We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Again”

Dolphin Research Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$155.88*
and up
Dolphin Research Center and Florida Keys Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Dolphin Research Center is a nonprofit education and research facility. Home to a family of dolphins and sea lions, we offer fun-filled narrated behavior sessions and educational presentations every half an hour. During your visit you can watch and learn all about these amazing animals including dolphin maternity, social groupings, physiology, natural abilities and more. You'll see how we care for them, how we're working with them in cognition and behavioral research and the importance of conserving them and their ocean habitat. DRC also offers a variety of interactive programs including the Dolphin Encounter swim program, Ultimate Trainer for a Day, Trainer Experience half-day program, Researcher Experience half-day program and Paint with a Dolphin. We are actively involved in programs for people with Special Needs, as well as veterans from the Wounded Warrior Project, Military families, and others. Most of our dolphins were born here. Others have come to us for a variety of reasons -- including those who were injured and rescued as youngsters and later deemed non-releasable by the government. We are deeply committed to providing all of them with a safe, healthy, happy home for life. The well-being of the dolphins and sea lions is our top priority. Your visit and participation in programs supports the care of our marine mammal family, the maintenance of their natural sea water home, and the rest of our mission to educate others about these animals and the importance of conservation. Thank you for your interest in Dolphin Research Center!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I did the dolphin swim years ago and loved it lots of time with the dolphin and learned a lot. I am so excited to go this coming weekend with my two year old. I have never played by the water park area, but I'm looking forward to my daughter getting to. I'm from the Keys, but I do not live there any more so each time I visit I try to stop in DRC!! They treat the animals right and are nonprofit so they are the place for your money to go:)

Thank Caitlyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinResearchCtr, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Welcome back, Caitlyn. We hope that you and your family enjoy your visit. The Sprayground is fun for all ages and the dolphins and sea lions will be happy to see you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,187)
There are newer reviews for Dolphin Research Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,594 - 1,598 of 2,187 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having grown up as a fan of the 60's tv show, Flipper, I couldn't wait to visit this facility. Flipper apparently lived here. Today, the research center houses a couple of dozen dolphins who all seem to be enjoying their lives here. This isn't an entertainment show like Seaworld so much as an educational facility with performing dolphins. Meaning, if they want to goof off, they can. There's plenty of things going on to fill a couple of hours and lots of things for kids to be entertained by including having a dolphin paint a t-shirt for you. You can also swim with them altho at $199 per person, we passed and were glad we did as you don't actually get to spent much time witht he dolphins. Much better to watch from dry land! Highly recommended for all ages. Reasonable entry fee.

Thank Aussiewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinResearchCtr, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

You're correct that the original Flipper movie was filmed partly here with five of the dolphins that lived here at the time. The daughter and granddolphins of two of the dolphins who played Flipper live here today! Thanks so much for visiting. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves and appreciate you sharing about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This place was awesome!!! We went on a Saturday morning around 11:30, we waited till 1 to pet the dolphins for $25 per person. While waiting you can watch dolphins in demonstrations or watch them swimming in their areas. The place is clean, the staff is friendly and informative. The baby dolphin was out in its area for viewing which was awesome to see. Remember to take sun screen all areas are outside with mostly shaded areas.

Thank 38JasonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinResearchCtr, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thanks so much for visiting and for sharing about your experience. Reese (the baby at almost three months old) is so cute and all of the dolphins enjoy your attention. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The visit is expensive if all you want to do is explore the grounds ($20 per person with AAA and military disounts available), but there are a number of dolphin interactive programs. We visited with our 5 year old granddaughter, and she had a marvelous time. The facility has 22 dolphins including the descendant of one of the "Flipper" dolphins. The interactive programs are also a bit on the pricy side, but the interaction could make your vacation and the funds are used to care for the dolphins.

Thank bxdiver65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinResearchCtr, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thanks for visiting and bringing your granddaughter. We're happy that you had a great time seeing the dolphins.

We're a nonprofit organization and your visit definitely supports the care of the dolphins and sea lions, as well as the education, research, manatee rescue and other aspects of our mission. Much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We loved being up so close and personal to the trainers and the dolphins. It was fun to walk from pool to pool watching the trainers work and play with the different dolphins.

Thank Janis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinResearchCtr, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Research Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

We're glad you experienced the close-up look at the dolphin family here at DRC. We know that the dolphins enjoy it too! Thanks for visiting and for sharing about your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Research Center also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Dolphin Research Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing