We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stay here on business at least twice a year.
If i had my way this wouldnt be the case.
The food I was served is by far, the worst food i've ever been served in a hotel.
Rooms and communal areas were as usual, red hot.
I struggle to find positives.

Room Tip: Advise ground floor rooms, lifts are meant for luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 425 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Myself and my wife were only staying for one night as we were attending a wedding reception being held in the hotel. The hotel is situated on a busy road however this did not disturb us in the slightest or detract from the gorgeous hotel.
On arrival we were met at reception by helpful and polite staff who directed us to our room.
The room was spacious and clean, with a king size (I think) bed. It was also nice to see that the tea and coffee making facilities had decent quality mugs rather than the small cups usually associated with the hotels.
I would fully recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichnSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Fantastic value. I got a weekend rate of £35. Best value room I have ever had. Furnishing was tasteful and good quality. Standard room was big. Everything was clean and in order. Staff were helpful. Free car parking and wifi. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingcellist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed for a couple of nights (mid-week) at the Old Palace Lodge whilst in the area on business. The building is cosy and characterful, near to local amenities and transport links. Reception professional efficient and helpful, was in my room within a few minutes of arrival despite it being quite busy. The room (executive) was nicely furnished and clean, with all the things that you'd expect from a 4* establishment: soap etc., iron and ironing board, desk, sofa and comfy dressing gowns; rather surprisingly no fridge though, which was a disappointment. Bed large and comfy, with big TV on wall opposite; no gym at hotel but guest pass to local gym included in price. General furnishings (especially bathroom) weren't 'hotel chic' which I also find quite nice - no 'feature wall', and bathroom fittings chunky, worn and old, which also added to the charm. No reading lamp on desk, and shower pressure was pathetic. Nice cosy bar downstairs with very friendly staff.
Breakfast was excellent, really good selection; I had Eggs Benedict one day and pancakes with syrup and fruit the next; cereals, fruit etc all on buffet. Coffee was standard awful hotel brew with very little flavour apart from bitterness.
Ordered room service one night from a fairly limited menu: specialty burger with mayo and chips which was horrid: burger was tasteless (though meaty) and bun was one of the worst I've ever had, stale and full of air. Coleslaw home made but not too good, chips tasted like they'd been fried on too low a temp and in oil that needed changing. Saying that, the restaurant menu look excellent and was good value at £23/3 courses (I think); other guests seemed to rate it...
All in all a very good hotel, friendly, professional and good value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanboManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for just one night to attend a family birthday get together in the town centre. To get into the hotel you have to walk through an army of smokers attending a wedding being held in the hotel. We checked in - have to say the room was adequate for what we needed for one night - very good tea tray with plenty of milk - for a change!
We decided to book a meal in the restaurant before we attended our function. Because of the wedding they were running a little behind - which was understandable.
Unfortunately the food was very limited selection - grossly overpriced for what we had - the lamb was so rare a good vet could have got it up and running again!
When we returned later that evening the wedding was still in full flight and when we returned to our room we could hear the disco and the guests making a hell of a lot of noise. We weren't told that there was a function going on until we arrived to check in.
We had also presumed that the price of the room included breakfast - unfortunately it did not and if we wanted breakfast it was an extra £11 or so - we decided not to bother.

Room Tip: Ask about large functions being held before you go and whether breakfast is included in the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MistyLady55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here whilst attending a family wedding nearby, staff especially in the dining room were very polite and friendly. We had an executive room with a large double bed and pull out sofa bed which our two children used, room was clean, modern and spacious, nice complimentary toiletries and well stocked tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits tray. We only ate breakfast here, but there was an ok choice of cereals, fruit, pastries, juice etc, the cooked breakfast was excellent. I would recommend this hotel very highly

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedoctor-supersic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Great bar and restaurant. Friendly attentive employees. Food good.

Corridors and lift narrow. Room fairly good. Ironing board and iron, bathrobes etc. Generous tea-tray with biscuits and hot chocolate. No air-conditioning, mini-bar or safe.

Room service quick and good. Wi-Fi great. Water pressure a bit low and shower controls incomprehensible. After three days still can't figure it out and can only get desired temperature after much random twisting. TV missing several advertised channels. e.g. no Sky News or ITV3. Mattress a bit tired.

Strangely, they refuse to collect laundry from the room and you must take it to reception yourself.

It's a long haul from the car park to reception with cases, but that's dictated by the layout and they will carry them up to the room for you.

Don't get a ground floor room on the car park entrance side if you want to open the windows. Cars and pedestrians pass within a foot or two and will keep you awake.

Otherwise pretty good and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ubnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunstable
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
7.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
4.2 mi away
The Leaside Hotel
The Leaside Hotel
#4 of 26 in Luton
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Luton
Travelodge Luton
#16 of 26 in Luton
436 reviews
24.0 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Palace Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Palace Lodge Hotel

Address: Church Street, Dunstable LU5 4RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Dunstable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Price Range: $56 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Palace Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel is a newly awarded 4 star hotel located in the historic Market Town of Dunstable.With 68 en-suite spacious bedrooms, designed to a standard or executive level, and three meeting and events suites, offering the perfect for business seminars and private functions, the hotel has been described as a jewel in Dunstable and it really is....The popular Henry Restaurant has welcomed Andrew Hill as the new Executive Head Chef. Andrew and his brigade have comprised a set of exciting brand new menus, from the A La Carte, Wedding, Banqueting to the room and lounge. Children and non residents are welcome.The Old Palace Lodge offers complimentary on-site car parking, Fully equipped on-site gym and complimentary WI-FI internet access. Ideally located, The Old Palace Lodge is in walking distance to Dunstable Town and situated only 10 minutes drive from the hustle and bustle of the nearby Town of Luton and Luton Airport. The M1 junction 11 is located 5 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Palace Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Palace Hotel Dunstable
Old Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing