we paid £33 for bed and breakfast I can't really complain. There were hot and cold options and we didn't have to wait or queue despite earnings of the hotel being busy. Don't think I would want to stay here for longer than 1 or 2 nights but certainly a good choice for a short trip away.

I stayed in the Hilton hotel in Milton Keynes this time last year and paid £165 for room, breakfast and dinner. Apart from the breakfast being more plentiful an of higher standard, I would pick this hotel as preference.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corham2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and how great you found our service at a great price.

We have recently been awarded 'Hospitality Venue of the Year' in Dunstable, which we are very proud of. We are a hotel that guests love at a great price.

We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunstable
1.2 mi away
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct 9
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Leaside
The Leaside
#3 of 25 in Luton
513 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stockwood Hotel
Stockwood Hotel
#17 of 25 in Luton
162 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Luton
Travelodge Luton
#12 of 25 in Luton
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dunstable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dunstable

Property: Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
Address: London Road, Dunstable LU6 3DX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Dunstable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Dunstable 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its attractions & rolling countryside with the nearby Whipsnade Zoo & Dunstable Downs the area surrounding the hotel is just waiting to be discovered. Perfectly located just 7 miles from London Luton Airport offering excellent access to the heart of the national motorway network. With the M1 close by and the M25 less than 20 miles away, over three quarters of the UK mainland population can be reached in a same day return journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dunstable reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing