We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful hospitality - rural experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royalsborough Inn at Bagley House
Ranked #1 of 1 Durham B&B and Inns
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful hospitality - rural experience”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

A friend and I spent a weekend out at the Inn in March. The innkeeper, Jim, makes a wonderful breakfast and he was a gracious host when it came to showing us the animals and helping us plan our itinerary while we were out there. Coming from Boston, it's an adjustment to being on a farm and it was nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

My wife and I spent the first weekend in February 2012 here. It was our first visit to the Inn and we stayed in the Durham Room which was wonderful. The room was very spacious, well lit, and the bed was firm and comfortable. The one and only thing we cold suggest as a change in the room (and this occured to us after our stay) was that a love seat in front of the fireplace would have been nicer for a couple instead of the two indivudual chairs for that romantic feeling.

During the cold Maine nights, we made use of the gas fireplace and the incredible alpaca fiber-filled comforter! Jim and Maryanne are wonderful hosts and we enjoyed chatting with them each morning during breakfast. The food was delicious and include farm fresh eggs right from the chickens on site. The farm animals were set back from the housing and never disturbed us, and it was fun to see the alpacas, geese, chickens, and the very friendly dog Gracie.

Jim and Marianne were very helpful in giving suggestions for shopping and dining and making sure that we got everything out of our trip that we wanted. Both the main house and the building that we stayed in are very nicely decorated and contain lots of interesting and intriguing items to look at, books to read, and games if you are so inclined.

The Inn is located right between Freeport and Brunswick, so it was great for getting around to a bunch of different locations that we wanted to check out. We would certainly come back here again and would love to stay in some of the other rooms also.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The Royalsborough is owned and run by the two most hospitable people you could wish to meet. Farmer Jim and his wife Marriane are lovely and do everything within their power to help you figure out what to do and make you comfortable. My daughter was so excited to be on a farm she was up around 5:30 to go visit the goats (right outside the window). They captivated her until breakfast – which was always delicious and served promptly. Despite the animals being a short distance away, I never got the feeling that I was on a farm unless I actually looked out side. In other words, everything was super tidy & clean and potential unpleasant smells did not drift our way. It was fun to meet all the animals including the mohair bunnies, which were a delight to hold. When our original plans to go to Vermont fell through because of an impending hurricane and we didn’t know where to go, so we called the most welcoming place we could think of - Royalsborrough. They took us in and we felt well cared for during a rough storm. Highly recommend Royalsburrough!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerEnFamile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I guess we got the innkeepers on a bad weekend as others mention their hospitality which we did not see. In short, rooms were basic and decoration hokey. In need of renovation in bathroom. Food was forgettable. Not a good value overall.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelguy563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We got a deal for the inn from Living Social. It was a little off the beaten path, but worth going. The food was great and our room was wonderful. The innkeepers walked us around the farm, and we had tons of fun. We loved it, and would definitely go back. It felt very genuine. Also, try the Lion's Pride tavern nearby- the food and beer are delicious.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We spent two nights here during the early fall and had a wonderful stay! The innkeepers, Jim and Mary Ann, were very friendly and accommodating to our gluten free/vegetarian diet needs. There are plenty of animals to see in the fields behind the main house including goats, chickens, and alpacas. Jim is happy to provide a full tour of the farm too (you even learn how to make crafts using alpaca fiber). This clean and comfortable B&B is located in close proximity to Freeport and just a short drive from Portland as well.

Room Tip: Freeport Room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSerpico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I booked a stay at the Royalsborough inn via a special on livingsocial.com. The special package was for 2 nights with a full alpaca farm experience. The host Jim and Marianne Roberts were most kind and welcoming. Jim took us on a tour of the farm and explained all about raising alpacas. We even walked one on a tether. He was very insightful and knowledgeable about his animals, farm life, and a gentler life style in Maine. They raise goat, chickens, ducks, and rabbits as well. Ask Jim why he only has one Llama. :)

Marianne is as kind as can be - as part of our special, she did a class about the fiber they collect from the animals, how to comb and spin the fiber into yarn with a drop spindle and with a spinning wheel. We also learned about making felt soap and felting. This would be a great place for anyone interested in fiber, spinning or raising alpacas. My 13 year old daughter enjoyed it also. Marianne is a great masseuse as well. She offers massages, reiki, and facials at an additional fee. Well worth it !

The Inn is a lovely 1700's era home with lots of history and many updates. There are 4 guest rooms in the main house, which provide the true rustic charm of this inn and are tastefully decorated. There are 3 rooms in an auxiliary building, which is where we stayed. This building resembles a barn, but is not that old, it was built in the 1990's. The rooms in this building still captured the rustic charm with massive post and beams outlining the ceilings. Our room had a king size bed with sitting area, a gas fireplace, a fabulous view of the pasture and a smallish TV (direct tv). (but are you really here to watch tv??). There is one handicap accessible room on the 1st level. There is a community room in the 2nd building with spring water, ice maker, small refrigerator, keurig coffee machine, dining area, comfy couch seating area in front of a wood stove.

We could see the alpacas, about 20, roaming the pasture in the evenings since the stalls had spotlights and thoroughly enjoyed the peace of the view upon waking.
The only downside was the newly acquired rooster, who had to let himself be known at a very early hour. They are working on that though. I’m not sure what entails rooster noise control, but there was talk about a water/vinegar spray.

Breakfast was phenomenal!!! did I mention that breakfast was great?

The inn is only 6 miles from Freeport, Maine, which boast the 1st outlets and the largest LL Bean outlet store. The Inn is less than a 10 minute from the inn. Do not let the 6 mile drive to the inn deter you! Really it was only about 8 minute drive and well worth it.

Downsides:
If you have allergies to animals or relaxation, then this is not for you.

Room Tip: Use website to book or call them directly - website was up to date and owners are very accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EZ-Travelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
6.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
7.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
296 reviews
6.0 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
374 reviews
9.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
400 reviews
8.5 mi away
George Perley House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalsborough Inn at Bagley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalsborough Inn at Bagley House

Property: Royalsborough Inn at Bagley House
Address: 1290 Royalsborough Rd, Durham, ME 04222-5225
Location: United States > Maine > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royalsborough Inn at Bagley House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royalsborough Inn is a coutry inn built in 1772. It is six miles from Freeport and LL Bean. Bates and Bowdoin Colleges are only minutes away. Enjoy visiting with our alpaca and shop in our store filled with alpaca yarns and clothing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Royalsborough Inn at Bagley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalsborough Inn At Bagley House Durham, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing