We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not as wild as it was when i was a kid” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunstable Downs

Dunstable Downs
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Dunstable
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Soar above a breathtaking landscape, sculpted over time, decorated by nature and enjoyed by generations.Stand on top of Dunstable Downs for a view that will simply take your breath away. These Sites of Special Scientific Interest (SSSI) are designated for the quality of their chalk grasslands.As well as two Scheduled Ancient Monuments (Five Knolls and Medieval Rabbit Warrens) there are many other historical features and the site has much to offer you.The chalk grasslands of the Downs have miles of footpaths and several circular walks, a fascinating history and an abundance of plants and wildlife.Dunstable Downs is within the Chilterns Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB) and the highest point in Bedfordshire.The wind-swept ridge provides ideal conditions for a variety of air sports, especially kite flying. On calmer days it's the ideal site to enjoy the view and a picnic.Please note: Chilterns Gateway Centre is owned by Central Bedfordshire Council and managed by the National Trust.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
433 reviews
288 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“not as wild as it was when i was a kid”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

whilst visting my mum, me and the kids went up to the downs. it was my first visit for over 10 years, since i moved away from the area. as a kid me and my parents used to drive up to the downs regularly, park on the grass looking out over the countryside. we could picnic near the car and play on the large wild open spaces. there was a small cafe, but this wasnt used much as everyone bought there own stuff and made a day of it. now they have built a massive cafe/shop and big tarmac carpark which stops you parking anywhere and charges and the paths over the hills are now concreted. the only thing still natural are the gale force winds. i remember reading the controversy aroused when they planned this and i now must agree. although the kids enjoyed the place, i believe that they would have enjoyed the old style downs more. we did use the cafe, which was very neat and tidy and served nice stuff (although £2.70 for a hot chocolate was a bit steep). but i wish now we had driven on a further couple of miles to Ivinghoe beacon which is still in its natural condition.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HatterWilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    155
    31
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Blow away those cobwebs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

They say there's nothing in life that's free, well you could spend all day at Dunstable Downs and not spend a penny! Wait for a nice day, pack a picnic, take a blanket, buy a kite, (whatever your age!) and get yourselves Up the DOWNS!
The downs offers you a splendid view over Bedfordshire countryside and the gliding club. Spread your blanket and take time to relax and stop and stare at our wonderful country. See the gliders struggle so hard to get off the ground, only to soar like weightless birds in the sky.
If you're feeling energetic, take a fast walk to the bottom and then a slow (or in my case very slow!) walk back up again. That will give you and appetite for your picnic!
If you have children they will love to run in the wide open spaces, clamber up and down the hills, fly their kites or kick a ball. If you have elderly relatives, get them to do the same! You never know, they might enjoy It!
Turn off your mobile, lay on your back and look at the sky, smell the grass and just enjoy being away from the computer screen and Facebook for just a while.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Roverlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What a view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I don't know anywhere else where you can park up, explore the local geography, topography, visitor centre, walks and also watch gliders and hang gliders soaring. Children are captivated by it and, on a sunny day, it's a stunning panorama.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Fresh air and wonderful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I wander up here on a regular basis and it is always good to get a few good lungful's of fresh air. Once you have got enough air into yourself you can look out and appreciate the wonderful views. The café is nice and serves a tasty cup of hot chocolate.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An English Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were visiting from Australia and our Dunstable relatives took us "up to the downs". The views were amazing and watching the gliders (from the gliding club down below) is something you don't see in Sydney. Also there were many adults & children flying kites, what a wonderful past time. It is such a great expanse of land where you can walk or just sit down and have a relax and enjoy the fabulous view. We did go to the cafeteria and ordered a Bedfordshire Clanger which is a "local meal in one" and nothing like I have had before. Very tasty and original.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saurus_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunstable Downs also viewed

 
Luton, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Dunstable Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing