We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
Certificate of Excellence
Mülheim
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not really what I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I would not book this hotel again. They have some kind of an animal park inside the hotel and it's kind of nice to walk around and have a look at the different animals. The beach is just rocks and the staff recommends to walk a couple of hundred meters to get to a nicer part. The pools are nice and it's a great place to hang out. The pool bar is kind of gross. The staff cleans the plastic cups without any soap under running cold water. I'm not an expert but I think they really should have a dishwasher with really hot water to avoid that the people get herpes and diarrhea.
The rooms are great and I honestly have to say that I loved our room. Great wooden deck with hammocks and a Jacuzzi for 2 right behind the bed.
The nicest about the food at the restaurants are the raccoons and the coati that wait for you in front of the restaurant to get some fruits. The breakfast is just bad. They didn't have bread and you had to ask for butter, marmalade, cheese and all kind of other things.
Lunch and dinner we nothing special at all.
All together a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BohemianRhapsody1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    662
    338
    208
    238
See reviews for
872
813
33
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay! If you love animals and/or peace and quiet, you should go. We visted in April 2013.
We enjoyed the animals and the jungle feel of the place. They put on a free animal show almost every day. The veterinarians and trainers are very helpful and friendly. There are raccoons, two cats, and coatis running around that are friendly. We had our pictures taken with a monkey, baby jaquar, and baby lion. They were alot of fun.
As other reviews say, you can't swim at the beach here, but they do shuttle you to a very nice beach and set up a bar there. We had a blast there!
The rooms were nice. There are no beach front bungalows, it is all surrounded by trees. It feels like you are staying in a tree house if you stay on the second floor.
There is a language barrier in the restaurant. If you ask for something and they don't bring it, it is because they don't understand. At night they have a few waiters that speak English well. I wish they had a breakfast bar in the morning, but there were not enough people there for it to make sense.
The bar staff are all very nice and the service is excellent. Marco, Manuel, and Jose work at the pool bar. Jose makes a great "Dirty Monkey". Johnny and Ceaser do the entertainment. They are great, there were just not enough people there to do alot of the activities.
The place is spreadout, but definately walkable. Tony will shuttle you where ever you want to go on a golf cart. Just tell him when to pick you up and he will be there. if you are not ready he will come back.
The only suggestions I have for the place is that they need to advertise the animal show more, and as they get busier add another restaurant. We would definately go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Numerous trips to this resort under Palace management we were very pleased and anxious to return to see what new management had to offer. I regret to say that we were disappointed in many aspects. The staff members outside of the front desk were good. The front desk offered no support with issues such as phone not working, hole in roof, and no change for tips. Food was average at best with only one restaurant available to us. There was a martini and sushi bar that can't be recommended for either. When we went there many times under the ownership of Palace we were pleased with the upkeep, however it doesn't take long to see that upkeep is not a priority..... We read many reviews before we ventured outside of the Palace so if you are going with those expectations stay home. Please note no ENGLISH is understood.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank rlf1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coachella, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We just came back from staying in this hotel and at first I was a little nervous because all the bad reviews I read online. When we got there Gina greeted us and she was wonderful and very helpful. The resort is really nice very jungle like. The food was good but not great everyone is extra nice we did not have any issues with anyone. The only thing is I wished they had more night activities for the younger crowd.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erikahdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked this resort through a Groupon Getaway deal. We did not know exactly what to expect, but what we got far exceeded what we hoped for. Currently I would say that this is a "baby" resort. They recently purchased the property from Palace Resorts who owned it when it was destroyed by the 2006 or 2007 hurricane that devastated the area. They are slowly restoring it back to its former glory. The staff was wonderful. The pool was great, complete with Jose at the bar and Caesar providing hokey but fun entertainment. The one drawback was the beach. The best beach on the property is on the other side of the most destroyed (and therefore inaccessible) area. At this time they are providing a shuttle service to a nearby public beach where they have setup a bar and some nice thatch umbrellas. There are no solicitors on this beach, so it's a nice quiet place to relax. In addition to running a resort they also run an animal park where they care for and rehabilitate abandoned and abused wild animals that were kept as pets.

Overall the quality of the food in the main restaurant was quite good. It was a mix of Mexican and Italian fare. The breakfasts and lunches had my favorite dishes, but the dinners were pretty good too. The desserts could have been better. The sushi in the Japanese restaurant, however, left a lot to be desired.

This was the best vacation that my wife and I have ever had. The staff is super friendly and helpful, and they made this experience even better. Will we be back? You better believe it!!! We can't wait to see the improvements that they make as they continue rebuild.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank errhead73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you're reading the reviews you get a pretty good picture of this resort. If you're looking for a 5 star "four seasons" resort, this isn't the place for you. And yes, the beach connected to the resort is unswimmAble. But if you can roll with a few irregularities, this is a place trying to recreate itself, and the staff has heart and tries really hard. The food is good, not great, but plenty good enough. The place is awesome. If you like animals, this is the place for you. A daily animal show augments the zoo-like amenities. Mammals from Africa and Sourh America are there for you to touch. The beach and grounds are beautiful. A georgious beach is a short walk or shuttle ride away. Tulum and Playa de Carmen Are a short distance away. And I'll say again, the staff fell over themselves to make our trip enjoyable. DO THE ROMANCE PACKAGE. A shoulder massage and aroma therapy upon arrival in THE way to start a vacation. Follow that with an additional 2 hours in their spa, and I have been spoiled to a new level. On site cenotes and a romantic dinner in the wild round out the experience. We couldn't be happier and will be going back again next year. The perfect resort for the snooty? Nope. But for regular people looking for a slice of pAradise, this is an excellent option. Thanks Gilberto for arranging our stay!

Room Tip: The top floor villas seem like a better choice, but the bottom floor units are exactly the same and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDBLeola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We found the staff very friendly and helpful and the resort itself was great as we were on our honeymoon and looking for a cozy non-commercialized resort that still had the amenities and extra that we were looking for. The resort helped to make our honeymoon extra special and gave us a lifetime of great memories to share with all our friends and relatives!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xpu-Ha
17.4 mi away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#72 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,560 reviews
18.7 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
2.5 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,169 reviews
18.6 mi away
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
#76 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya

Property: Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 265, Xpu-Ha 77710, Mexico (Formerly Xpu-Ha Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpu-Ha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Xpu-Ha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Xpu-Ha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bel Air Xpu-Ha is the newly open Resort of Bel Air Collection at Riviera Maya. Feel with your family the natural environment, the perfect place to rest and delight yourself. A unique place for a romance experience. Enjoy our facilities surrounded by natural beauty in an eco-paradise. A gourmet experience in each of our restaurants, from Mexican-Italian fusion cuisine to sushi & martini delightful Japanese style, all in a la carte menu selection. Premium brand drinks and appetizing snacks in our Bars at Lobby and pool area. A unique layout of a cozy and peaceful guestrooms in liberate getaway with all the luxury and comfort of a five stars resort, refurbished indoors with jacuzzi and branding amenities; a relaxed exterior and a spacious terrace with hammock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya Hotel Xpuha
Xpu Ha Palace Xpuha
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya Mexico - Xpu-Ha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing