We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best value in the middle keys”
Review of Hideaway Cafe

Hideaway Cafe
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Grassy Key
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
FL Keys
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best value in the middle keys”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Always excellent, The Hideaway does easy, casual classic without strain. Robert will look after you from appetizers to dessert. Ask and he will give honest reports from patrons. The perfect medium rare rack of lamb was accompanied by a small and perfectly executed trio of mashed potatoes, carrots and green beans (sounds ordinary, but done very well). The signature dish is duck, and if you're there for the first time you can't go wrong. There is a good selection of seafood (it's in the Keys, after all) and steaks for the hungry carnivores. Our waiter first brought us a small loaf of garlic bread and a dish of tapenade before we ordered - we could have stopped there. Ask Robert and he will not steer you wrong - we have been to every restaurant in the Middle Keys and we recommend The Hideaway for a comfortable and enjoyable dining experience that is a value.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcbbill09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    115
    32
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“cozy and beautiful”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

simply a cozy and beautiful cafe situated on the oceanside of the middle keys.....food is wonderful....staff is exceptional....dining area is small, but not too crowded....
super deal on early bird, if you want to avoid all the tourists

i highly recommend this eatery

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrporker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great setting”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went for Thanksgiving.
Awesome, whole turkey and all the goodies. Lot's of left overs.
Easy way to do Thanksgiving.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank FLBluerunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Little gem!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place is amazing. Robert, the host, treats everyone like a long-lost member of the family. Really, he's the reason I keep going back every time I'm in the area. The ambiance is fantastic and diners are never rushed. Yes, the dining area is may be old but after all, we're in the Keys! Everything is clean, the food is well-prepared, the presentation is fabulous, the service is impeccable, and diners are made to feel special. Could you ask more in a restaurant? I certainly can't! I love The HIdeaway Cafe!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bummynie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“5* dining right in the middle keys.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

food was EXCELLENT.. service divine.. do NOT miss this Gem . will return for dinner EVERYTIME. in middle keys. again casual elegance. f

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JulietMarkham_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hideaway Cafe also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hideaway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing