We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunstable Downs

Dunstable Downs
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Dunstable
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Soar above a breathtaking landscape, sculpted over time, decorated by nature and enjoyed by generations.Stand on top of Dunstable Downs for a view that will simply take your breath away. These Sites of Special Scientific Interest (SSSI) are designated for the quality of their chalk grasslands.As well as two Scheduled Ancient Monuments (Five Knolls and Medieval Rabbit Warrens) there are many other historical features and the site has much to offer you.The chalk grasslands of the Downs have miles of footpaths and several circular walks, a fascinating history and an abundance of plants and wildlife.Dunstable Downs is within the Chilterns Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB) and the highest point in Bedfordshire.The wind-swept ridge provides ideal conditions for a variety of air sports, especially kite flying. On calmer days it's the ideal site to enjoy the view and a picnic.Please note: Chilterns Gateway Centre is owned by Central Bedfordshire Council and managed by the National Trust.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stroll along the hills watch the kites, visit the discovery center. See the hang gliders and the paragliders. Take a picnic and spend the day.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank April Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    156
    32
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Go Fly A Kite!”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have visited Dunstable Downs since I was a small boy. We used to have family picnics over there. You still could. Now it has The National Trust Visitor Centre where you can eat and buy souvenirs of your stay. I only wish they hadn't got rid of the cafe that was there for years. In fact the lady who used to run it was over there in an ice cream van last time I was there. Dunstable Downs is the ideal place to fly a kite, or you could join the glider club down below and float around the skies yourself!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Downloader141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great views along the scarp of the Chilterns”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Always good for a walk, with views down over the Vale of Aylesbury and chances to see people engaged in flying model airplanes and gliders, or maybe do that yourself.

Helpful?
Thank DavidJJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
“Just relax and walk along enjoying the views of nature at its very best SATNAV LU6 2GY”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Chilterns Gateway Centre is situated on the top of Dunstable Downs at Bedfordshire's highest point, 798 feet above sea-level. The visitor centre offers spectacular views over Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Oxfordshire, Northamptonshire and Hertfordshire. Dunstable Downs is owned and managed in partnership with the National Trust.The visitor centre and cafe are open daily from 10am - 5pm, with the exception of Christmas Day.

The Downs are signposted along the Dunstable Road and the entrance to the Downs is clearly signposted on the ascent up to the highest ridge. This place is loved by everyone-dog walkers, runners, kite flyers and those with young families amongst many other groups. I enjoy walking away further from the crowds over to the higher ridges with spectacular views over 5 counties. There are sheep grazing loose on the flat grounds and gates must be kept closed as the sheep roam freely. I often come across a whole flock of sheep who end up surrounding me but a simple clap of hands or dog whistle sound disperse the flock and I am able to continue my walk. My friend once started to freak out and cry when surrounded by the sheep and of course the more she cried the more inquisitive them became and she ended up totally surrounded. The sheep are friendly and harmless.

I am a regular rambler around this part of the county so I don't use the expensive cafe. Instead I have a hot flask and sarnies in my backpack and use my nordic poles to reach the higher ridges. I spend a good part of the day exploring the higher ridges. Be aware that it is mighty cold up there so bring your hat, coat and scarf, dress like an eskimo if you have to as the wind blows your socks off. I love waving to the paragliders and watching the herds of wild deer move through the fields afar. The carpark is charged at £2 per day for non National Trust Members but most people were parking further down in the laybys which were free all day. I love to spend my free time here and I am always sad to leave here and rejoin the hustle and bustle of the forever busy M1. This is a great place walk the dog. Treat yourself and your dog to a wonderful day of walking and come back exhausted.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“And all for free!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

A favourite place to sit and watch life going by. The grandchildren love flying their kites or playing football. T he Visitor Centre has a good cafe and the prices are reasonable. Really good enjoyable walks on the Downs too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank BibsandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunstable Downs also viewed

 
Luton, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Dunstable Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing