We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, even better location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Tulum
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
HOUSTON
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place, even better location”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had a great time at CRT. The weather was not very friendly, as we had a tropical storm near us, so there was rain and clouds most of the days. That didn't deter us. The location is incredible, not much competition from the other hotels as there are only a few in the cove.
The beach is great. We were lucky enough to be there while the baby turtles were hatching, Really a wonderful experience to see. The hotel can set you up with the biologist Guillermo. They will arrange a dinner a chance to hear Guillermo and then go and release some turtles into the sea. Ask for Monica, in the animations dept, she is a great help, and can get you whatever you need. Always with a smile and a great attitude.
We went to the CRT not knowing what to expect regarding the food. Some styles were better than others. I account that mostly to taste. We are all accustomed to something different. But I know that they are more than willing to try to make something that you will want. The chefs have made me something for lunch that I just asked them to Fernando Espinoso, he will take care of you like you were a special guest in his home. All of the people were very helpful.
Worth the money, a great time. Looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the middle of the property, bldg. 3000. Halfway between everything. Ask for the 3rd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MILTON L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,296
    1,927
    519
    164
    77
See reviews for
539
5,297
75
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (986)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I am 28, British, well travelled and was honeymooning in CRT. We are not foodies when we it comes to all inclusive as we are aware they have to cater to many tastes.
Before travelling to CRT we read many reviews and were aware that on arrival we would be allocated a wrist band. The idea this is for language is ridiculous as I spoke to two English guests wearing blue wrist bands. We spoke to further English guests wearing green bands and we were wearing clear regardless of wristbands if you are polite and courteous you will receive excellent service.
Anyway on arrival we were welcomed by a cool towel and cocktail, we were a given our keys with a map of the hotel and grounds and asked simply if we wanted to upgrade... No hard sell just a question.
When entering the room building there is a notice board that specifies which restaurant is closed on which night and what entertainment is on and at what time. The day time activities are open to all and I feel that the perceived hostility towards non Italians is just imagined as were asked if we wanted to join in everyday, we even won at bingo. Although the activities were plentiful they were all focused outside, in the event of rain there was absolutely nothing to do in the hotel other than play pool.
The room we arrived to had a sash with congratulations on, a bottle of prosecco and a fruit basket, towel art and an immaculate room. Which was everyday. The housekeeping staff were excellent and our fridge well stocked.
The hotel is very pretty and the grounds are are sympathetic to its climate. The beach is beautiful the water crystal clear. The rubbish in front of the resort from its guests and the empty glasses from the night before I'm sorry are not. If this hotel were five star the beach and it's surrounding area would be immaculate. The pool area was very nice we would get up at seven and be there by eight and still have the pick of where to sit.
The food on the whole was good. There were some excellent dishes some terrible dishes and some good. The worst was the buffet. For service the snack bar at lunch time. Each a la carte had some yummy dishes. The martini bar at the tapas did amazing cocktails a different menu to every other bar. My main issue with the food was that it was never hot always warm or tepid!! Room service was Ok to good, a little Spanish will help. However I have never been to an all inclusive where there are no snacks!
The drinks were good, I did not find them watered down and the non alcoholic drinks we fancied they would be happy to add alcohol of choice.
On the whole great resort, four stars as the bits that were excellent really were, however little niggles that could be fixed steal a star away for us.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

on first impressions the hotel was lovely, lovely staff and reception greeted us with a non alcoholic cocktail.
the room on the other hand was another matter. as you can see the hotel is surrounded by forrest so you need to take this into account when booking especially if in the rainy season. when we got to the room before we even opened our room door the smell was very powerful of damp and it felt damp, it had rained and rained everyday of our 7 day stay. Our room was on the ground floor even though we had requested a higher level room. They provided us with a de humidifier which helped with the damp and we had to empty daily. we decided to upgrade and looked at a room on the 2nd floor but that still had a damp smell plus wasn't much different to the room we already had so didn't feel it was worth paying for the upgrade.
we stuck with our room but kept the curtains closed as the view was dark and dingy all the trees.....
the pool and beach were beautiful and exotic no complaints here. there was a smoothie bar on the beach which was great and ideal for a morning snack or if you had missed breakfast.
the bar for drinks was round the pool by the beach but there was waitress service but it did take a while for them to return with the drinks, not a lot of staff.
the restaurants were good especially the steak which was our favourite, but bare in mind that if you are picking nights for each restaurant that they take it in turns to close one night a week and the tapas bar shuts if its raining. the thai restaurant was very small so expect to queue for this if you are not there for 7.
we enjoyed the hotel and it was worth what we paid

Room Tip: try to get a high floor room for views and damp. mosquitoes are rife
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackieclare86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here for a week in May 2013. Unfortunately the weather was very wet and humid (thanks to Tropical Storm Andrea). There was only one day that we had to leave the pool for lightning / thunder, but for most of the week, it didn’t really bother us too much.

The best part of this resort was the abundance of wildlife on the grounds. Plenty of iguanas, a few geckos here and there, and all the coatis you could ever ask for! There is also a resort cat that tends to be seen in the evening on its specific bench.

At the restaurants, no reservations, and no dress code for men, yahoo!

Drinks were wonderful and plentiful. I highly recommend a blue margarita… YUM!

Lunch can be fairly busy as there is only 1 restaurant (buffet) is open, as well as the small snack bar by the pool.

The pool was lovely, the beach was lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed the different lounging areas by the hot tub area.

The walk to the beach / restaurant every day was longer than I prefer, but it was great to get to look for coatis every day. We also saw some sort of guinea pig type animal, but we only spotted it once.

A wonderful resort, no complaints, would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimnxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Unlike 'glad to leave' we had a wonderful relaxing stay. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Yes the beach is quite small if you're wanting to have beach chairs under the trees but if you were to venture beyond you would find miles of secluded areas. The residential area was very well planned out with little impact on its environment so you weren't left with a large complex feeling.
Definitely would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sal c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I will first start by saying that I have been traveling to Mexico resorts since I was a teen (age 44 now) and have traveled with my husband at least 8 or 9 times since we have been married. We have always stayed at 4 to 5 star all-inclusive resorts and my husband and I have mostly stayed at “adult only” resorts. When we travel we like to relax and not do a lot of excursions and research a place very thoroughly with reading of reviews etc. My husband and I are not what you call “Foodies” and have always had a realistic expectation as far as food goes at all-inclusive resorts.
I will say, for the first time in all my years of going to Mexico, I was really glad to leave this hotel. (We just left today). I am very shocked at the great reviews given on many of the travel websites. I finally figured out (after looking at the reviews) why so many stellar reviews? Most of the glowing reviews were not given by Americans.
First, as mentioned in previous reviews, this hotel CATERS to all it’s European guests. Especially the Italian guests. I would say that this resort was easily 70-75% Italians. How would I know? When you arrive, you get a wristband that is color coded to your language or nationality. I saw the workers looking at wrist bands just to seek out the Italians or European guests. I find this quiet prejudicial. If you had blue wrist band you were in! (Clear bands were for Americans or English speaking only).
The room: decent. The bed was hard and we had a huge mold stain above our shower. I would expect better from a 4 1/2 star hotel. We had the premium room! Maid service was decent.
The Beach: VERY SMALL! Everyone was packed in like sardines on the beach front. The water was clear, sandy and free of rocks but you had no space! You could drag chairs out (we did) to the sides but that part of the beach was not clear of trash or seaweed. Only the small area in front of the hotel was clean. I really don’t understand the outstanding beach reviews for this hotel. I have reviewed many that were way better!
The Pool: VERY SMALL! I understand this is a smaller resort but the size was ridiculous. The lack of pool side chairs was also ridiculous. We hardly ever got a chair because there would be towels reserved on the chairs with no one in them ALL DAY! At other resorts the hotel staff would remove these towels and not allow such behavior. Also, I have never been to an adult only resort that did not have an in the pool bar.
The Drinks: terrible.
The Food: The worst we have ever had. None of the food was good and you could tell it catered to the European clientele. Most of the food tasted packaged as well. How can you mess up a breakfast buffet? By having things like sandwich meat, raw fish and chicken pate. They did have an omelet bar which always had a line. Not a problem if you’re Italian because you would just cut in front of everyone.
The Staff: Not horrible. If you had a certain color wristband you seemed to get better treatment.
Overall: Would never recommend this hotel. Go to the Secrets Maroma (best beach and food ever!) or the Valentin Imperial Maya. Both amazing adult only resorts!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TSAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent two weeks at the beautiful Catalonia Royal Tulum resort at beginning of September and really like it very much. The rooms were lovely, very quiet, big with a comfortable bed and huge waterfall shower, mini-bar restocked with soft drinks and beer each day, kept cool with efficient air conditioned, beach towel in the room changed each day. The grounds were spectacular as the hotel is set in a jungle with wildlife including iguanas and large family of coatis strolling by the shaded path. The beach was one of the best we have ever seen. It was shaded with trees and palapas, The sea was turquoise, clear with a white sand beach.

The pool was located near the beach, and had large, spacious palapas and chairs surrounding it. The lounger were very confortable with their soft cushions.There was also someone coming around to take drink orders. We never had a problem finding space.

We very much enjoyed the food and drink at this resort. There were so many a la carte restaurants and a royal buffet to choose from and all of them served delicious food. You could have breakfast at the buffet by the lobby, or down by the pool which served continental breakfast only. Lunch was at the buffet La Palapa located by the pool. At night it became the steak house The Royal Grill. On the other side of the pool you could sit down and order pizza and burgers etc. At night for dinner, you had choice of buffet by lobby if you wished, Mexican food by the other side of the lobby. The Italian a la carte, outside of lobby first entrance, shared a space with the buffet and was separated by dividers. The tapas restaurant was near the lobby within the jungle. The Asian a la carte was located near the pool at the beach. The juice bar Maloo, at the beach had fresh smoothies with your choice of fruit.
Activities: darts, aqua gym, stretching in the ocean, bocci ball, beach and pool volleyball, diving lessons, kayaks, snorkel masks, bingo, dance lessons, yoga, a gym, and a spa. The chill out area also had a small library.

The walk to the beach or lobby is very shaded and it makes walking a pleasant task. Wi-Fi is free and very good all over the resort, beach, pool, room etc. For excursions, the collectivos passe on the highway located at 2 minutes walk from the resort. What makes the CRT even greater is the service. It was “hors pair” everywhere in the hotel. They had a great staff always ready to help you with a smile. You could see that the management has achieved a high level of excellence in every way. This hotel has so much to offer and it makes it a great value for your money. We would recommend it to anyone without a doubt. Overall a fantastic holiday !

Room Tip: Block 5, or 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Leonardito C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xpu-Ha
19.7 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,393 reviews
7.1 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
2.8 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Car...
#22 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,525 reviews
18.4 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
21.7 mi away
Ocean Maya Royale
Ocean Maya Royale
#47 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Royal Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Tulum

Property: Catalonia Royal Tulum
Address: Carretera Cancun Chetumal Km. 264.5, Xpu-Ha 77790, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpu-Ha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Xpu-Ha
#2 Spa Hotel in Xpu-Ha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Xpu-Ha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Royal Tulum 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only all-inclusive resort, located in Xpu-Ha, Riviera Maya, on the Caribbean coastline. It is surrounded by native jungle trees, local plants, mangroves and cenotes - water springs where a diverse variety of flora and fauna can be found in an unspoiled habitat. It is just 25km from Playa del Carmen and Tulum's archaeological site, and 85 km south of Cancun International airport, in Quintana Roo State, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalonia Royal Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Tulum Xpuha
Riviera Maya Copacabana
Copacabana Riviera Maya
Catalonia Royal Tulum Riviera Maya, Mexico - Xpu-Ha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing