We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Surprise!”
Review of Grassy Key Outpost

Grassy Key Outpost
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Grassy Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Contemporary, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Breakfast, lunch, dinner, beer & wine, provisions…get it here! Welcome to Grassy Key Outpost; an island market and grill. “The Outpost” is a “must stop” spot in the middle Keys. Its home at mile marker 58 has been a famed stopping point for travelers passing by and vacationers settling in, for generations. Today we are newer but just as comfortable. The concept for “The Outpost” was to create something to meet combined needs of a small island including exceptional local dining with hand-crafted fare; groceries and market fodder for home, vacation home, or on the water; a bar for cold drinks or a home-style lunch; a tropical patio for al fresco dining; along with food and fine wines to go. Our menus feature specialties like Fire and Ice Ceviche, hand-crafted oven baked pizzas, Classic ‘diner’ burgers and everything in between. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, the best authentic espresso west of Itlay,or for snacks at the bar, we’re here to welcome you and feed your soul.Whether dining or picking up provisions, at Grassy Key Outpost you can “Get It Here!”
Florida Keys, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Surprise!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

What a delicious surprise to go into the Outpost on Grassy Key and discover a gourmet restaurant, wine shop, and little grocery in one building! Pork shank with incredible five-cheese cheesy grits, best ever tuna tartar, lobster mac and cheese, fresh salads, sinfully scrumptious desserts (molten lava cake), the food is outstanding - unanimously voted such by everyone in our party. The atmosphere is clean and comfortable. Our server, Dylan, was friendly, attentive and efficient. Honestly, from start to finish this was a treat. We're lucky enough to live locally and will definitely eat here often. The Outpost is definitely a welcome addition to the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Live2WriteNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    156
    54
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SPOT ON!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

As a resident of Grassy Key I'm thankful for an option then going into town for meals. I had the fried green tomatoe and lobster salad which was so fresh and the mixture of herbs was a great change. Today I had the truffle fries(they are worth the extra $) and hog fish sandwich which was a good size portion enough to take extra home for a snack later. The menu is eclectic and different everything was so fresh and not premade. Service was excellent and friendly...the owner was very nice as well and approachable...Thank you from this Jersey girl now a resident!

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca34347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutly the best ribs eaten in ages!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed overnight in Long Key on our way down to Key West last week and our hotel suggested this restaurant being the nearest one, and we were happy to find it close by after such a long day of traveling. Well, what a surprise it was to happen on the Thursday night special of ribs! We happen to be rib lovers and boy, did we enjoy the meal at the Outpost ! We came for dinner so I can't vouch for the view during the day, but it is the neighbor of the Dolphin research center in Marathon. Service was super and the food was excellent. I would definitely suggest this restaurant to anyone looking for a great meal on their way down south. On our way back north on Sunday, we happened by once again and their special was Jamiacan jerk chicken with rice and peas.. Very tempting to stay for lunch, but we had to run off to get back north.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Perfect place to stop in between Islamorada and Keywest!!!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for a early dinner! Absalultly perfect! Sitting at the bar drinking a cold draft and some warm pulled beef lettuce wraps you would never expect to look behind you and still be able to pick up a bottle of wine and some Sarah Lee cookies! The beef lettuce wraps were exquisite with the fresh crunch of lettuce, the flavorful beef & a touch of cilantro. The service was impeccable for a quick little bite super friendly and the atmosphere was just right with dim lighting, water in mason jars & great Art Deco!! Defiantly stopping by again!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sassy843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super fresh and tasty food”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Had breakfast here twice and lunch once. Food is very good - fresh and tasty. Prices are reasonable for the quality of the food received. Also found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and service was always reasonably fast. A good place to eat.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grassy Key Outpost also viewed

Grassy Key, Marathon
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Grassy Key Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing