We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Geeat Fishing,Staff,Guides and Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tierra Maya

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Xcalak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Tierra Maya
Ranked #4 of 4 Xcalak B&B and Inns
Pueblo, Co.
1 review
“Geeat Fishing,Staff,Guides and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2008

I just returned last week and wish to repeat another week of fishing. The food and hospitality were excellent.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank COSPORTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    16
    3
    6
    1
See reviews for
15
41
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2008

The lodge, the hosts Kim and Dave, the food, the fishing - simply the best combination I have enjoyed fishing around the world. This was my third trip in as many years and I am booked for both April and November of next year.

  • Liked — hosts, food, location
  • Disliked — no A/C
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FlatsFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2008

We spent a week here, fishing everyday. The guides were fantastic, very knowledgeable especially when it came to fishing for permit on a fly. The day always started out with a great breakfast and ended hanging out in the beautiful bar telling fish tales, enjoying one of Kim's famous margaritas. I sampled a different entre every night and they were all very good. I definitely will be returning to Tierra Maya.

  • Liked — The friendly staff.
  • Disliked — mosquitos
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RoaringForkFlyFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

Didn't make reservations and were lucky enough to get a room. We asked to see the room and instantly loved it. The room was very clean and charming. Beautiful wood windows and simple decor. There was plenty of storage space. No AC in the rooms, but didn't need it at all. We had purchased some things for the drive and was hoping to have a refrigerator in the room. Some of the rooms had them. The owners let us borrow a cooler and a bag of ice. The were super responsive to requests or needs and made us feel right at home. Mornings were early as most of the guests were fisherman and up early with the sun. We adjusted to the early mornings just fine and were able to get a jump on the day. The views of the property are amazing and the beach was nice. Yes, there is a lot of turtle grass so you can not swim from shore, but there is a long dock that you can swim off of. We borrowed their bikes and rode around a bit. The on site restaurant was very good and convenient. We dove almost everyday with XTC diving and highly recommend the local diving (we did not make it to Chinchorro Bank due to lack of divers). XTC picked us up from the Tierra Maya's dock. We had rented a car at the Cancun airport to get to Xcalak and we were glad to have the car, but do not think it was necessary. It was a long trek to a very remote place, but we were up for the adventure and so glad we did it! We had a great time and we hope to go back again! Don't forget the mosquito repellent.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

Just got back from a week of fishing, We caught many Bonefish, 4 Permit, 2 Tarpon! Needless to say the fishing is GREAT! The added bonus is the great staff, wonderful food, great bar, and beautiful beach. This is a elegant, quiet small lodge with a reef just yards away! The owners Kim and David go beyond the call , getting up at 3:45 am to make us coffee, and a take along meal for our early departure to catch a plane in Cancun! This is my forth trip to Tierra Maya, and I recommend it to everyone.

  • Liked — All rooms with a view of the ocean
  • Disliked — Too much FOOD!!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoBigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock,Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

Nice hotel,beautiful beach,great flyfishing and the best hosts.

  • Liked — Flyfishing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDoctorDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sand Lake, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2008

It's off the beaten track and is not fussy but the rooms are nice, the grounds and open dinning area beautiful and there is lots to do if you prefer the out of doors to shopping malls. The owners are attentive and yet laid back. The food is good and the local guides reasonably priced and knowlegable.

  • Liked — beautiful remote location on the sea
  • Disliked — the access roads are terrible
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xcalak
22.4 mi away
Costa de Cocos
Costa de Cocos
#1 of 2 in Xcalak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
18.5 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
17.0 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#38 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
19.4 mi away
La Beliza Resort
La Beliza Resort
#24 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
24.2 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tierra Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tierra Maya

Property: Hotel Tierra Maya
Address: KM 54 Carretera Xcalak, Xcalak 77109, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Xcalak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Xcalak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tierra Maya in Xcalak. Be prepared to say, "WOW!" Impressive architecture, immaculate grounds and gardens, spacious, comfortable rooms with multiple beds (all new mattresses), 11 full-time staff who love to serve YOU! The Maya Grill is open from 6am for early risers and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers a wide variety of menu selections. Eco-tours, reef fishing and fly fishing excursions, all-inclusive fishing and diving packages, and trips to San Pedro, Belize can all be arranged though the hotel staff. Located in a remote, little fishing village, on a white-sand beach, Hotel Tierra Maya is sure to WOW you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Tierra Maya Xcalak, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing