We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!”
Review of Hideaway Cafe

Hideaway Cafe
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Grassy Key
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
1 review
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We found some good reviews on this place and decided to check it out. It looks like an absolute hole in the wall joint but was the most amazing meal we had on our stay! The food was fantastic and the wait staff even better. I know some of the reviews we saw said casual, but it was nicer than that (would not recommend flip flops or baseball caps). Most entrees $20-40, but completely worth it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    115
    32
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden gem of the Keys”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Robert was our outstanding waiter who made recommendations of the fresh catch of the day, Hogfish...which was incredible. Perfect sized portions enjoyed while taking in the view of the Atlantic Ocean just before sunset. The restaurant is hidden in back of a motel on the second level. Don't judge the book by it's cover, this place was the perfect spot for a 40th Anniversary Dinner, check it out!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kohlster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Don't let the location fool you. It nearly did, for us.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This great restaurant is hidden in the back of what looks like a very low-rent motel, if you look at it from the road at night. It's up a flight of outdoor stairs and faces the ocean. Inside, it's tremendous. The owner is a wonderful guy that is full of great suggestions. The food is excellent, and the wine list is a big surprise and very fairly priced. If you're staying at Hawks Cay, forget the crappy restaurant there and eat here, instead. If there's anything to complain about, it's that the portions are almost too generous.

And for sure, sit at one of the tables on the porch, overlooking the beach.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pennsyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Key, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The hidden gem in the mid Keys”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Excellent, excellent, excellent. Plan on spending over an hour and feast on this superb food. Wine selection is great and take Robert's advise on everything. Have never had anything other than the best at the Hideaway.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The only white tablecloths in the Keys”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We went early for the prix fix menu and were not disappointed. We were 5 people and the food was devine. I had the Shrimp bisque to start - 5 star. Lots of pieces of shrimp, and creamy smooth. We all had the Caeser salad - ice cold plates and silverware and perfectly seasoned.

My main course was the fish francaese and there was enough for two people. My nephew had the duck which he pronounced "outstanding"; my husband had the lamb which he pronounced "outstanding".

We all shared a hot chocolate lava cake and a cheesecake and rolled down the stairs to our car.

If I had to have a negative, it was that the service was exceptionally fast - didn't really dine - we ate.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hideaway Cafe also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hideaway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing