We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jagged cliffs, gorgeous vistas and a few quaint shops”
Review of Aquinnah Cliffs

Aquinnah Cliffs
Book In Advance
More Info
$87.00*
and up
Discover Martha's Vineyard from Boston
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Martha's Vineyard Day Trip from Providence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Jagged cliffs, gorgeous vistas and a few quaint shops”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have a tradition of visiting the Aquinnah Cliffs during our annual weeklong visit to Martha's Vineyard- and for good reason. The views are stunning. The photo opportunities abound, as you perch yourselves and your kids in front of the backdrop of cliffs, sand, ocean and lighthouse. You can't go wrong taking the trip to Aquinnah to see how the island must have looked before it was developed into what it is today. My favorite little gift shop is at the Cliffs, along with the best lobster roll on the island. For fifteen bucks, you get a grilled roll stuffed with lobster, made with salt and pepper and just a touch of mayo: Dona's Famous Lobster Roll. Beware the one hour parking at the top- they mean it. If you can spare a bit more than an hour, park at the bottom and walk up so you can take your time in the shops and not rush your lunch or soft serve cone. Enjoy!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BostonTraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    82
    19
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
201 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Unique View of the Island”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Nowhere else on the island did we see such magnificent and colorful cliffs. This was a real change from the grassy dunes common in all parts of the three major towns we had seen so much of. It takes some doing if you do not have your own car and want to tour this part of the island, so plan a private tour, or rent a car for the day and roam around this general area. There is a decent tourist stop here, with rest rooms, snacks, souvenirs and the like, so it is a good place to take in the views. Great camera spot!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning vistas”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

On our island tour (MV Transport) we made one stop, and this was it. But what a great choice! The red cliffs were stunning, and vastly different from anything else we had seen on the island. Unfortunately we couldn't get any nearer to the cliffs than this distant, fenced off Lighthouse area, but I imagine it is an erosion/public safety issue to allow any closer access. The whole area is owned and managed by the Wampanoag Indians, and there is a gift shop, snack area, rest rooms and several viewing spots. But, while this is a beautiful area, if we had to take several buses just to get there, it would have been a disappointment, only because once you look around at the cliffs, the Lighthouse and the distant beach, get a snack, use the restrooms and pick up a souvenir you are done, and there really is nothing else close enough to walk to. This visit should be done as a driving trip - and it is definitely too far to bike for the average person staying in any of the three major towns.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyJake927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We took the Ferry in from Falmouth to Oaks Bluff. The bus ride to the cliffs is about an hour but well worth it. You can obtain the all day pass for about $7.00. You will have to change buses at the airport but the drivers were helpful in making sure you got the right bus. The cliffs are awesome and you can walk down the beach and walk to them. If you have the time you must go! The bus comes about once an hour and we had plenty of time to see the cliffs and head back to Oaks Bluff with a stop in Vineyard Haven. There is a place to shop and grab a bite to eat while there. If you drive make sure to take the parking limit signs careful they have one cop who is stationed there and takes his job very seriously and we watched several parking tickets issued.
Should be noted that once you get down to the beach and begin walking towards the cliffs it does turn into a nude beach. If you are bringing your family you should be aware because there were several nude couples and individuals on the beach the closer you got towards the cliffs.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Tasha9914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We went twice”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Unique experience....we stayed in Vineyard Haven, and we went twice since the first day was so unique. The beach itself is not that much in regards to water or actual beach, however the views of the cliffs, the shops, the laid-back culture, and the scarce amount of people there make it unique.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquinnah Cliffs also viewed

 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Aquinnah Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing