We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Tulum
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The hotel was small only six blocks . great location on a superb beach . Built into the rainforest . The staff were all efficient and friendly.
The Rooms Large rooms, huge bed . Good shower . safe ,Fridge with beer and soft drinks and bottled water . coffee maker . TV with a good range of channels .
FOOD . Very good from the buffet to the al a carte . In all the restaurants you had to wait to be seated . Which seemed to work very well we never had to wait long . Our favourite was the steakhouse .
Drinks. Good beer and shorts . I don't like the draught mixers so took out the cans from the room fridge and used them .
Pool No swim up bar but the ladies kept you well supplied during the day.
Beach Great beach nice walks either way. Not a lot of shades but plenty of room. At the back of the beach is a smoothy bar for a healthy alternative to alcohol .
Entertainment . Low key there if you want it . At night the shows were good. After the show it went too quiet every one seemed to go to bed and the disco was almost deserted most nights just us playing pool and a DJ and barman .
Round up .We would visit again.It is more of a chill out holiday with good food . If you want wild nightlife its not for you.alot of critters and iguanas roaming around . the clientele was a mix of Italians .Canadians ,Americans ,British and Gay couples .Every one was treated the same no discrimination either nationality or orientation .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank keithliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,307 - 2,313 of 7,501 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

Still an awesome place - it is quiet, secluded and has the best beach! Lots of places for sun and shade, adults only so no kids - YAY! wish we could get that on the airplanes as well! The staff are awesome and the food is great. The rooms are looking a bit old but are comfortable and we don't spend much time in them so not a concern to us. Try the lobster feast - it costs extra but is well worth it! December was busy - mostly Italians and the entertainment crew was mostly Italian so a bit of a language issue for English speaking guests with the entertainment group. No problems with English with the staff though. I would highly recommend this place if you want a quiet relaxing vacation - while it has a disco and entertainment, it is not a party place. Ages vary so its a good mix. Too bad there were so many smokers stinking up the beach and pool area. But the staff were great with dealing with the litter generated by the smokers so the area was always clean.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room in either building 5 or 6 - closest to the beach and farthest from the Disco. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Just returned from our 2nd stay @CRT and I'm still amazed. I will say however that the maid service wasnt as fantastic as the last time and the beach waiters were making themselves scarce which to me is unacceptable, I will put the shoe on the other foot just for a second to say this if I made my living ensuring paradise for travellers then everyday I would go full tilt boogie to ensure that my patrons were overwhelmed with my great service. Now for the great stuff, David who has greeted us both times upon our arrival is absolutely top-notch exceptional and is the main reason we will return because he remebers people and he extends the warmest of welcomes and knows how to immediately set you at ease and get your mind into vacation mode. The concierges Fernando and Anna exceptional as well, all the front desk folks great..a tip here....the bar and bartenders in the lobby area are fun friendly and fantastic...our Hostess Gabriella was amazing , she too remebered us and I consider her and David as friends...and one waiter that we some how managed to keep getting was Jose and he was great too , and the girls in the gift shop. Now , the BEACH is one of the best in the world, the Europeans are some of the nicest and best looking people you'll ever meet, the FOOD is good its resort food, there are some great things but you have to figure those out for your own tastes and your 20min from anything worth doing or seeing in Riviera Maya so whats not to like. We will probably return because we love the place but again , the fact that David is so terrific at making us feel welcome and safe has alot to do with it...thanks David and Merry Christmas CRT

Room Tip: bldg 5-6 are close to beach bldg 1-2 close to lobby, walking here is a treat because its a beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank j0seppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

THE GOOD:

- CLEANLINESS: The hotel grounds and our room were absolutely spotless. I'm pretty sure you could have eaten off the floor (if you felt inclined to do so!)

- ROOM: Big, huge comfy bed! Good air con, safe and massive walk in shower. Water always hot, shower pressure not bad. Hair dryer broken, bring your own just in case! Safety deposit box, minibar stocked daily, turn down service at night when your beach towels are exchanged.

- ADULTS ONLY: Just a personal preference, but we really enjoyed it

- BEACH - gorgeous!! There aren't any hotels nearby, and you can easily walk 10-15 mins either side of the hotel, along the beach, with only a couple of bars/restaurants/apartments along the way.

- LOCATION: We liked that the hotel was within easy reach of Playa del Carmen by taxi, giving us the option to go out at night if we wanted. Tulum, Xel-Ha and Xcaret are also within easy reach by taxi. Hotel reception will arrange taxis for you on request

MOO LA BAR: - Serving natural fruit juices on the beach, fab!

TAPAS BAR - although we didn't discover that we could simply have drinks here until near the end of our holiday, it quickly became our favourite place to drink. Lovely atmosphere and good drinks, the bar man was lovely (sorry can't remember his name) and enjoyed making us various different shots to try out

CHILL OUT AREA: Fab!! A lovely little place by the pool with canopy beds, hammocks and table tennis!

THE AVERAGE:

- FOOD: Afraid that it just wasn't consistent, although I must say that this is the first time I've been to the Carribean and not had a dodgy tum!! We found that the food was always Luke warm, rarely did we get a hot meal. The Italian and Mexican restaurants were the only place that we experienced HOT food. We'd rank the restaurants as 1. Italian 2. Mexican 3. Asian 4. Tapas (we didn't eat at the grill)
The breakfast and lunch buffets were ok, always plenty of choice, but there was always a large queue at the lunch buffet.
The dinner buffet fell flat for us, can't really pin point why, we just felt that the selection wasn't as good and the food was barely hot.

- DRINKS: The alcoholic cocktails at the pool bar were pretty poor, always way to sweet and never really tasting of much

SERVICE: hit or miss I'm afraid, I experienced some good and some bad. I don't expect to be waited on hand and foot, I'm happy to go to the bar and get my own drink, but there were a few occasions where I was completely ignored by staff so they could serve others who arrived after me. Not good service I'm afraid. I suppose the blame can't be attributed to the staff alone, as I encountered more than a few rude guests who don't seem to understand the concept of "waiting your turn" ... And I thought this was an adults only hotel?!?!

THE BAD:

SUNBED RESERVING: Afraid the hotel is rife with sunbed hoggers. Found it difficult getting one by the pool at 7.30am! Doesn't help that some guests are selfish enough to reserve 4 for just the 2 of them!!! I witnessed one couple using one sunbed in the sun, whilst they had also reserved one in the shade. Suppose it's too much hard work just to move your sunbed out into the sun? Really annoying when you see others sharing a sunbed or not being able to find one at all!

ATMOSPHERE AT NIGHT: there isn't any...at all. Lobby bar = dull dull dull. Pool bar = dull dull dull. In bed by 10pm most nights...snore!! Don't want a party but at least some music would be nice.

Tip: TAKE MOSQUITO REPELLANT - the hotel is surrounded by trees and water, prefect place to get bitten!

Overall not a bad experience. We tend not to visit the same place twice but would probably recommend the hotel for its location, cleanliness and beach. Don't be put off by the food, it was ok but we just weren't blown away, but we don't really expect much from all inclusive hotels anyway. Happy to answer any questions :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank nursey14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed at the Catalonia Royal Tulum after a tour around the Yucatan peninsular. From the welcoming drink at check in the whole stay was extremely relaxing. It was our first experience at an all inclusive resort and it was great being able to go to the pool and beach without worrying about our wallets, We loved the winding path through the jungle from reception to our room and the pool and beach. It was particularly nice not having to make reservations for dinner, we just wandered around and stopped wherever we fancied that night and never had to wait for a table.

The room was clean and comfortable but room service took about half an hour to arrive and was consequently not very hot when it arrived. Also it would have been nice to have a lift available. Otherwise an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suki49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We went over the Thanksgiving holidays and needless to say we have a great time. The staff was wonderful like always. I've never had an issues with the room or restaurants. The beach was a little more crowded than what we are custom to seeing there but we were able to find a comfortable spot. Overall you can't go wrong with this resort.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Araceli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Context: We are in our mid-30s and travel to the Caribbean, usually to Riviera Maya, once or twice per year. We do not have kids and prefer to stay at adult-only resorts (or at least in an adult-only section). We tend to split our time half on the beach, half by the pool. We enjoy good food but we are not serious foodies. Features important to us include decent liquor, respectable gym facilities, and fitness classes (Zumba, yoga, etc.). We have vacationed previously at Breezes Curacao, Catalonia Riviera Maya, Catalonia Royal Tulum, Great Parnassus, Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay and Ocean Coral & Turquesa.

We have stayed at Catalonia Royal Tulum twice – first in October 2009 and then in April 2011. This review will cover both of our visits.

Room: We stayed in basic rooms on both visits and they were fine, but not spectacular. All rooms at Catalonia Royal Tulum face the interior of the resort. They have nice, large balconies which overlook the “jungle” walkway that brings you from the lobby and restaurants at the front of the resort to the pool and beach at the back. You will see and hear lots of interesting birds. The bed is comfortable, the room was cleaned well every day, and the fridge was stocked with sodas, beer and water.

Food: We liked not having to make reservations and not having to go to a buffet for dinner – a big plus for us. We enjoyed most of the food here, especially at the Mexican restaurant for dinner (they have an outstanding, very hot habanera salsa). The buffet off the lobby was good for breakfast – fairly typical of AI resorts. The buffet closer to the beach was good for lunch – very convenient to the beach and the pool. The snack bar just off the pool was excellent – great pizzas, burgers, fries, hot dogs, etc. They also had a snack menu that you can order off of. The tapas restaurant was interesting, but didn’t blow us away – it has great atmosphere but be sure to bring strong bug repellent. We felt a bit disappointed by the steakhouse and the Italian restaurant was OK.

Drinks: Drinks were generally very good. They make very good Cheladas (Presidente on tap) and margaritas. Brand name liquor (Bacardi, Malibu, etc.) is available but you have to ask for it. Their good tequila is Sauza Hornitos, which my wife and I both enjoy.

Beach: The beach is beautiful. Very few towel games. We never had trouble finding two seats together – one in the sun and one in the shade. Snorkeling in front of the resort is pretty good. Drink service on the beach is minimal if not non-existent.

Pool: The main pool is very pretty and relatively quiet, not drowning in blaring music or loud games. There is no swim-up bar, but there is a bar nearby. There are some very cool Jacuzzi tubs under a pergola, they are not hot but they are warmer than the pool water. There is no shade in the pool, but shade is readily available in the chairs around the pool. Again, we never had trouble finding one chair in the sun and one in the shade. There are also some low key but fun entertainment games (like bingo). Also nearby the pool is the “chill area”, which is a great place to get some sun or read your book in the afternoon, or enjoy a pre- or post-dinner drink in the evening.

Grounds: The grounds of the resort are very pretty but not mind blowing. They are tropical and traditional, not ultra-modern. The resort is connected front to back by a main pathway through the center of the resort, which is densely covered with jungle foliage. Small hidden speakers play soft music throughout. It only takes a few minutes to walk the entire pathway (from the lobby to the beach), which is lined on both sides with the buildings containing all of the guest rooms. Along the way you will cross bridges over lagoons and a cenote. You will see coati, birds, and many iguanas.

Fitness: There is a very small, very minimal gym just off the spa, near the pool. There were no yoga or zumba classes when we visited.

Entertainment: The shows did not leave a big impression, although we tended to catch the show in the theater every night after dinner. The theater itself is nice. There was no problem with the shows, they are just fairly standard AI fare. The theater is very close to the cenote so be sure to wear strong bug spray.

Staff: The bartenders at the pool bar and the servers providing drink service around the pool did a good job keeping us topped off. Unfortunately, the drinks sometimes were made with rail liquor despite specifically requesting otherwise.

Summary: We really like the CRT and feel it is a very good value. We have stayed at one of their other resorts, the Catalonia Riviera Maya, and feel that this was a very, very big step up. We also enjoyed the adult-only atmosphere as this was our first AO resort. For the right price, we would consider going back to this resort. There are certainly nicer resorts, but you get a lot at the CRT for a relatively small price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xpu-Ha
7.1 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
2.7 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Esencia
Hotel Esencia
#1 of 4 in Xpu-Ha
285 reviews
2.8 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9,441 reviews
1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Royal Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Tulum

Address: Carretera Cancun Chetumal Km. 264.5, Xpu-Ha 77790, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpu-Ha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Xpu-Ha
#2 Spa Hotel in Xpu-Ha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Xpu-Ha
Price Range: $274 - $648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Royal Tulum 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only all-inclusive resort, located in Xpu-Ha, Riviera Maya, on the Caribbean coastline. It is surrounded by native jungle trees, local plants, mangroves and cenotes - water springs where a diverse variety of flora and fauna can be found in an unspoiled habitat. It is just 25km from Playa del Carmen and Tulum's archaeological site, and 85 km south of Cancun International airport, in Quintana Roo State, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Catalonia Royal Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Tulum Xpuha
Riviera Maya Copacabana
Copacabana Riviera Maya
Catalonia Royal Tulum Riviera Maya, Mexico - Xpu-Ha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing