We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needed a change”

La Playa Xpu Ha Restaurant & Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Xpu-Ha
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“needed a change”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed 10 days next door, at Catalonia. Walked past on Sunday, it was crowded & lively. But during the week, pretty empty. So fast service. My husband loved the shrimp ceviche and a beer, I ordered fries for lunch, with an OK margarita. Relaxed setting, great view.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retiree59_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    141
    66
    28
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A day at La Playa Xpu Ha”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Group of families and friends, total of seven adults spending a week long vacation in Cancun, This is our seventh time (Wife & I) visiting Cancun. Monday 5/19/2014 our group decided to spend the day at La Playa Xpu Ha, Our server was friendly & attentive, answered every question we asked accurately. Food is average, price is about the same with all the beach clubs we've been to around
the area. Beach is just average, clean with powdery sand.The bad part is...Wi-fi is not available because they did not pay the bill but the network is visible, it’s not that this is really a necessity to us but read this same comment about the wifi being not paid back in March 2014, it is now May. Wife accidentally left her phone on the bar where a few if the servers are their and did not bother notifying us, good thing she realized she left her phone before hopping into our car service, went back to go get it and a comment we got from one of the servers was, " could have been a good gratuity" in Spanish, they didn't know we understood Spanish, no bueno!!! At the gate on our way out, person at the gate on the way out tried to rip us off by giving us $300 peso and ask for $20 peso back. In our case, nobody had peso left (after paying our bar/food bill in peso), ended giving him $2 usd back, make sure u have plenty of peso change on ur way out or you will end up giving them more than it’s supposed to in dollars. We are not looking forward of coming back here the next time we are in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Still one of my favorites spots after all these years!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I have been coiming to this place for 22 years, having stayed here before phones or electric power.It is a beautiful beach. I have known Rosalio Diaz for the past 22 years and he is a great host and fisherman. He provides fishing trips from his pangas just off the beach. There have been many changes over the years including the 40 peso entrance fee but it is still one of the best beaches in the world. Don't miss a chance to visit for a day. I had chicken fajitas and they were the best I had during my 8 night stay this trip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duvall, Washington
Level Contributor
138 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A perennial favorite”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We have been going to Xpu-ha for 5 years! You can count on the best beach on the coast! Great ceviche de camarones, and other dishes. The staff, and did I mention the beach! we spent 5 days out of 17 there, the rest looking for a nicer beach, to no avail. You will notice they have changed to "SEAHAWKS" green T's. Our favorite wait person sporting a championship cap! We are never disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimandsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Tacky and could do better!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Lovely beach, great setting, but disappointing beach restaurant and bar. It is very busy and needs more staff. Looks cheap with the blue plastic furniture.

Why do we pay to enter the road off the freeway to the beach? There is a sign close to this restaurant saying "the payment at the entrance is not connected to this establishment".....or words to that affect. But then have to show the restaurant receipt to gain a refund upon leaving!

Food is very poor, sent ours back because it was cold, it was returned like carbon! The food resembled the cheapest options seen in supermarkets and possibly is!
We feel the Beach bar/restaurants just haven't got it yet! The public ones are so few and far between. They become over busy and service suffers! The beaches deserve better! We deserve better! It may be horses for courses, but we prefer, a more upmarket, classy joint! However, we have eaten at many less so, because the food is always wonderful, the staff brilliant. But not in Mexico!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiggy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Playa Xpu Ha Restaurant & Beach Club also viewed

 

Been to La Playa Xpu Ha Restaurant & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing