We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Amazing”
Review of Hideaway Cafe

Hideaway Cafe
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Grassy Key
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always Amazing”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We love to visit the Hideaway Cafe. It is one of our favorite restaurants - not just in The Keys but of all time. The food is prepared to perfection and the staff is delightful. The Early Bird special (seating by 5:15) is the best deal ever! Try the Hogfish (any preparation style)...you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Old7Sunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    115
    32
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Free breakfasts were wonderful and they let me take it down to the room to my elderly mother. The restaurant is upstair overlooking the ocean which is beautiful; however, the steps were too much for her to climb

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Seafood.”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a good experience at Hideaway Cafe. We ate outside and it was so relaxing. The food was very good and they had a large selection to chose from. The service was excellent. Our food came quickly and they kept checking on us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScubamomPlusson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't do it!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Seriously. Don't go. My husband and I went there and our sides were a small scoop of mashed potatoes (about the size of a can of dip), 2 small carrots and 2 small pieces of asparagus. I'm not kidding. His hogfish (the special) was swimming (no pun) in the wine sauce and was so bad he couldn't eat it. He told the server this who offered no apology, alternative or taking it off the bill. Go somewhere else. Also, this restaurant is above the office of the Rainbow Bend Hotel, which is just awkward.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2HonestReviewers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Classy at Grassy (key )”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Thiis place is a real find with the perfect name- hideaway . A really upscale menu with fine service. Great choices overall, A wonderful owner ( Robert ), wonderful desserts. Just dont be scared of by the dumpy outside. One day someone will break down and buy some new outdoor carpet for the outside steps !!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hideaway Cafe also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hideaway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing