We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like it was in Key Largo-Old Florida Elegance-with great food and service”
Review of Hideaway Cafe

Hideaway Cafe
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Grassy Key
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
2 reviews
“Just like it was in Key Largo-Old Florida Elegance-with great food and service”
Reviewed January 16, 2011

As soon as we saw the jalousie windows and heard the 40's "songbook" over the sound system, we knew we made a good choice. The hogfish special was devine. Looking for the perfectly prepared duck?-service is a little over the top, but good over the top-- relax and enjoy it--Robert, the maitre'de is superb=just chat with him. The only demerit is the free tomato brushetta dish before dinner--and the bread--not a good intro into the best dinner in the middle keys--great wine list, great service--what else??

  • Visited February 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    115
    32
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, pa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“I'd come to the keys just to eat here”
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Best view, best food, best service! We ate breakfast there twice and dinner once and wish we had discovered it sooner. The food, the service and ambiance were all wonderful. Check out the early bird dinner for a great value.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Floridakayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“great food, hidden gem”
Reviewed January 14, 2011

This restaurant was recommended by a waiter at another restaurant. Like the other reviwer, we were staying at Hawks Kay and were not enjoying the food there. Upon arrival at the Rainbow Resort, there are no signs to let you know there is a restaurant. It doesnt look like much at first glance. The waiter was very nice and the view was nice. It overlooks the water. You start with warm bread and cesaer salad. I had the shrimp scampi and my husband the beef wellington. Both were excellent! The shrimp were very large and they gave you a fair amount of the,. The prices are on the higher end, but after days of average food at Hawks Cay, were were willing to pay. The nice service also helped. We finished with a molton chocolate cake (which takes 10 minutes to prepare) that was awesome! the presentation was great too. They decorated the plate with dots of chocolate and fruit sauces. The wine list was good and we each had a glass.
A great restuarant and if we had more time we would have definitly ate there again!
the waiter mentioned they had breakfast too, but we didnt have time to try it

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bebedani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Colony Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“not worth the money”
Reviewed January 7, 2011

On our last visit (and final one), to our one time favorite fine dining restaurant in the Keys ,we were served awful food and the presentation was just as bad. The seafood crepe app tasted foul and their special, the hogfish, was flavorless and the scallops were not fully cooked. The service was ok. As locals, we were extremely dissappointed that the seafood was not fresh. Dessert was good, but who serves creme brulee and molten lava cake in clear pyrex bowls? The night was a big waste of money!

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mbiffel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Go here for the view”
Reviewed September 28, 2010

The view from this restaurant is simply lovely. After dinner you can go take pictures on the beach and dock: terrific!
The food is just okay, but the soup was excellent. I would really recommend NOT going here for dinner. Go for breakfast, or for coffee and desert which WAS good. Actually the coffee is very good - it was the only coffee I truly enjoyed in the keys. The wait staff were very sweet. Since we told them we were honeymooners they served us our cake with "Congratulations" written on a plate and a candle! It was a nice experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gram777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hideaway Cafe also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hideaway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing