We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and Nature Contact”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxation and Nature Contact”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I traveled with my girlfriend and stayed from Dec 27 to January 1st, the hotel is great. Staff is really friendly. We took a bus from the airport to Playa del Carmen and then a taxi to the hotel, much more cheaper. The hotel has a very nice zoo which we enjoyed a lot, specially petting a kangaroo!

There is no beach , you have to take a shuttle from the lobby or walk 10-15 min to get to a beautiful one. It is a quiet hotel so don't expect a big party at night, if you want to you can take a cab to Playa del Carmen in 15-20 min. The rooms are great, specially the Jacuzzi after a long day. The hotel is close to all the main attractions( Xcaret, Xplor )

There are still some " difficulties " experienced with management/reception but overall its a great value.

Room Tip: Choose a Palapa, and something close either to the lobby or the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agustinqf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    711
    366
    221
    250
See reviews for
973
872
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at Bel Air in December and we have to admit we were getting anxious and worried reading these reviews on the way to the hotel, even considering rebooking. I'm glad we didn't as this was one of the best holidays we've ever had.

We were after a small, quiet resort in nature where we could relax and spend some active time out and about. If you are looking for a busy big resort with loud music and constant animation whilst chugging daiquiris from a giant thermos keg, this place isn't for you. For us, this was paradise.

Upon arrival the staff were wonderful, big thanks to Aldo and Rosa for all their help! We opted for the deluxe room with a terrace and jacuzzi, it was simply divine and very clean. The wifi worked perfectly at all times and we received a little cake each afternoon which was nice. The whole resort is pretty much set in the jungle and a bit disconnected but again-this is what we were after.

The resort is also an animal park/zoo and we absolutely loved that. We really felt like we reconnected with nature, it was very special to be around animals at all times. They are looked after very well and a lot of them are rescued animals which is why they are in captivity. The Bel Air park is doing a good job looking after them all.

There are three cenotes in the resort one of them is huge and home to a wild manatee family. We kayaked on it many times (it's free) and seeing the manatees so closely was one of the most amazing experiences of our lives, magical! At the cenote you can get a free glass of bubbly every evening during the sunset which is not bad either!

There is a coral beach at the resort but it isn't swimmable. We walked over (few minutes) to the long white-sand Barcelo beach every day however the hotel provides shuttles to another private beach of theirs as well. We didn't find this a problem at all. The pools are nice and clean as well, quite basic but that was enough for us.

The food is good, the a la carte menu is decent as it's the breakfast and buffet dinner. Again-if you're looking to go crazy on all-inclusive food and drink this isn't for you. The sushi place is nice as well. We stayed on a bed&breakfast basis and our bill was pretty small at the end of our stay. Breakfast starts at 8 and goes til 12:30.
* I would advise the hotel management to offer a few more 'European' breakfast options and perhaps serve more of the Mexican food at dinner time-it was so delicious but perhaps a bit strange for those who aren't used to it :)

There's a bus stop for Playa del Carmen right outside the hotel if you fancy a trip out and the reception staff are very helpful should you want to organise an excursion. You can also hire bikes for free.

We will definitely be back to Xpu Ha, we loved the wild feel of this place, the gorgeous night skies, the odd wild racoon and coati sighting, parrots flying around...We felt at peace and totally rejuvenated on the way home.

ps: this vacation was also an absolute bargain

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Maya808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great Staff very helpful in every way! Rose & Rickardo are truly a great asset to the Bel Air Collections. Food was very good and service was very good every where we went on the complex. Enjoyed the Jungle environment, Will return again QUIDOS for a job well done Bel Air.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the entire complex!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Pros:
The jacuzzi

Cons:
I had no idea they had a small zoo when I booked. They keep their animals in tiny concrete cages, sometimes directly under the sun! There so many other ways to see wild animals in their own habitat, no need to make them suffer in captivity!

Even if you don't care about animals you should still look for another place and here's why: the power generator was really loud and needed earplugs to sleep!
The food was really bad, why can't they offer real Mexican food is beyond me! Also the restaurant was always smelly and filled with smoke!
There's no beach, so you will need to take a painfully long bus ride or drive around all the time (remember you don't want to eat here).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Saratraverz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our family decided to take our first vacation together and chose to spend the New Year in Mexico. There were 11 persons in our group with ages ranging from 5 to 70 years old. This resort seemed to offer alittle something for everyone. A zoo, gourmet dining, and luxurious rooms. We booked our stay in March and traveled from Michigan, Indiana, Ohio and California. We reviewed tripadvisor and found mixed reports but most dated back to early 2013. The price was a good value for us. We booked 5 rooms and all arrived from various states to find:
Pros
A tropical paradise location as described
An on site zoo with many animals and beautiful plants and flowers
A private beach access point (only a short ride to a real sand covered beach)
Wonderful all you can eat daily buffet
Friendly staffpersons
Beautifully designed accommodations
Close access to attractions
Cons
Wrong or missing bedding for our entire stay (queen duvet on a king bed and no top sheet)
No telephones in some of our rooms for the entire 7 day stay
No wash cloths for the first 4 days of our stay
Some guests were required to pay food costs for double occupancy of $120.00 per day while being told it would cost $80 per day
Room charges for services where we paid the staff in cash
Televisions with no remote controls for our entire stay
No hot water for the luxurious oversized jacuzzis
Rooms where the flooring requires deep professional scrubbing
Our room was missing a lock upon arrival and required an hour of our stay for maintenance to locate one on another room.
No shuttle service (cab cost from airport is $120.00 usd each way)
A broken ATM that was never serviced during our 7 day stay ($42.00 usd to nearest city with a bank or ATM)
No generator (we experienced a power outrage on New Years Eve and were locked out of our rooms in a jungle without lights with no telephone to call for help)
No wifi in our room, restaurant, nor anywhere else but the lobby
A Management staff who was unable or unwilling to address any of the above problems either with a complimentary or compensatory adjustment
Animals that appeared underfed and neglected
Odors of mildew in our room and sewage
No access to call anyone for room service, or any service or even room to room for help (no telephone)
Finally, it is important to note that since the travel club who this resort participates with acts merely as a referral source, we had no options to move to another location. We paid our money in advance and possibly would have to seek other accommodations in Cancun at 2 to 3 x the cost due to the holiday. The area has absolutely no services in the immediate area because developers have taken over every single bit of land for all inclusive resorts. The closest towns of Playa Del Carmen or Talum are a hefty cab fare of $40 usd to access banks, stores, etc. I've vacationed to Cancun and Puerto Vallarta but never experienced such disregard for customer satisfaction by Management. We knew we were going to experience conditions that are typical to jungle like conditions like mosquitoes but when the hotel describes accommodations as gourmet and luxurious, it should include the basics. Belair needs to crank up it's quality control and give people what is represented on the website. While to weekly rate was too good to be true, Belair made it up in food rates, double tipping, (I forgot to mention that the propina (tip) on your food receipt says not included when it really is part of the all inclusive rate according to the Manager), and duplicate charges. Once there, they've got your money and your stuck without enough money or time to adjust and find other accomodatations. Overall this trip comes in around the same price as any other all inclusive trip to Cancun. The food was delicious but not exactly gourmet. We had lots of stews and fish for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The menu of steam table items felt more like a Mexican style Golden Corral. This place has such potential but the competition is strong in this region and substandard management places Belair Collection Xpu Ha in jeopardy of becoming the next Mayan Ruin!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Momwheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prince albert
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We arrived on saturday jan 04/2014 today is tuesday jan 07/2014 check out on jan11/2014.Am typing this review from our beautiful,huge balcony in the jungle,wifi has wored perfect for us in room and on balcony.Note,do not login to the belair page as says in on the paper you will receive from hotel desk on arrival!It will say wifi room belair/ xpuha.ignore this its wrong! Type belair in top space nothing else then xpuha in second space as password u will have no problem,or shouldnt if you are room715:) this is where we are and have had great wifi service even in a rain downpour! Our room has been kept spotlessly clean by maids,fresh towels everyday,and sheets changed everyday which i havent seen at most resorts. Seems silly to me to put clean bedding everyday,certainly not needed or expected but they have been doing this for us,i know because i we hAve came back to our room everyday when maid was here and have seen with my own eyes.Have had a jacuzzi bath every nite,hot water everytime,no problem! we have walked to the restaurants,pool and beach average walk time7 mins from our room in building 7.Lobby and lobby bar are closer about a 4 minute walk.Have walked Round all the resort and do not understand why or how people are complaining thAt the walk to and from their buildings is a long walk. Last nite was raining when we wanted to go for supper,called 0 thats front desk asked for cart to pick us up he radioed the bellboy while i waited on the phone said bellboy would be at our building in 15 minutes. We walked outside in 15 minutes and he was driving down the path to pick us up,so,no problems there . We opted to walk back from supper as the rain had quit. A cart was driving by heading in same direction as us and politely asked if we wanted a ride . We said no thank you we were walking off pur delicious supper! When we first arrived on saturday lunch and suuper were buffet fish,pork on,beef in sauces,rice, mexican dishes were the choices. We liked what we ate and were full. Yesterday and today bfast,lunch are al la carte, we had steak for lunch and chicken with mozza cheese,green peppers and onions stuffed inside with spaghetti and alfredo sauce,had fries with the steak. Also the mexican beef tips are so yummmmmy!bfast can be a bit slower to get your food lunch and supper much quicker. We do not drink alcohol no comment there sorry. Previous reviews claim hard to get wAter im a huge water drinker plus brush teeth with bottled water,and we bring our own coffee grinds and make coffee in our room in the am's. We asked mI for extra water bottles on first day and when we go for bfast,lunch and supper tKe any empty bottles with us And the bartender happily refills them for us from a big jug or purified wAter.even ask if we want ice,which the ice is made from purifeid water .they put the ice in a pitcher then the water from big jug then fill my bottles! So,really a little common sense,for past reviewers you wouldnt have had issues with getting water!come on!Im going through a minimum of 3 -4 litres a day and have not a issue yet! My hubby drinks pepsi at home from cans,he is pleased the miads have canned pepsi for him! We just tell them no beer,no7up,no orange pop just mucho pepsi and voila,he has 4-6 cans of pepsi,we do tip the miads 1-2$ a day,and the waiters a dollar at every meal,we do so because we have received excellent service and service with happy faces and positive attitudes:).Mini fridge works great, as well as air conditioning.Snack bar at pool,hamburgers are ok not the best and not the worst we have had,fries were cold when we received our orders but had they been hot they wouldve tasty great!beach at resort is as past reviews say but we knew this and was not a surprise to us. The beach the resort shuttles you to is the same beach catalonia royal tulum is on. We have stayed at the catalonia many times and recognized the private restaurant in the pictures of the beach when researching the bel air resort! I was so excited that the beAch bel air shuttles you to was same beAch as catalonia royal tulum because it is BEAUTIFUL!!!!sugar white sand,aqua clear warm water,and can wAlk for at least a mile to your left or right! Bel air has about 20-25 beach beds all with palypas and a little table to set your refresment on. Coke and ice water for us here lol,sorry no comment on the alcohol refreshments as we are non drinkers! Ok,heres a money savin tip for anyone interested in a massage. Hotel charges 120$ american for a 1 hour massage,pricey considering T home i pay60$ for a1 hour ,assage! Dont get me wrong,im aware im not back in canada,but really!?!?! Come on! I dont think or believe the massage therapists in mexico are any more trained than the ones back home in Canada!seems like a big money grab to us! Sooooo,if you want a massage and dont want to walk away feeling ripped off, take the resort shuttle to the beach,right behind the belair beach beds to your right is a spa set up,has aroof and lime green curtains surrounding it they close if it starts to rain or if wind picks up. We had a couples massage for 1 hour each and OMG they were awesome,relaxing massages and we paid 500 pesos or 45$american per person! is what they advertise for price. We have alot of pesos so we opted to pay in pesos. They did ask if we wanted lots of pressure we said yes as we enjoy deep massages!wow excellent massages we both received! We knew anout this massage hut from our previous trips to the catalonia royal and had gotten massages here then as well as spa at catalonia massages were over priced as well! Bel air does bring,fries,tortilla chips,salsa,liquid cheese etc to beach for snacks all will get cool because there is no warming trays. If you want a yummy hot meal and not afraid to spend a bit of cash do try the restaurant to the left they have amazing food and reasonably priced. Or walk further left from bel airs beach beds ,past the catalonia royal tulum,that will be the first resort you come to not far at all,keep walkin and you will arrive at el cielo hotel,small hotel with amazing rooms and food right on the beach! So far we are pleased with the service,room and food Nd the beach bel air shuttles you to . Here until saturday,and will be happy to go back home to saskatchewan canada,to our family and friends but def not to the COLD and snow,was -40to -50 temps back home while we have been here and thats what we left behind,has been like that back home since beginning of december!being here has been a fantastic breK from those temps and not looking forward to going back to them!hopefully it will warm up a bit at home for when we get back! I do recommend this resort,as we has not had a negative experience here yet,on our 4th day! Time to go enjoy the rest of my vacay:) had to type this review as past reviews annoyed and surprised me! Enjoy if you do choose this resort,we certainly are:)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank beach a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I just returned from 10 days in the Yucatan and stayed at Bel Air for 5 days and I would not recommend it for the following reasons:

1. IT ISN'T ACTUALLY AN ALL INCLUSIVE! We booked through Kayak.com and were told it was all inclusive for 250$/night. Upon arrival, we were told it was an additional 90$ per person per day. Even after trying to talk with the hotel reception and manager, they would not accommodate us.

2. IT IS ACTUALLY A ZOO! The rooms are very spread out and it requires a lot of walking or waiting for a golf cart to take you to your room. In addition, there are many odors of animals throughout the hotel, which I found unpleasant. The animals are beautiful but are in very small cages and look sad/underfed.

3. THERE IS NO WIFI IN THE ROOMS! They advertise that you can get WIFI in your room, but this isn't the case.

4. MINIMAL HOT WATER: I got ONE warm shower in the 5 days I stayed there and requested on numerous occasions that they attempt to fix this... it was never fixed.

5. It took 3 days to get the TV to work and 5 days to get a phone in the room (only got this because one of us got sick and I demanded it was for safety that we have a phone in case of an emergency).

6. THEY CHARGE 90$/NIGHT FOR EXTRA GUEST! They had the nerve, after all of this, to charge the 3rd person (we were given a room with one king bed) 90$/night extra.

7. RUDE AND UNACCOMMODATING! They work against their guests, not with.

8. NO BEACH ACCESS! You have to get in your car or take their beach shuttle 5 mins down the highway to get the the beach. (once you are there, it is however a nice beach).

SAVE YOUR MONEY AND DON'T WASTE YOUR VACATION HERE!!!

Room Tip: I didn't notice a difference in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank dena b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xpu-Ha
8.9 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
1,949 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,561 reviews
18.7 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
#80 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
12,429 reviews
17.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,947 reviews
2.5 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya

Property: Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 265, Xpu-Ha 77710, Mexico (Formerly Xpu-Ha Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpu-Ha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Xpu-Ha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Xpu-Ha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bel Air Xpu-Ha is the newly open Resort of Bel Air Collection at Riviera Maya. Feel with your family the natural environment, the perfect place to rest and delight yourself. A unique place for a romance experience. Enjoy our facilities surrounded by natural beauty in an eco-paradise. A gourmet experience in each of our restaurants, from Mexican-Italian fusion cuisine to sushi & martini delightful Japanese style, all in a la carte menu selection. Premium brand drinks and appetizing snacks in our Bars at Lobby and pool area. A unique layout of a cozy and peaceful guestrooms in liberate getaway with all the luxury and comfort of a five stars resort, refurbished indoors with jacuzzi and branding amenities; a relaxed exterior and a spacious terrace with hammock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya Hotel Xpuha
Xpu Ha Palace Xpuha
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya Mexico - Xpu-Ha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing