We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“paradise found!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Tulum
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
warwickshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“paradise found!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have just returned from two glorious weeks at the CRT (26th April - 9th May).. Firstly may we thank Carolyn for her very welcome tip sheet, invaluable information, secondly Judit on reservations who was very helpful with our room request - Luna building, second floor, beautiful room with fantastic wildlife just outside of our balcony. Room was huge, large walk in shower, flat screen TV, digital safe and well stocked fridge, everything we needed for a very pleasant stay.

First impressions were fabulous, locatation just off the highway but once in the hotel grounds it feels as though we were in the jungle. Songbirds galore, iguana, coatimundi's, we even spotted a tortoise and squirrel, and not forgetting the lovely grey cat which we passed on a few occasions when walking to the dining room. The walk through the grounds to the beach was stunning, we shall miss our daily walk over the bridges and cenotes with numerous fish to spot. We are beachlovers and could not have been more enthralled by what we saw us on our first day - beautiful talcum powder white sand and turquoise sea - heaven! snorkelling was fun with plenty of fish to see just off the beach.

Food was always presented and cooked well with plenty of variety,the italian and royal grill were our favourites. The staff were very helpful, nothing too much trouble, always had time for a chat even though they work very hard, always smiling, big hello and thankyou to all, especially to Delphino (spelling?) and David.

We are not big drinkers but I did enjoy the marguarita's and pina colada, some people that we spoke to said that they were not very strong they were more than adequate for us. Smoothies at the beach bar were yummy too.

In summary we would return in a heartbeat, this was our first all inclusive experience and we were unsure what to expect, however this little corner of paradise was just what we needed for a chilled out holiday. We are already missing our daily walks along the lovely deserted beach and can't wait to return.

PS - Don't be put off by negative comments, we found nothing at all to complain about during our 2 week stay. If you need a complete chill out with nothing more demanding than a short stroll to get from A to B then this is the place to be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank linlizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,952
    1,799
    481
    149
    72
See reviews for
493
4,894
71
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (943)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Notts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I had booked this trip as we really enjoyed our first trip to the Riviera Maya ( we stayed in the Catalonia Riviera Maya in 2009, when swine flu broke out ) so we wanted to go back and see more.
.We had a wonderful 2 weeks from the 17th April - 2nd May. The resort, without question is beautiful, peaceful and tranquil with the most stunning beach. The turquoise is sea is breathtaking.
I had certain reservations on arrival after a long flight, they were due to negative reviews, but we kept open minds, as often people are prone to exaggeration and you really can't suit most people ( my opinion ) . I must say on arrival though as some have said, it could have been warmer and for sure we were advised to upgrade ! Having seen the reviews we stuck to our guns and said we would see our room first.
The room in the Sol block, nearest to the reception area, was really lovely. Always spotlessly clean and with excellent daily maid service, so no need to upgrade at all !
At times we thought the food could have been better, we didn't enjoy the Mexican or the Tapas But the others were good generally with a we looked forward to our evenings in the lovely restaurants, especially near the beach. Great lunches available too ,which were a nice break from the sun with a lovely glass of wine !
The staff are delightful and couldn't do enough to please. We enjoyed listening to entertainment group, even though we didn't join in. this really is a lovely adult only resort. The lobby bar was great for a pre-dinner drink and the walk down the pretty path to eat as always entertaining with the Iguana's and other wildlife.
if you enjoy sun, beautiful beaches and pure relaxation, don't hesitate and worry about the negative comments you may read, there is nothing you can't overcome there and it's a little bit of heaven! We would always return, and to the Catalonia Riviera Maya too. We love Mexico. Just as a little tip, take dollars to tip the staff and don't be pushed to upgrade until you have seen your room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floors in any block would provide a sea view and better use of balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chard-les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the CRT April 27 - May 4 2013. We had a wonderful experience and highly recommend this hotel. The service was exceptional. Staff go above and beyond to make sure that you are happy. The beach is beautiful. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

My stay at this resort was from April 2nd to April 16th, 2013. After being told by my travelling agent how this resort was unique and beautifull with the most beautifull beach of Mexico....
We arrived from the Cancun airport in a little 13 passengers bus overcrowded to the hôtel around 14:00hres. Of course the room was not ready and a long wait of 1:30 hres was necessary.
The policy of this hôtel is scandalous....First they let you know that the room you have reserved hasn't been renovated and that there are other beautifull rooms available and renovated for 25,35,55 dollars more a day!!!!!!!
We refused the upgrade and found ourself in a room ( fairly clean and decent ) except for the air conditionning system that had not been cleaned for the past 10 years. The musty smell exhausting from the air conditionning impregnated all our belongings wich forced us upon return to decontaminate all our things.
The food was decent but nothing fancy and of less quality then 3 years ago, according to frequent travellers met there.
The money counter is a JOKE, for sure they will change your dollars for pesos but only in cuts of 20,50, 100 or more!!!! How do you expect to tip the personnel decently....
The bar at the pool uses reusable glasses for their drinks, they are worned out chipped and not very well cleaned. There is no lifeguard at the pool, rules are applied ( people bathing with clothes on every day ).
The large majority of tourists are from Italy, transat around the pool belongs to them and them only 24 hres a day.
The most beautifull beach of Mexico was red flag for the 14 days.
OK now lets talk of the positive things and the first thing that comes to my mind is the warmt of Mexican employees generally speaking. The personnal speak many languages including Frenc, English, Italian, some German ant they will treat you with great respect. Even if the food is only fair, the employees will do everithing to please and serve you well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank titanium2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I am very late with this review, but better late than never. We spent 5 days at CRT and found it exactly as TA reviews described, the grounds are beautiful, food and drink was excellent, beach is spectacular, room was very comfortable. The service was great, We did not have one single issue the entire trip except it rained for about 15 minutes (HaHa). Wanted to give Carolyn_Gustafson a shout out for her help sending us her tip sheet and her many posts. We will return.
I highly recommend this resort if you have 6 days or less for fun. We have been to many of the Mega resorts where we did not see the entire resort in a week. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was our 4th time visiting Cancun region of Mexico, and compared to other resorts we've visited, this one was the bottom of our list and we will not return.

FIRST IMPRESSION: This hotel is dated, is not very well maintained, and lacks the class and luxury that you get at other all inclusive resorts in Mexico. When we arrived, there was a large group checking in for a wedding, so we were ignored, and we weren't given a drink or wet towel to clean off the travel grime. When the "wedding" people were finally finished getting checked in and their rooms rearranged, we were told that they only had one room left (lie).. with double beds, even though we had requested a king sized bed when we booked the trip.

ROOM: When we saw the room, it was damp, musty and unappealing, so we asked for a better room... all they could provide was the honeymoon "suite" for an extra fee of $600!!! We negotiated a lower price, and were disappointed to find that the honeymoon "suite" was the same size as the other room with the double beds, it just had a king sized bed and a banner on the door. We felt we had no other choice and our trust in this hotel staff was gone.

FOOD: The first 3 days we tried all the restaurants at the resort, and found that the food in the restaurants was about the same as the buffets, and it was all served at room temperature. By the 4th day we were both sick from the food and were afraid to eat anything fresh, washed or not fully cooked. When we mentioned it to the concierge he said it was the humidity and that some people get sick from the air (another lie).

BEACH: We couldn't believe how small, crowded and dirty the beach area was! (another lie) Yes there is a long beach to walk on, but this resort only has about 100 yards of it. The rest is abandoned hotels and shacks without any chairs or drink service! The chairs at the beach were all taken by 6am, and we noticed that some people brought their own towels so they could save spots at both the beach and the pool. Most of the beach chairs were in the shade of trees, and to get any sun you had to drag a chair down next to the ocean. The ocean surf was very rough and not very pleasant for swimming.

POOL: The pool was fairly small relative to the amount of guests at the resort. There were only about 30 palapa's around the pool (and 280 rooms!) so even though the chairs were nice and the service was good (better than the beach), you had to stay at your palapa all day (if you got one early enough), because later in the day, there would be no place to sit down. There are only 2 bathrooms near the pool. One was very small, dirty and smelled like sewage and the other was much better with 3 stalls. Unfortunately however, we also noticed that the "always drunk and loud wedding party who always kept their large thermos jugs filled with beer" never actually got out of the pool to USE the bathrooms! Eeew!

GUESTS: We did find that there were a lot of heavy smoking european guests. All of the guests were banded with wristbands to identify their nationality, and we noticed that the red and blue bands seem to be served and catered to first, while the clear-banded (american) were left to wait their turn. We noticed the difference right away and learned that the VeraClub is like an italian timeshare, and is this hotel's biggest money-maker.

We met a few nice people there, but overall we felt that this was not a very happy place like the other resorts we've visited in Mexico. The hotel staff (front desk) were rude, the concierge was a liar, the servers and cleaners were dutiful and polite, but clearly not happy, and most of the guests were just not friendly... the only people who really seemed to enjoy themselves were the wedding party.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank beachlovers151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great place to stay! All adult so no loud families around the pool or in the restaurants. All inclusive so no reading from the right side of the menu.

Wonderful physical layout...feels like you're in the jungle when you walk from your room to the pool or restaurants. Not high rise buildings, only 3 story.

Decent food - choice of 5 restaurants - actually best food was at the breakfast and dinner buffet!

Do it!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor (3rd) room - nobody above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garyghartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xpu-Ha
2.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
26.4 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#55 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,657 reviews
9.7 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
2.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
2.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Royal Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Tulum

Property: Catalonia Royal Tulum
Address: Carretera Cancun Chetumal Km. 264.5, Xpu-Ha 77790, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpu-Ha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Xpu-Ha
#2 Spa Hotel in Xpu-Ha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Xpu-Ha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Royal Tulum 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only all-inclusive resort, located in Xpu-Ha, Riviera Maya, on the Caribbean coastline. It is surrounded by native jungle trees, local plants, mangroves and cenotes - water springs where a diverse variety of flora and fauna can be found in an unspoiled habitat. It is just 25km from Playa del Carmen and Tulum's archaeological site, and 85 km south of Cancun International airport, in Quintana Roo State, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Catalonia Royal Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Tulum Xpuha
Riviera Maya Copacabana
Copacabana Riviera Maya
Catalonia Royal Tulum Riviera Maya, Mexico - Xpu-Ha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing