We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Western Hemisphere’s French Riviera”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Tulum
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Western Hemisphere’s French Riviera”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This wonderful resort and area are quickly becoming the French Riviera of the western hemisphere. The Royal Tulum and the Riviera Maya are a combination of the best of what Mexico has to offer. The service is exceptional, the employees and locals are sincerely pleasant, the food is good (6 restaurants), and the mile-long beach is top notch. One caveat for those with back problems – the beds are über soft. During our 2-week stay, vacationers fluctuated at about 75% Europeans v. 25% North Americans, with Italians outnumbering everyone at about 2:1. It was interesting to see the two contrasting cultures collide on the beach: large, loud, laughing, overly textiled yet non-smoking Americans vs. svelte, quiet, reserve, barely textiled but smoking-like-a-chimney Europeans. The resort is conveniently located near Akulum Beach and the Mayan ruins of Tulum, so it is very easy (and safe) to jump on a collective van for $3-4 USD (one-way) and spend 3 hours at the ruins or snorkel with the turtles at Akulum Beach Reef. This is an adult-only resort, so those having problems with Speedo-type suits and topless beach sunbathers should probably stay at resorts that cater to children – and let the adults enjoy a mature vacation. We highly recommend that you grab your Spanish-Italian-English dictionaries and head to this resort for some European-style relaxation in the sun. Viva la Riviera Maya y el Royal Tulum.

Room Tip: For better privacy, get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floors -- providing stairs aren't a problem for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank WESTSIDESTORY2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,299
    1,928
    520
    164
    77
See reviews for
541
5,300
75
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The resort itself is very nice. Beach is beautiful and the staff are very nice. It is an international resort however and English is the third language there. We only met a few couples who were from canada, so it was nice to speak to someone who spoke English.
The breakfast buffet was great in the morning. Lots of variety. However we found the restaurants , although fancy, lacked quality and quantity, in there selections. There was no seafood other than some battered fish at the afternoon buffet. Meaning shrimp, crab, or lobster. There was some mussels you could get at the afternoon buffet. If you wanted Lobster it was a $55.00 charge extra, which is quite bizarre I think. So if you love seafood you will be disappointed with this resort. All in all, the resort is beautiful, but don't have high hopes in the food department.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dwight D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quad Cities Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I don't usually write reviews, but I feel compelled to do so with this trip! This was our second stay at the CRT, last year in January and February of this year. In my opinion the resort got better from lasat year to this year. We felt at home and will definately be returning again next year!

We actually ran into many couples who have traveled to the CRT for multiple visits. One has been vacationing there for 10 years and another for 7. I think when visitors make return visits it speaks volumes. It should put some of the negative comments the CRT has received in the past into perspective!

Room Tip: We stayed in building 6, top floor and 2nd floor either was fine. Building 6 is closest to the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bwager84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We just returned from staying at this resort and couldn't be happier! I have never written a review but we enjoyed our stay so much I thought I would change that. We loved our experience from the time we arrived. We had rented a car and drove ourselves there and got in after 7 in the evening. The drink and wet cloth they provided at check in was just what we needed after a day of travel. We were hungry and were pleased to find out that dinner was still being served. The room we stayed in was clean and well maintained the entire time we were there. We left our four kids at home and loved that the wifi worked well. The food was excellent and the drinks were full strength - which I cannot say was the case for other resorts I've stayed at. The service was excellent and there were enough activities to keep you as busy as you wanted to be. I would highly recommend this resort and look forward to going back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLW75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We just returned from 2 wonderful weeks at Royal Catalonia Tulum. This was our 2nd vacation at this hotel, and we are happy to be returning in April for another 2 weeks.
We met up with people from last Feb. that were back for the 7th time. This hotel has many repeat guests due to their wonderful cheerful staff, great service, good food, beautiful grounds and great beach. The restaurants are all good, but of course everyone has their favorites, ours being the Tapas for the wonderful atmosphere, in a grove of trees beside the cenote, for their chicken and fish fry. The Mexican for their Chicken Enchiladas and pulled pork. The Italian for their Lasagna, minestrone soup & carpaccio. The ribs at the Grill Restaurant at the beach are good also. The Thai Restaurant is new this year and very good also. Desserts are great eveywhere.

This resort seems to be all about service. The staff are always smiling & asking if everything is okay. Be it waiters , waitresses, bartenders, maids or beach staff, they all have a greeting & a smile no matter what time of the day or night.

Special thanks to Andrea, Roberto, Carlos, Genyand Dinujh for their Helpfulness, friendlyness, and service.

We've only been home for 3 days & already can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forked River, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

we spent one week jan.22/13-feb.7/13 the resort staff were wonderful, keep in mind if your not from italy you are not included. my freind and I, who became freinds at resort,we are in are 60, went to disco for fun, as we walked down stairs, some young men from Italy proceeded to drop drinks on our heads, and could not stop laughing. The sheer idea of giving wrist bands color coded to indicate where you are from is violating. If you do not have a blue band{Italy} the staff, by the way, are brought in by the Italian tourist industury, will not acknowledge you are there. Cantalonia is a beautiful resort, there focus should be on all nations, not just Italy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank irene j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were at the catalonia feb 3-13 2013. We had a great visit there.From Victoria at the reception desk who was very courteous and helpful,to the grounds keepers who kept the place immaculate. We were impressed at how clean the resort was and how friendly and helpful the staff were. We loved that there were different nationalities at the resort--the bracelets we wore were colour coded to the language spoken to aid the staff-many of whom spoke different languages.
The resort is beautiful-part jungle so there are beautiful birds ,iguanas and small animals everywhere.The walk back to our room from the lobby after breakfast was always interesting because of the wildlife.The beach was beautiful--soft coral sand and the water was so clear--there were large angel fish and some small needlenose fish swimming around us--didn't even need to put a snorkel on--though alot of people were snorkelling right at the beach there.
The pool was beautiful too..palapas everywhere for shade. The activities staff were fun--there was always something to do if you wanted to.It is a lovely quiet resort-perfect for us-as we are not into too much night partying--there is a disco there if someone wants that.
We found the food to be very good and we liked that you don't need to make reservations for the restaurants. The lunch buffet is the best ever!!! There is such a huge variety of foods to choose from and the icecream there is to die for! Great waiters--Carlos,Gabriel, Renee -just a few to mention of many who were great.
We had a room on the third floor which is alot brighter than the ground floor rooms which are still under the jungle umbrella-we paid extra to get the delux rooms which is the last two bldgs closest to the beach ,but I do think any bldg would be ok. .....the walking isn't a big deal.
We met quite a few people who had come to this resort several times, happy with the service. I would definately return.
I would also suggest saving your beach or pool chair early--many people get up early--6:30-7:30 to grab their chairs--but if you don't you can still find them on the beach--but the pool ones get grabbed early. I also would recommend Cancun Shuttle for transportaion service from cancun--they were excellent and very reasonable. The nice thing about this resort is that the collectivo (local bus) stops frequently outside the hotel--we went to playa del carmen in about 15 minutes--the bus is comfortable and you pay when you get off--only 3 dollars. Tulum is 5 dollars( a bit further).
They do not take american dollars at their gift shop--but you can buy on credit card or bill to your room. ...there is an atm for pesos...

Room Tip: The only thing missing in the rooms is a tub but the bathrooms are modern and shower is huge. The k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank barbaramaria16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xpu-Ha
19.7 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,410 reviews
7.1 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
2.8 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Car...
#21 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,545 reviews
18.4 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
21.7 mi away
Ocean Maya Royale
Ocean Maya Royale
#47 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Royal Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Tulum

Property: Catalonia Royal Tulum
Address: Carretera Cancun Chetumal Km. 264.5, Xpu-Ha 77790, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpu-Ha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Xpu-Ha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Xpu-Ha
#2 Spa Hotel in Xpu-Ha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Royal Tulum 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only all-inclusive resort, located in Xpu-Ha, Riviera Maya, on the Caribbean coastline. It is surrounded by native jungle trees, local plants, mangroves and cenotes - water springs where a diverse variety of flora and fauna can be found in an unspoiled habitat. It is just 25km from Playa del Carmen and Tulum's archaeological site, and 85 km south of Cancun International airport, in Quintana Roo State, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalonia Royal Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Tulum Xpuha
Riviera Maya Copacabana
Copacabana Riviera Maya
Catalonia Royal Tulum Riviera Maya, Mexico - Xpu-Ha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing