We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Gay Head Light (Aquinnah Light)
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.10*
and up
Day Trip to Martha's Vineyard
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Aquinnah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Martha's Vineyard Museum is privileged to be the steward of three of the Island's lighthouses. The East Chop, Edgartown, and Gay Head lighthouses are not only historic reminders of a bygone age, but are working beacons that still send a light out into the night. Beyond their important functional role, these structures also offer visitors spectacular views of the breathtaking beauty of Vineyard Sound, the simple elegance of Edgartown Harbor & Chappaquiddick, and the majestic cliffs of Aquinnah. The Gay Head Lighthouse is open seasonally. A lighthouse keeper will be available and the doors will be open during designated hours. Parking is available, but limited, on Aquinnah Circle. The Vineyard Transit Authority (VTA) busses do have routes to the lighthouse.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We drove out to watch the sun set over the water, with the lighthouse to our backs. It was beautiful (and windy).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ConniC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    45
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Do the Vineyard with your special person”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We did Martha's Vineyard on a day that started out gray but turned out sun filled and fun filled. To me, going to Martha's and Nantucket is a must. In past visits back home, I could never get my other half to go with me, sea sick episode years before in the Gulf, anyhow this time he decided to go and was he ever glad! We rented a Scooter and went to all the places my brothers, sisters and I had discovered on our many trips with our parents. The lighthouse was the grand finale, but the park at Ocean Bluffs really took his breath away! "How do they keep that park so beautiful through all the weather this island sees all year?" was his question. "With Yankee ingenuity!" was my prompt reply. Go, explore, see, take photos and video and enjoy the kindness of the many strangers you will meet. They will then be friends since you will have been introduced!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank EM L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Traveling to the far end of the Islandwas well worth it!! We were rewarded with spectacular scenery and a 360 degree view of Martha's Vineyard!! The $5 admission into the Lighthouse seemed like a bit much but the view was awesome!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, New York
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the drive!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The view of the clay cliffs was breathtaking, like something you'd see in a painting or on a postcard. And you can climb right up into the lighthouse, all the way to the top, which was a neat experience. We followed our visit with a walk down to Moshup Beach and spent the afternoon there - it was beautiful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravenclaw79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“quintessential MV”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

You really have to go up island to experience Marhta's Vineyard. The Gay Head lighthouse with the gayly colored cliffs below it are so evocative of a time of ships' dependence on lighthouses. Also Aquinnah is the homeof the Wampanoag, the original settlers of the Vineyard. A must see.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambridgtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gay Head Light (Aquinnah Light) also viewed

Aquinnah, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Gay Head Light (Aquinnah Light)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing