We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dolphins”

Dolphin Research Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$155.88*
and up
Dolphin Research Center and Florida Keys Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Dolphin Research Center is a nonprofit education and research facility. Home to a family of dolphins and sea lions, we offer fun-filled narrated behavior sessions and educational presentations every half an hour. During your visit you can watch and learn all about these amazing animals including dolphin maternity, social groupings, physiology, natural abilities and more. You'll see how we care for them, how we're working with them in cognition and behavioral research and the importance of conserving them and their ocean habitat. DRC also offers a variety of interactive programs including the Dolphin Encounter swim program, Ultimate Trainer for a Day, Trainer Experience half-day program, Researcher Experience half-day program and Paint with a Dolphin. We are actively involved in programs for people with Special Needs, as well as veterans from the Wounded Warrior Project, Military families, and others. Most of our dolphins were born here. Others have come to us for a variety of reasons -- including those who were injured and rescued as youngsters and later deemed non-releasable by the government. We are deeply committed to providing all of them with a safe, healthy, happy home for life. The well-being of the dolphins and sea lions is our top priority. Your visit and participation in programs supports the care of our marine mammal family, the maintenance of their natural sea water home, and the rest of our mission to educate others about these animals and the importance of conservation. Thank you for your interest in Dolphin Research Center!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great experience. Learned lots about the dolphins...they could use some lessons in anti-bullying...I never knew they picked on each other!

Thank snowescapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinResearchCtr, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thankfully, most of the time the dolphins don't pick on each other, but they will establish who's the more dominant, particularly among the mature males. With people, however, they show good manners. We're glad that you had a good time and that you learned more about these amazing animals. That's our mission!

Thanks for visiting and for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"dolphin encounter"
in 289 reviews
"swim with the dolphins"
in 158 reviews
"sea world"
in 77 reviews
"general admission"
in 81 reviews
"non profit"
in 77 reviews
"hand signals"
in 23 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 34 reviews
"bucket list"
in 43 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 40 reviews
"money goes"
in 27 reviews
"well worth the money"
in 25 reviews
"key west"
in 60 reviews
"marine life"
in 22 reviews
"turtle hospital"
in 22 reviews
"sea lions"
in 160 reviews
"fish"
in 25 reviews
"love dolphins"
in 39 reviews
Filter

1,695 - 1,699 of 2,318 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

I went to just watch all the folks interacting with the dolphins. Much to see. There is always something going on to watch the dolphins interact. Left with a huge smile on my face and a deeper adoration for the dolphin.

Thank northcoastlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinResearchCtr, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Watching the dolphins always makes us smile too. Thanks so much for visiting and for telling other people. We're glad that you had a good time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The best attraction in Marathon! I purchased the 'play with the dolphin' package for my family! At $60 per person...I was a bit hesitant, however I decided to make the purchase and I'm soooo glad I did! My family had a blast playing with Merina! Yes! its very expensive(especially the pictures) if you decide to interact with the dolphins, but it's a day my family and I will never forget and I do NOT regret spending the money!!! This place is a must see when visiting the KEYS! Also, trainers, staff etc... are fantastic!

Thank Braden94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinResearchCtr, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

We'll pass on your compliment to Merina. (She might think, "Of course they love me." :-) We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and appreciate you sharing about your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

These people give you the break down of the struggle these poor animals have to go through to try to survive. The turtles have been around for millions of years, but man has brought them to the brink of extinction. Very informative, plus your admittance fee goes directly to saving hurt turtles.

Thank Jeffmusser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinResearchCtr, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

It appears that this review was meant for our friends at the Turtle Hospital, which is also a great place to visit when vacationing in the Marathon area of the Florida Keys. We hope that you were also able to stop by and spend some time with us at Dolphin Research Center.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We went being in the water with dolphins! It was amazing. My brother has special needs and the dolphins were so great with him! The stuff is super nice! If you wanna see dolphins go there an support it, don't go to sea life or what ever, because at the Dolphin Research Center the dolphins are treaded well, not like all the stressed ones in sea life!!

Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinResearchCtr, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thanks for visiting from Switzerland and for sharing about your experience. DRC is committed to helping people with special needs enjoy interacting with our dolphin family. We're happy we were able to assist your brother.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Research Center also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Dolphin Research Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing