We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday - fab hotel, food and beach!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Tulum
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights in August and had a great time!! Check in was easy and we given a cocktail on arrival then taken in a buggy to our room.
We stayed in buildng 4 which is right in the middle of everything: buildings 1 & 2 close to reception area and breakfast, buildings 3 & 4 right in the middle and buildings 5 & 6 are at the beach/pool end of the resort. There are 2 places for breakfast but the buffet is definitely the best with everything you can think of to eat. 2 different places for lunch which are great and 7 different places for dinner - our favourites were the buffet and grill place, but the mexican, spanish tapas, italian, pizzeria and asian are also nice.
The lay out of the resort is great and very clean and well maintained. The pool area was great to relax and we were spoilt for choice of sun chairs and space. The beach was kept clean by the hotel and the pure white sand and blue water was heaven!!
The staff around the pool and beach constantly made sure we had drinks and cocktails and were always so nice.
There is also entertainment everyday by the pool and also at night, including markets and shows put on by the hotel. During the day take a kayak and snorkel from the dive centre at the hotel and venture out in the ocean!
We saw on the website that it said all tips were inclusive of the price so as we are not from a tip -custom country we made the decision to not tip whilst at the resort and we were treated no differently to the americans that did tip. We were always served with no delay and with smiles So i would say it is not necessary to tip and that probably saves you about $70 in a week stay.
This is a fantastic all inclusive resort and we would highly recommend it and would love to go back - can't fault anything!!

We decided not to do tours and rented a car as its about 1 hr drive from Cancun airport( parking at the hotel) we then did our own day trips out to Chichen Itza, Akumal to snorkel, Tulum ruins and Xplor park - would recommend to see all of them!

Great part of the Riviera Maya and fantastic hotel!!

Room Tip: I would say buildings 3 or 4 are the best as right in the middle and floors 2 or 3 as a little highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CJS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,509 - 2,515 of 7,714 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

The resort was flawlessly beautiful. According to the pro-dive Mexico centre (which is highly recommended for day trips!) the resort was only 70% occupancy when we were there, so it was wonderfully quiet. It is very well maintained, the beach is spotless, and the reef was great snorkelling. The room was cleaned thoroughly each day, and the staff are excellent and friendly.
We are not people to pick little holes in holidays, but there was one thing that is not advertised on the UK hotel websites; this resort has an entertainment crew called Vera Club. They are from Italy and do not speak English in their comedy sketches on the stage that usually start around 11pm. So you might want to learn some Spanish or Italian before you go in order to not be left out!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redcessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

one of the best beaches in mexico! the white sand and clear water makes up for the resort! the resort is great but not a 5 star hotel nevertheless, the food was great too!! the staff were excellent! the rooms were clean. we will definitely go back to this resort soon!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travel_addictforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Perfect place to celebrate our 5th anniversary! Beautiful resort! Good food and the staff is very friendly. If an ocean view is a must have this isn't the place but, we loved being set in the jungle and the ocean is a short walk on stone trails through the jungle. Beautiful!! It's set apart from other resorts and we really felt like we had gotten away from it all but, at the same time the colectivos were ready to take you up or down the highway with loads to do within just 15-30min.

Akumul beach is a must see! swimming with the sea turtles was a highlight of the trip and just a 20 min bus ride!

Room Tip: I would recommend the third floor as it is above the tree line and building 5 as it is closest to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DawnRochelle50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

10th trip to the area and we plan to come back to this resort again. It has soft white sand on the beach that you can walk for hours. Many restaurants and bars to find that perfect coctail. Entertainment was good and the staff is always willing to make you comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just returned from CRT 19/08/13 thru 28/08/13 and I am absolutely blown away! I was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews here, but don't be, Go see this Jewel in the Mexican Caribbean! From check in to check out service Top Notch! After having been to several places that had some bad or not so good of a review I have come to the conclusion that these reviewers and very unhappy people and would never be satisfied, with that said a little about CRT! Absolutely Gorgeous resort, from lobby to the beach! We, my wife and I have stayed at numerous AIs and this one tops them all! That includes stays @ Dreams and Couples chains, with a much more attractive price! Food was Great, not ever having a bad meal, from the buffets to the specialty restaurants! do bring bug spray for the outdoor restaurants and as I found out unless you just want to wear dress slacks leave them home, resort casual is casual! Our service was absolutely the Best! I wish I could remember every last persons name, but Ingred on the beach, Emmanualle at Centaures, and Armondo at the grill, Thank You for the best service! Never had to "book" a place @ the pool or beach, never had to wait to be seated @ any restaurant! Beach has powder white sand just like it is flour sooo soft! I could go on & on about things that's already been discussed but without a doubt this has been the best value of any vacation we ever have had, adding in the great food, unlimited drinks, wonderful people and stunning location, CRT we will see you soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank sirarthur20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Quiet resort for adults only.
Clean: I saw them washing walks with soap and water!
Food: the selection is great! and everythhing is yummy
Beach: clean, make sure to wake up at 6 am to "book" your spot (we used to leave towels and go have breakfast, I know, I hate those people!!! but you do what you gotta's do, or it's gone by 8)
staff: friendly, but keeps a distance. There won't be any "amigoes" like in Cuba

Overall: the best place we've been in Carribean

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leezathemarkiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xpu-Ha
7.1 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
2.7 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Esencia
Hotel Esencia
#1 of 4 in Xpu-Ha
295 reviews
2.8 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9,748 reviews
1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Royal Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Tulum

Address: Carretera Cancun Chetumal Km. 264.5, Xpu-Ha 77790, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpu-Ha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Xpu-Ha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Xpu-Ha
#2 Spa Hotel in Xpu-Ha
Price Range: $236 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Royal Tulum 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only all-inclusive resort, located in Xpu-Ha, Riviera Maya, on the Caribbean coastline. It is surrounded by native jungle trees, local plants, mangroves and cenotes - water springs where a diverse variety of flora and fauna can be found in an unspoiled habitat. It is just 25km from Playa del Carmen and Tulum's archaeological site, and 85 km south of Cancun International airport, in Quintana Roo State, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Catalonia Royal Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Tulum Xpuha
Riviera Maya Copacabana
Copacabana Riviera Maya
Catalonia Royal Tulum Riviera Maya, Mexico - Xpu-Ha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing