We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Rooms in a Lovely Building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel was excellent value. From outside, it is a lovely old redbrick building covered in ivy and fairy lights - magical! We received a very warm welcome at reception, and were impressed with the hotel's communal areas. Our room was spacious and clean. The room itself was not particularly luxurious but good value for what we paid. Lovely touches were Haribo and free mineral water. I was love to stay here again - much better than an anonymous hotel in Dunstable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FireflyJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 416 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2012

An excellent hotel with a 5 star rating in terms of comfort and service at an affordable price. In the Centre of the town, its a great place to meet have lunch or afternoon tea and just relax. From a business perspective, its a first class service is some very attractive period rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

What a pleasant change to stay somewhere non corporate that beats the now typical "box" that I'm used to staying in. The staff where first class and the service superb. I enjoyed a lovely pre dinner drink in the fabulous bar right next to a gorgeous real log burning fire. The food was excellent and in my opinion typical of an upmarket restaurant. My room was spotless and very cosy with that individual style that you only get with independant hotels. Car parking was painless and I'll be back again when next in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Stayed at the Old Palace Lodge for a weekend with my partner, and our two children (10 and 7). From the moment we entered the hotel, all our needs and wants, were taken care of by the extremely helpful staff. The decor of both our rooms, and the public areas, gave a warm, welcoming enviroment. The food was delicious, and the waiter even managed to conjure up some chicken nuggets from somewhere, as that had been requested by my 7 year old. We used the hotel as a base for visiting friends, and also for a trip into London. After very tiring days, we found the hotel a lovely place to return to. All in all, we had a very pleasant stay, and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie9968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

An honest review,
i booked because of the advertised decent restaurant, well the whole thing was not as advertised, room was cold - had to ask for the heating to be turned on -sorry sir, only seven rooms are used tonight so we have turneddd heating off!!
Go to the bar - you are going to have to wait -no permanant bar staff, the receptionist and the other "wanderer" serve when you can find them.
I was looking forward to a decent meal, the a la carte menu on the web looks great -- this does not exist - only bar food and a poor table d'hote which honestly your local generic harvester style establishmen would and probably would have done better -- did not bother eating here.
I really feel ripped off staying here, the reviews must be fake, they certainly do not reflect what the place is now. Premier inns are local to here -- stay there, atleast you will not pay $3.95 for a pint of stella.
Who ever rated this place at 4 star needs to have a word with them selves, 2 star maybe.--- that said the rooms are good, it is the rest of it that i find well bellow advertised standards

Room Tip: book some where else -- it will just annoy you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 440mlcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This is a quaint hotel in an easy-to-find location near to the M1 (junction 9). The decor in the main areas of the hotel is charming and our check-in was an easy, pleasant and quick experience. I had also had much help on the phone while trying to decide whether to book...thanks James for your help! On the evening we were supposed to arrive, one of our friends had to cancel at the last minute and the hotel was extremely understanding about cancelling both our twin rooms and giving us a 3-bed room, all made up, instead. It was so nice to come into the room and find everything ready for us. The room was modern and beautifully decorated with a clean and modern bathroom. This was an executive room with a large plasma-screen and dvd player, with sky and freeview options as well. Fabulous tea, coffee and hot-chocolate options too!
It was New Year's Eve and though there was a loud party going on, we could hardly hear it from our room, and the service was in no way diminished by this event.
If I had to give one small complain, it would be that the insulation from the room above us was not sufficient, and we could hear lots of walking around from upstairs, creaking floorboards and even the sound of other guests using the bathroom!
All in all, a really nice stay with helpful staff and lovely surroundings - I'd definitely come again!

Room Tip: Ask for an executive room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed for one Saturday night whilst attending a party in Dunstable.

The hotel is very convenient for the town centre which is only a few minutes walk away.

There is plenty of parking at the hotel. The room was clean and there was a huge bed and large flat screen TV. The only gripe was that the central heating wasn't working and the room was freezing cold when we arrived. However there was an electric heater in the room which warmed the room up quickly.

We didn't have dinner at the hotel but the breakfast was great. There is a good range of options on the menu, the food tasted good and the service was excellent.

Our room was on the ground floor towards the back and it was very quiet, even with a loud wedding party in the bar and restaurant. I'm not sure if there are rooms overlooking the road outside but it seemed fairly busy and traffic noise might be a problem if rooms overlook the road.

Defintely recommended.

Room Tip: Maybe worth asking for a room towards the rear if there is a function the night you're staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunstable
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
7.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
4.2 mi away
The Leaside Hotel
The Leaside Hotel
#4 of 26 in Luton
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
6.5 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leighton Buzzard
382 reviews
5.6 mi away
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Palace Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Palace Lodge Hotel

Address: Church Street, Dunstable LU5 4RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Dunstable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Price Range: $64 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Palace Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel is a newly awarded 4 star hotel located in the historic Market Town of Dunstable.With 68 en-suite spacious bedrooms, designed to a standard or executive level, and three meeting and events suites, offering the perfect for business seminars and private functions, the hotel has been described as a jewel in Dunstable and it really is....The popular Henry Restaurant has welcomed Andrew Hill as the new Executive Head Chef. Andrew and his brigade have comprised a set of exciting brand new menus, from the A La Carte, Wedding, Banqueting to the room and lounge. Children and non residents are welcome.The Old Palace Lodge offers complimentary on-site car parking, Fully equipped on-site gym and complimentary WI-FI internet access. Ideally located, The Old Palace Lodge is in walking distance to Dunstable Town and situated only 10 minutes drive from the hustle and bustle of the nearby Town of Luton and Luton Airport. The M1 junction 11 is located 5 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Palace Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Palace Hotel Dunstable
Old Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing