We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Tulum
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Xpu-Ha
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great hotel ,great service and awesome beach,all fine white sand and swimable. aThe food was good at the Italian and Mexican restaurants. The gounds are well kept, friendly staff and helpful. I would recoomend and return in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach are not such a long walk to the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank andres a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,695 - 2,701 of 7,501 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

I can't say enough good things about this resort. It was our 3rd visit to the Riviera Maya, 1st time at this resort. I requested a room on the top floor in building 6 and Brenda at the lobby desk was able to accommodate with a beautiful Junior suite. We enjoyed wonderful, breezy evenings on our balcony hearing the ocean. While the resort is beautiful what really sets this place apart from others we've been to on the Riviera Maya is the people who work here. We were treated like royalty during our stay. David, Gerardo and Fernando were awesome waiters at the restaurants but our favorite person is Aracely who waited on us on the beach. She took EXCELLENT care of us.
The beach is the best we've seen on the Riviera Maya. White sand, no rocks. GORGEOUS! We will definitely return to Catalonia Royal Tulum on our next visit to the Riviera Maya.

Room Tip: Any top floor room in building 2, 4 or 6. You'll get the sunrise in the morning but not the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The grounds here are absolutely wonderful. The setting of the hotel into the jungle surroundings and the use of Mayan architecture and decorative lighting was absolutely stunning.

Our room, a standard room in deluxe building five, was gorgeous – modern and clean. Beautiful stone floors in the room were complemented with great lighting and a private jungle view from the balcony. The bathroom was complete stone with a large shower and a rainhead.

The beach is amazing - perfect for swimming and wading - even a ways out. I’ve heard its one of thebest in the area and I wouldn’t doubt it for a second. Many palapas and palms on the beach for shade. Plenty of lounge chairs are available- but the towel game is definitely still played here - mostly for the palapas. Snorkeling was way better than expected - pretty great actually for being right off of the resort beach! Head to the left down the beach and enter the water just past the souvenir shop near the white buoy line for some great reefs. Dive staff was not very helpful unless you were buying a day trip. The pool was large and attractive and we could usually find a spot.

There are enough dinner options to keep you interested for a week - and great atmosphere at each! Food quality is okay to good, and presentation is wonderful. Could use more options for lunch and breakfast. Definitively eat at the tapas bar - the Terrace - for dinner, or at least have a drink at the bar there to see the place and enjoy the atmosphere! Maybe spray your ankles with bug spray first, this was the only time I got bites.

Overall the staff was helpful and kind - though I did always feel the front desk staff thought I was a burden. The concierge was wonderful and accommodating, as was the manager at Toscana. Drink service at the pool and beach wasn't that great for us, but was nice when it happened. Rules were not enforced here - meaning the feeding of the wildlife, dress codes, etc. and that was a bit bothersome. However, our requests were all promptly responded to and taken care of.

Entertainment wasn't to our liking, both the theater and daily activities. This is fine, as we did not choose this resort for activities. However, the entertainment staff got obnoxious really fast. They were very loud and there was never quiet time after 10am. The music was loud, their voices were loud, and we just wanted to RELAX and listen to the waves and chill out by the pool. This is our biggest complaint. There needs to be days off from music and the Vera club (activities company). Activities are great, but not a constant bombardment of them which you cannot escape. It was yoga, zumba, beach volleyball, and poolside mamba music from sun-up to sundown. And yes, as others have noted, many of the guests were very rude, and loud, and obviously made a point to be - and that was a problem as well. For these two reasons we will likely not return - which is sad to say about such an amazing resort. But if you can't relax in paradise, what is the point?

Room Tip: Buildings 5 and 6 are renovated and considered deluxe - they are closet to the beach and pool. Build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WIGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at the Catalonia Royal Tulum for 7 nights this october. It was our first time in Mexico and it was great. The Hotel is outstanding, great service from everybody ! The room was clean and the bed was very good.

The restuarants and bars, again excellent service from the staff. We went to the beach every day where we could use the beds and enjoy the white sand beach. Snorkeling in front of the beach is good, lots of fish. We even saw a stingray and a octopus.

We would recommend this hotel to everybody !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Albertdias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is simple awesome, the staff, the food, the rooms, the installations in general, everything was perfect, I recommend it, and If I go back to Riviera Maya I will stay in there again for sure.

The Bartender Yasser/Yesser (I'm not sure his name) is the best!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JavierLizarazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel is one of the nicest I have stayed at in a very long time, we stayed in a junior suite in building 4 which is in the centre of the complex. Even though you are only a few minutes walk from any room, this was ideal because it was centrally located half way between the beach/pool area and the lobby.

The hotel is kept very clean and the staff are just so attentive and friendly, they can't do enough for you. The hotel grounds are absolutely amazing, it is more like walking from a tropical jungle than an hotel.

There are 5 restaurants to chose from, these being a Mexican, grill, Spanish (Tapas), Italian and the main buffet.

1) Tapas - I would highly recommend the Spanish (Tapas) restaurant which is located outdoors the main lobby, however be warned that if there is any chance of rain this restaurant will stay closed. The food was outstanding, I would highly recommend the pork for main and the chocolate desert. 9/10

2) The Grill - This was okay, however the meat selection was poor. Normally quite tough and clearly not what was described on the menu. I had the beef tenderloin one evening and could not cut it, even with a steak knife, it was like rubber ! 5/10

3) The Italian - Food was okay and substantial, with a selection of pasta, meat and fish dishes to chose from. 7/10

4) The Mexican - This restaurant was not to my liking, the food was not nice and this was the view of quite a few people I spoke to. However this was a personal choice for myself and my partner but it did seem popular with others. 4/10

5) Buffet - This was good for a change, offered a wide selection of dishes and catered for every taste. 8/10

The pool/beach area is amazing with great staff on hand all day to provide you with drinks. Karina was one of those staff members who stood out, she was just great and would come around every 5/10 minutes asking if we required anything.

The lunch buffet was good but became repetitive after a few days, I also noticed a lack of fish on the menu so we decided to have pizza and burgers for lunch which were very good.

Overall this is a great hotel, I have no complaints whatsoever and came home relaxed and rested.

Room Tip: Avoid blocks 1 or 2, they are close to the entertainments stage which is quite noisy in the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RSJUK1637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Interesting to read reviews here both for and against. As with all things, you can't please all the people all the time, but this resort has a new fan; me! First, let's address the "italian" issue... I personally found them passionate and looking for fun. Though they hang together, they were always happy to include anyone in their activities. Now on to the details... one of the nicest beaches of white sand and there was always chairs to be found. The ocean was warm and great for swimming, even when it was a "red flag" day. Lifeguard on hand always attentive. The beach also offered up snorkeling gear, or ocean kayak and had a fantastic fresh juice bar for those looking to slow down the alcohol consumption. Speaking of which, top brands and three finger drinks kept you appreciating the barstaff more and more everyday. I personally consumed my fair share of Tanqueray gin and they even poured tonic from a can! The pool bar had an adjoining area for lunch where they had a great small menu including fish, pizza, nacho. Once again, staff was always attentive and you didn't wait long for a plate to be cleared or a fresh drink to appear. The pool was a good depth and size and never overcrowded. Though the resort was at 85% capacity there was never more than 60 people lounging and again no problem finding chairs. Did i mention two servers working the pool area alone! Many beverages consumed while standing or floating. Spa was 5 star with a two for 100$/hr massage deal. The gym, filled with new gear, clean and handy to the spa, pool and bar! (cause we all need a drink after 100 crunches!) the resort features 6 3 story buildings with about 12 rooms per floor. Each room had it's own balcony which overlooked the jungle or cenote and the rooms were always clean, fresh and stocked. Turn-down service included fresh beach towels for the next day and chocolates on your pillow. The restaurants... as a vegetarian, it's not always easy to find something to eat, but between the buffet and accommodating servers/kitchen i had no problem and consumed some very tasty food. The Mexican was of course our favourite (when in Rome) ... dining was casual or dressy.. no rules. The lobby bar was open late abd 24 hr room service ensured you were never without. Breakfast in bed? Order and delivered in under 20 minutes. In short, this resort offered the best service of any place I've been. It was truly a throw back to the resorts of old; small, quaint, charming and service oriented. Perhaps our experience can be best summed up in 3 words; we'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor so you don't have wildlife jumping over your balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KnowAboutTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xpu-Ha
7.1 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
2.7 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Esencia
Hotel Esencia
#1 of 4 in Xpu-Ha
285 reviews
2.8 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9,441 reviews
1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Royal Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Tulum

Address: Carretera Cancun Chetumal Km. 264.5, Xpu-Ha 77790, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Xpu-Ha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Xpu-Ha
#2 Spa Hotel in Xpu-Ha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Xpu-Ha
Price Range: $274 - $648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Royal Tulum 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only all-inclusive resort, located in Xpu-Ha, Riviera Maya, on the Caribbean coastline. It is surrounded by native jungle trees, local plants, mangroves and cenotes - water springs where a diverse variety of flora and fauna can be found in an unspoiled habitat. It is just 25km from Playa del Carmen and Tulum's archaeological site, and 85 km south of Cancun International airport, in Quintana Roo State, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Catalonia Royal Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Tulum Xpuha
Riviera Maya Copacabana
Copacabana Riviera Maya
Catalonia Royal Tulum Riviera Maya, Mexico - Xpu-Ha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing