We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely location and hospitality, but needs a good clean” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Elkhorn Inn & Theatre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elkhorn Inn & Theatre
Ranked #1 of 1 Landgraff B&B and Inns
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely location and hospitality, but needs a good clean”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had really looked forward to four nights in this historic building up in the back country of West Virginia. My high hopes weren't met..

On the positive, the location is lovely and the building has been renovated in the most important areas. Our host Noel was warm and hospitable and the source of several interesting conversations. The rugged scenery along Highway 52 is great for photography and out of doors enjoyment. The sound of the adjacent train track is minimal, and trains are not that frequent at night - the sound did not impair my sleep (I do use earplugs when travelling). The rooms have been decorated creatively and the owners' artwork collection is interesting (alhough likely not to everyone's taste). There is a nice outdoor patio upstairs, and a common room equipped with a computer that shows when a train is approaching.

There were significant con's, however. The biggest was that the property, while renovated in the right areas, has been allowed to run down. Inside, there were many cobwebs and dead insects. The place needed a good dusting and walls needed scrubbing. Outside, unfinished gardening projects, tools, and hoses lay everywhere. Painting and window repair can't wait much longer. The cleaning person appeared to accomplish very little other than enjoying her iPod. A peek in a back room while looking for some help with something left little confidence in the management's sense of tidiness or cleanliness. It would be nice to have a peaceful common area on the back of the building, away from the busy road and the train tracks.

Also, the rooms have not been set up with a thought to the guest experience. On arrival, there was a lovely assortment of fluffy towels on the bed….but no place to hang them. Similarly, the bed had an attractive assortment of decorative pillows…but no shelf or floor space for them when it was time to pull down the covers. There is nowhere to sit in the rooms if one doesn't enjoy the common areas. The bathrooms (across the hall in our case) had old style tubs with "200 Days of Summer" style shower curtains….pretty, but as the movie demonstrated, it's hard to keep one's balance when showering. The owners have friendly dogs and a cat, who were eager to be part of the hospitality….but if you have allergies or don't enjoy pet smells, be forewarned.

Breakfasts were continental, just cold items. Noel kept the coffee flowing but the muffins and croissants were grocery store quality.

For the first time ever, the side-of-the-interstate chain motel that we stayed in after leaving the Elkhorn Inn actually looked great.

Bottom line - the Elkhorn Inn has enormous potential but needs to do better. In its current condition, it's fine for a guy's week(end) away, be it train watching, hunting, or ATV'ing. But it is not up to a romantic B+B experience. I am certain my spouse would not enjoy it.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have adjoining baths, some rooms face the road and the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crs1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are so sorry that you were disappointed during your stay. I wish Dan & I had been at the inn during your stay so we could have attempted to fix everything to your liking; unfortunately we had to be away, but we believed that our Inn-sitter, Noel, was keeping things up to our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
11
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My nephews (9 and 11) and I spent a night at the Elkhorn Inn & Theatre. My oldest nephew is an avid train watcher. Dan let him borrow a laptop to keep track of the Heritage Units in the vicinity. He saw two new Heritage Units, while we were at the lodge. Now, he is two ahead of his dad! My youngest nephew loved the satellite T.V. He watched the Football Hall of Fame game. He told his grandma, who was disappointed that she couldn’t go that the Elkhorn was the neatest place he had ever stayed. Both boys loved the Inn’s pets, especially, the two cats. The only problem was the lack of food choices for children in the area. However, Dan, the Inn’s owner, is working on the problem. He is thinking of creating a children’s menu. He already has a number of delicious meals for adults. Check out the Inn’s website.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 777cheese777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so glad you and your nephews enjoyed the inn and the trains- and our kitties! Hope to welcome you to the inn again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

While on a photo trip through a number of Southern States I found the Elkhorn Inn was in the middle of the area I wanted to shoot. Dan and Elise are warm and pleasant hosts. Dan is the chief and also helped me find locations. Elise has decorated the Inn with here own style of art and has made each room special and comfortable. Rail fans will not be disappointed as there are trains coming and going all day and night just across the road from the Inn. It is a great home base to stay while checking out the many railroad towns and coal mines.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're so happy that you enjoyed both the inn and the trains! We love our railfan guests! Hope to welcome you back to the Elkhorn Inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I was in West Virginia on a trip researching for an assignment, and Elisse and Dan could not have been more warm, pleasant or helpful. The room was lovely (the bed was the most comfortable I had in my whole trip to West Virginia), and I enjoyed sharing a glass of wine and hearing all about Elisse and Dan. This area of West Virginia is quite rural but strikingly beautiful, and would be perfect for anyone wishing to spend a relaxing trip in the outdoors, or anyone interested in the history of West Virginia. My stay couldn't have been better!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank freelancewriterinWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to welcome you back to the Elkhorn Inn again soon!
Elisse & Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I just got back from a two night stay with Dan and Elysse at the Elkhorn Inn. What a great place to stay at...especially if you are a rail fan. The Norfolk Southern line is right across the street from the Inn and Dan and Elysse have a viewing platform set up complete with a rail scanner. If you like watching and photographing trains, I cannot think of a better place to be at.

Even more impressive than the Inn itself is the hospitality afforded by Dan and Elysse. I literally spent hours speaking to each of them about a wide and diverse array of topics (Israeli art, Vietman, the Southern West Virginia economy, restoration of the inn, Hurricane Katrina, etc.) and learned so much! I could have spent tons more time listening to them. They are so warm and inviting and make you feel so welcome in their home, And so too are their two dogs and two cats!

If you want to get away from it all and spend time in a great inn with two wonderful hosts, by all means try the Elkhorn Inn. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: You will hear the train whistles, so if you are a light sleeper, get a room not facing the tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank calumet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! Dan and I are delighted you enjoyed the Inn! Hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

As an avid railbuff and dirt bike rider, I first came to know of the Elkhorn Inn through railbuff blogs. I have visited there about five times now. Each time I got to experience my favorite hobbies while enjoying the company, hospitality and gourmet food of Dan and Elisse. Having the awsome rail traffice on NS Pochahontas Division across the road and the Hafield/McCoy trails about five miles away is a truely incredible experience.. From the "Dining by Rails" weekend (Breaded Roast Beef), to Vietnamese Pork Chops, to Ghanan Chicken Stew, to Indian Butter Chicken, Chef Dan has produced some of the most memorable meals I have had anywhere. The old world antique decor of the lounge and rooms contrasted with Elisse's "Nuvo" artwork makes for an interesting and relaxing experience. My girlfriend and I had an extra special New Years Eve with a gourmet meal and Champagne and Fireworks at midnight!!! I recommend the Elkhorn Inn for anyone who wants something "extraordinary" in a B&B experience.

Room Tip: I recommend the third floor queen bedroom with private bath. Privacy with great view of the railroa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are both so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, the trains, and Chef Dan's dinners! Hope to welcome you back to the inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Next to Hatfield McCoy Trails, Ashland ATV Resort, the Elkhorn Inn has historic railroad museum, art gallery, books signings by authors who visit, the most imaginative gourmet meals to entice the pallette, antiques, railway goes by Inn several times a day and the Inn offers a great balcony view of the passing trains. Hosts Dan and Elisse Clark are the proprietors and have a wealth of talent between the two. Dan is a gourmet chef, Elisse is an artist. Her gallery has not only her work but paintings from all over the US and overseas. I am so impressed by them. They are awakening LIFE in a sleepy little hid away village!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moxie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elissejo, Owner at Elkhorn Inn & Theatre, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed the Inn, the ATVing, and Chef Dan's dinners! Hope to welcome you back to the inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Landgraff
12.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Bluefield
Comfort Inn Bluefield
#1 of 1 in Bluefield
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
19.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
18.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Quality Hotel and Conference Center
18.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#2 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
18.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elkhorn Inn & Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkhorn Inn & Theatre

Property: Elkhorn Inn & Theatre
Address: 30767 Coal Heritage Road, Landgraff, WV 24829
Location: United States > West Virginia > Landgraff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Landgraff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Elkhorn Inn & Theatre 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on HGTV, the historic "Coal Heritage Trail" Elkhorn Inn & Theatre has 13 a/c guest rooms and offers fine dining by reservation. The Inn features free WiFi access, sat. television, and long distance telephone service, a Gift Shop/Gallery, fireplace, and rail-view balcony, front porch, and guest rooms. The art and antique-filled inn was restored by the owners, Dan & Elisse Clark, and offers down comforters and pillows, vintage and antique furnishings, bathrobes and signature toiletries. Our area offers THE best railfanning, flyfishing, and ATVIng in the eastern USA, as well as historic sites, hiking, golf, summer theatre, fall festivals and leaf-peeping, and other fun in the moountains! An inspected member of the WV Bed-and-Breakfast Association, the Elkhorn Inn is in the Great Country Inns of America Cookbook, and has been featured on Inn The Kitchen, Wandering Eduators, the NY Daily News, WV Living, WV South, Railfan & Railroad, ATV Illustrated, Preservation, Trains, WV Game & Fish, Eastern Flyfisherman, Wonderful West Virginia, Traveling the Mountain State, Charleston Gazette, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Elkhorn Inn & Theatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing