We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could imagine!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Village at Solitude
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Everything you could imagine!”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

If your looking for a great family ski trip, look no further! I had the most amazing time here! My family and I had a 2 bedroom unit in Eagle Springs. We were in the building that had the pool and everything. We were on the ground floor in a hall locked off so we were a hop skip and a jump away from the heated pool and hot tub. We had the perfect weather for a ski trip! This place is truly amazing! Activities were also going on! We got second place in the snowman contest! ( People copied us so they got first) and your also a short walk away to the lifts! We ate at many of the restaurants in salt lake ad tried the resturaunt onsite! This place was absolutely beautiful! We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachdude654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We are longtime fans of Solitude. Living in the midwest, we make a couple of week-long visits to Solitude each ski season, and having been doing it for 20 years.

Our kids learned to ski in their school and are now expert all-mountain skiers as a result. Leif runs an amazing school, with many instructors that are locals and come back year after year.

The village is comfortable and we love the ability to put on our skis and push our way over the Apex lift to head up the mountain. And race down Main Street, gliding over the bridge, and a bit of pushing to the door of the condo building.

The condos are comfortable, though a bit pricey. However, that's our big splurge. We pick up groceries at Smith's, at the base of the canyon and do most of our own cooking (cooking for us is relaxing). As some folks have noticed, Internet access can be spotty. Fine in the Eagle Springs condos, but no wireless in Powderhorn. They do have a Ethernet jack, so you can easily bring your own base station (and they make really tiny ones now that are great for travel). They should advertise this better on the booking web pages.

The condo Club (in the Eagle Springs East building) is great if you have kids. A nice pool, two hot tubs, a pool table, movie room, weight/exercise room, and video games. And the other condos have hot tubs in their buildings. All outside of course!

Skiing at Solitude is amazing. We spend most of our time off trailing, in Honeycomb Canyon, Black Forest, Headwall, etc. And Solitude probably has one of the most varied and accessible backcountry ski scenes around. If you're an advanced intermediate or higher, pay for an hour or two of instructor time (or find a local experienced friend) and try it out. You'll know that you're reaching "local" status when you can find the old silver miner's cabin.

The on-trail skiing is great, with a nice variety for all levels. Huge open bowls and long comfortable trails.

Food on the mountain is fine, though not amazing. And a bit pricey. On a sunny day, sitting on the terrace mid-mountain at Sunshine Grill and enjoying a lunch or snack is quite nice.

Room Tip: One bedroom with dens are great for families. Check carefully what kind of beds are in the den, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 8cu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Staying at the crossings! No Internet! No sense of urgency by anyone to fix. (4th day into rental) No snow....No Internet wired or wireless. The rental company has not lived up to their obligations.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed here over July 4th weekend for a wedding at Brighton, just up the road. Our suite in the Bighorn section of the Village was clean and had a well equipped kitchen, perfect for a weekend with 4 friends. The balcony was also a great place for morning coffee. The pool was very refreshing, although it was a bit too crowded with families during the holiday weekend. (We scrounged up 3 chaise lounges, thanks to a generous man who gave up his wife's chair/towel holder, much to her dismay...) The water was the perfect temperature. The room was a bit warm due to the fireplace constantly churning out some heat and no AC, so I suggest bringing a fan. The Village had great access to the hiking trails in Big Cottonwood Canyon. I highly recommend it for a weekend respite!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TreehouseChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Very convenient to Salt lake City airport. Location is great. We stayed in Powderhorn and I would recommend Eagle Springs building that has the pool adjacent to it. If you want a resort that is family orientated with no crowds then this is the one.

Room Tip: Request either of the Eagle Springs buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rparks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We have been visiting Solitude for the past 5 years. It is our perfect winter holiday. We love the easy access to skiing, (no car travel, or bus or tram). We love the variety of ski lifts for every type of skiing (advanced to beginner). We love the pool, game room and relaxing evenings watching movies or playing board games.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maria1777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Great mountain, never a lift line, the greatest snow on earth, nice clean safe nearby city, 45 minute ride the the airport, southwest airlines, great accomodations, nice hot tubs, wonderful truly heated pool, underground parking, ski lockers, great on site food, did I say 15 minutes to town? Superquads everywhere, great ski school, great kids ski school, courteous snowboarders, great mountain lodges, fast service, great price on lift tickets

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Henry56003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solitude hotels
150.7 mi away
The Inn at Solitude
The Inn at Solitude
#1 of 1 in Solitude
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Powderhorn Lodge
Powderhorn Lodge
#2 of 5 in Solitude
20 reviews
155.5 mi away
Creekside at Solitude
Creekside at Solitude
#4 of 5 in Solitude
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village at Solitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village at Solitude

Property: The Village at Solitude
Address: 11782 E Big Cottonwood Canyon Rd, Solitude, UT 84121
Location: United States > Utah > Solitude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Solitude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village at Solitude is home to a wide range of accommodations, featuring luxurious 1-3 bedroom condos in unique, tasteful settings. Whether you prefer the slopeside condos at Creekside, the elegance of Powderhorn Lodge, the majestic views of Eagle Springs East or West, or the spacious townhomes at The Crossings, it's impossible to go wrong here. Each accommodation offers its own unique style & services, while still capturing the true spirit of Solitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Village at Solitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village At Solitude Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing