We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff at the hotel really make this hotel a good place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Tulum
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lampeter
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The staff at the hotel really make this hotel a good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our first time to Mexico and we chose CRT because of its quiet location, all inclusive pakage and most of all adults only (no kids), in the main our holiday was great and ticked all the boxes we wanted it to, so happy days.

The much published "Italian effect" of the hotel is well over the top, the entertainment team do a good job and are not at all rude and they are very polite, they do invite everyone to join in as much as possible, I think some people must want a personal invitation to join in as my wife got involved in 2 activities a day and was made to feel more than welcome everytime, me I am happy on the sun bed with a good book.

The resort is very clean and tidy and the staff are magnificent (although at times their managers lack direction) and sometimes bottle necks are allowed to occur at lunch times. The staff are the most accommodating group I have come across, so well done they made our holiday that bit more special.

The only negative we encountered was the room, we travelled with Thomson Holidays and there were very few people from Thomsons in the hotel, I believe that it is their first year at CRT and I do not believe they have enough clout to get the decent rooms, our room was more than tired and could do with a little TLC, but it was the bath room that let it down, the sink never held any water for the whole of our stay and the marble sink top and surround had sevear cracks in it, filled in with filler, we raised these issues with reception 4 times and nothing was done, was asked for a change of room and nothing was done except the offer of an upgrade to a refurbished room at 30 dollars a night ! The shower however was excellent, so in the end we decided to grin and bear it as we worked out that we were only going to be in our room 25% of the time during our stay.

The beach is good, but the people who rave about it being the best they have ever seen, need to get out and travel more as it would not feature in our top 10 of beaches.

The food was excellent in every restuarant we preferred the restuarants that we non buffet (so we did not eat too much, quite difficult to do) with theTapas being our favourite, but the quality of the food was consitantly to a high standard in every restuarant.

Overall our stay at CRT was just what we wanted after quite a testing year.

Room Tip: If you dont want to look directly out into the trees/jungle you have to be on the top floor (2nd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DandC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,955
    1,799
    481
    149
    72
See reviews for
493
4,894
71
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (944)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just returned home from another wonderful vacation from Catalonia Royal Tulum and it did not disappoint. As return guests, we were given a clear purple bracelet and some additional perks, like access to some of the spa facilities. The flight, combined with the drive to the resort, was a bit long having begun for us at 5:00 a.m. but check in was a breeze. The welcome cocktail was a nice touch. We had a top floor room in the "Luna" building, which was equipped with a flat screen t.v., a very comfortable bed and a nice, bright bathroom. The iron in the room and hair dryer was a nice touch for evening meals that warranted getting a little more dressed up. We found the pillows lacking but the pillow service took care of that for us with two cervical pillows. Slept like a baby every night.

Having been here before, we knew what to expect from the hotel in terms of layout, restaurants and service, though there have been some changes (including removing the "self serve" snack bar and replacing it with a sit down area and a new evening meal option - the Thai restaurant). I think all for the better, although it was nice to grab some chips and a slice of pizza and eat it on the beach without having to sit down. In terms of restaurants, we preferred the Tapas Restaurant for its ambiance and food. The trick was to order enough food - the tapas, being small plates, were definitely on the small side, so we eventually we found that if ordered 2 plates each with our main we were satisfied. We had a glip with the Mexican restaurant - it was mediocre the first night we tried it but we returned another night and it was simply fantastic. The tortilla soup was delicious. We tried the Thai restaurant and it nice - but I am not a fan of vast amounts of noodles on hot summer nights and when going to the beach the next day. We did not try the steak / grill house by the water, nor the evening buffet or Italian restaurant. We also liked the Margarita Bar / Lobby Bar area for the sparkling wine. The breakfast buffet was also very good - the omelette lady was such a character, but she made a great omelette. The lunch buffet was also very good - I stuck to making my own nachos and occasionally having some sushi and we switched between the buffet and the sit down lunch area. The four cheese pizza was amazing, although the waiter there sometimes had better days than others. That being said, the staff here was absolutely amazing and appreciative of any tips as the majority of the guests are Europeans and unaccustomed to tipping.

We took advantage of room service twice and both times it was great. The food arrived in about 20 minutes, was pipping hot and there was lots of variety. We ordered a bottle of champagne on our last night and it arrived coordinated with our other room service order which we placed at different times. A nice touch.

Now. for a comment on the European guests. Seems like some people find them annoying and I only have this to say. Yes, the smoking is off-putting, but I much prefer the overall relaxed attitude of the Italians (who will occasionally bump in front of you in the buffet) over the loud, party hard and sometimes rude disposition of English speaking guests.

The overall sentiment for us as a couple was that this resort was perfect for us, but it may not be everything for everyone. It certainly is not a party resort and it is smaller in scale than the "mega resorts" with multiple entertainment options. It is in a secluded area - perfect for long walks, morning jogs and enjoying the water not necessarily right by the resort. At night, the ambiance is quiet and romantic. We often dragged our chairs out to the other side of the catamaran area and found it to be less busy and perfectly accessible. The beach, the water and pure relaxation (and maybe good foo and drink) is what we came here for and it certainly delivered on that front.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, its brighter in the morning as most face the tree canopy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank interpolation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Just arrived back in the UK having spent new year at the CRT. I have never been to Mexico and would certainly recommend it based on my experiences. The people are friendly and welcoming and are pleased that you chose to take your holiday in their country. The CRT has access to one of the most wonderful beaches, fine sand and excellent sea. All of the hotel staff fall over themselves to attend to your every wish. The food is varied and of a good quality there are a number of restaurants to choose from. I preferred the buffet style restaurant as it allowed me to pick n mix. I thought that there were two entertainment teams one laid on by the hotel for all, a great team, and one for the Italian guests presumably supplied by the tour operator. My experience of the latter was the girls were great (especially Delores) the guys simply ignored you, but I cannot speak Italian so ....But don't let that put you off from visiting this great hotel and great part of Mexico. Make the most of your time there, the tourist buses take you to Tulum and Playa del Carmen much cheaper than any tour plus you spend the time however you wish. I went on some trips and would recommend the jungle experience tour our guide Euri was excellent fun. Chitchen Itza, if you are lucky enough to have Martin (Ricky as he likes to be called) you'll have a great time as he has a story for all occasions and plays the harmonica. finally a trip on tthe Katamaran "fat cats" Terence was our guide and entertained the whole time. Final note, be prepared to budget for the departure tax (cash only) £45 or 65USD or 800 Peso's per person.

Room Tip: My accommodation was in Luna block midway between pool and lobby. Avoid ground floor as the furry cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 302kickback302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

First time in Mexico! Visited the resort in 2012, love it! Resort was very clean, small resort, very quiet, great spa resort, great beach, fantastic place for romance! Room nested in a rain forest atmosphere, great walk to the beach! Food was also wonderful! Best massage ever! If you are looking to get away from party animals this is the place for you!

Room Tip: ask for a upper floor if you want a ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank turqoise-water
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Tulum for two weeks over Christmas and New Year 2012 / 13. The hotel was fantastic, really well laid out. The lobby is at the front with the hotel laid out down to the beach along a lovely winding path set in almost a rain forest environment. We had a standard room which was more than adequate will all necessary amenities (even a powerful hair dryer ladies!) and plenty of space. The rooms look out onto the ''rain forest' almost in the tree canopy - we had a first floor room but if possible request a top floor because that would have been even better. The beach was stunning, by far the best beach we came across whilst we were in Mexico. Clean, warm sea and a pure white sand - it was picture postcard. The food was excellent with plenty of choice, a buffet and five different restaurants to choose from. All drinks were included in the package - no 'local spirits' which we have experienced before.

For us there were two downsides to this hotel - which we feel were probably enough for us not to return or recommended it to friends. Firstly the hotel has no real bar - there is a beach bar and bar in the lobby with seating literally around the lobby (in front of the reception and outside the hotel shop). We found sitting in the lobby in the evening to have a drink very soulless, as was the beach bar which was always empty and not very comfortable (at night - although great through the day). It was a shame because by day the hotel had absolutly everything you could wish for - great beach, lovely food, excellent staff - but at night it lacked something. We tended to go for a drink in the Tapas restaurant most nights simply because it was a lovely location with a great atmosphere. The second downside for us was the hotel catered almost exclusively for their Italian guests. Apparently the hotel is about 40% Italian although during out stay I would have said it was more like 80% Italian. The only problem with this being the entertainment staff were Italian and did not involve other nationalities in any activities - not a problem if you want to lie on the beach all day (like me!) but for anyone who likes to play a bit of beach volleyball, polo or join in the aerobics it was a bit of an issue. You had no idea the activities were taking place and in truth I would go as far as to say excluded from most things that were going on. This also meant the evening entertainment was all in Italian - nothing for other nationalities. This was a shame because had it not been for these two things it would have been just about perfect and everything you could want from a hotel.

We went on Thompson excursion to Coba which was pretty grim (60 people on the coach and then following each other like little soldiers around the ruins) - would not recommend that one. We also went into Playa Del Carmen which was great and an absolute must. There is a minibus service (Collectiva) that runs from outside the hotel which is brilliant and for £1.50 (300 pesos - I think that is about £1.50) will take you anywhere you want to go and is a great experience.

On a final note we loved Mexico. Personally I feel it has something for everyone - great beaches, lovely weather, interesting places to visit, great towns / shopping - would definitly go back and recommend Mexico to anyone. I was a little bit nervous before we went about how safe if was to travel around but we visited a number of towns on our own (not in an organised tour) and felt completely safe and the Mexicans were nothing but polite and very welcoming.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are a decent size and have all amenities you would need - top floor would be best if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have never been to Mexico so I don't have much to compare to but we were not disappointed by any means!!! From the moment we arrived, it was an unforgettable experience. The staff was really friendly and although you did not NEED to speak Spanish, if you knew a little for common courtesy you could tell the effort it was appreciated. The beach was perfect and there is a reef for snorkeling off to the south a short walk. The location was perfect for what we wanted. About 20 min taxi to Playa del Carmen and 10 min to Akumal (the turtle beach) but I would recommend taking the local "bus/shuttle" for a much better price (about $3/person). Playa was nice if you like to shop, you def have to remember to try to bargain prices! The ferry to Cozumel from Playa is about $25 each round trip but if you want to dive or snorkel that's the place to do it!! We booked a trip in advance with Rosie http://www.islacozumel.com or http://www.cozumelmycozumel.com for $70 per person and it was worth it! Rather then just swimming out from the beach (which you can do) they take you on a 30 min boat ride to the southern part of the island and to 3 different spots. We saw turtles and all kinds of fish and coral life. There's so much life out there, the fish are right next to you when you get in the water.
We also went to the new park Xplor, the zip lines were amazing but I really can't say if the price is worth it. I'm glad we did it but we would not do it again if that makes sense. However, the tour to Coba is something we would do again. It was $110/person and we booked it in the lobby of the hotel. They have Lomas and other travel agents there. We did one that was in the morning and chose the one with pottery and stuff rather than the explore option and I'm glad we did. It was a small group of maybe 8 ppl and although, we didn't do any pottery, we did go into an existing Mayan village and got the chance to meet 2 families that live there and see how they still live. We were in their house and watched the women make corn meal and the kids playing in the dirt. They do everything by hand, no electricity, no beds (they sleep in hammocks) and no shoes. We did eat at the village and the food was incredible!!! I was really surprised. After the villiage, we went to Coba and saw the ruins. It is one of the last ones you can climb and it being closed soon. It was a great tour.
Back to the hotel: We ate at all the restaurants and the food was SOO delicious!! The sit down and the buffet style were packed full of amazing choices! (The Italian restaurant wasn't that great though). We ate at a place out in Cozumel called Mr. Chili’s (about a $40 meal) that was ok but the hotel Mexican food was better. The drinks were great and they had such a great selection for alcohol and even non-alcoholic drinks. The wine was good and so was the champagne. They keep your glasses full all the time and the service was wonderful. The rooms are nice, plenty of room and kept clean. The only complaint I have was when I called and asked for more bottles of water, they didn't bring any and there weren't any at the front desk. They stock your room every day with 3 bottles of water, 2 beers and a handful of soda but seeing as we only drank the water, we ran out rather quickly. They serve water at all the bars and restaurants too and all of the ice and water is clean. Neither one of us got sick eating or drinking any of the food or drinks here. Which was a big PLUS for us. The hotel is surrounded by jungle and the trees are right outside your balcony. The walkways are so calming and there are animals that you see all the time (nothing scary). It was very beautiful! They also do shows every night in the theater area, some were kinda silly but some were really good too. Hit or miss but it's still fun to watch both. We would absolutely come back here (planning the next time already) and tell anyone who's thinking about it to BOOK IT!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't be picky on location, we were wanting something close to the beach and ended up by the lob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was our third stay at CRT. We were not to pleased that they decided to do away with the cushions from the chaise lounges at the pool. Without the cushions they were uncomfortable to relax on.

Tried out the new restaurant, Tao Cat, near the Tequila Bar. There were four of us dining together, all the food came cold and the noodles uncooked. Very disappointed with the experience and will not eat there again if we go back.

Another couple accompanied us on this trip, we booked couples massages at the Allegria
Ours went off without a hitch, but the couple with us arrived a half hour early as instructed and were told that they were late so only received the massage and not the whole experience. The next morning they brought the card that the person had written down the time of their massage on, they were told someone must have entered the time wrong in the computer. They were told they could come back for the rest of the experience. When you pay $199.00 for an experience you should get the whole thing. They should have been given a refund or provided another massage and all the amenities that came with it.

The one bright spot was David our waiter for the whole time we were there, except the last day which he had off. He was very attentive to our needs, we had to ask for nothing, he just seemed to know what everyone wanted.

We're still debating whether to return for the fourth time or find a new place to go, have a year to think about it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Y00pY00p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xpu-Ha
2.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
26.4 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#55 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,657 reviews
9.7 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
2.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
2.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Royal Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Tulum

Property: Catalonia Royal Tulum
Address: Carretera Cancun Chetumal Km. 264.5, Xpu-Ha 77790, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpu-Ha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Xpu-Ha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Xpu-Ha
#2 Spa Hotel in Xpu-Ha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Royal Tulum 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only all-inclusive resort, located in Xpu-Ha, Riviera Maya, on the Caribbean coastline. It is surrounded by native jungle trees, local plants, mangroves and cenotes - water springs where a diverse variety of flora and fauna can be found in an unspoiled habitat. It is just 25km from Playa del Carmen and Tulum's archaeological site, and 85 km south of Cancun International airport, in Quintana Roo State, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Catalonia Royal Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Tulum Xpuha
Riviera Maya Copacabana
Copacabana Riviera Maya
Catalonia Royal Tulum Riviera Maya, Mexico - Xpu-Ha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing