We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Paraiso

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Xcalak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Paraiso
Ranked #2 of 4 Xcalak B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eastern Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

We stayed at Casa Carolina for 7 days from March 10 to the 16th. It is a great place only surpassed by the owners and staff. The highlite of this years trip was seeing and swimming with a Manatee and I have pictures to prove it. Thanks Bob and Caroline for another great trip.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBG0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    14
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
170
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

We loved Casa Carolina. The clean, comfortable rooms face the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Snorkeling is spectacular and convenient. The hosts are gracious and well informed. It couldn't have been more delightful -- we hope to return to Casa Carolina again and again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joenmarym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a too short stay at Casa Carolina and we totally loved the place! Very tranquil with a wonderful location on a really beautiful beach which is kept pristine by daily raking and tidying. it is a magical hotel and we cannot recommend it highly enough. Thank you to Caroline and Bob for their incredible hospitality. Bob makes the best
margaritas ever, although one is definitely enough, and Caroline is very happy to arrange any day trip you wish to do. We really enjoyed the boat-ride to Bird Island with our wonderful guide, Fernando, after which he took us for three awesome snorkelling dives at the reef. Casa Carolina is the place to stay if you are going to visit Xcalak.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doochie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

We had 10 nights stay at Casa Carolina and completely chilled out, in this very peaceful setting. Rooms were great, excellent kitchen and the bathroom was also better than expected. Great to have a couple of drinks in the evening with other guests and the hosts Bob and Carolina. Would recommend this this place to anyone who wants to get away from it all and relax!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andree36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a short stay just after Christmas, and the place was amazing. Clean, comfortable rooms, excellent views and the most amazing snorkeling ever. We both slept extremely well, and wish we didnt have to leave. We arrived with the intent to stay 3 days, we stayed 4 and then moved up the beach to another hotel. The area itself is one of the nicest places we have ever visited. The trash that is mentioned in other reviews on this area isnt quite as unsightly or bad as some would lead you to believe. They do not have any infrastructure or way to dispose of the trash on the entire stretch of coastline, but all the area hotels seem to take really good care of their particular stretch of sand. The trash comes in daily from cruise ships and the tradewind currents which blow directly in bringing alot of debris from the opean ocean, and other countries that dispose of trash at sea(Jamaia, Honduras, Venezuela)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicaloca92176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maui, hi
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

Wonderful hotel with everything our family needed--a quiet beach with great snorkeling off the dock, kayaks to use, bicycles to go into town, a darling room with a well equipped kitchenette, nice little breakfast in the morning, and a peaceful sleep in the evening. We would definitely return!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scubamaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

I've been to Xcalac and Casa Carolina twice in two years, and I had a wonderful experience both times. I like that Xcalac is out of the main tourist traffic. It is a plus that Casa Carolina is outside of town, but not too far , which allows walking or riding bicycles into town. The rooms are very comfortable, and the in-room kitchens were a great convenience. I found Casa Carolina to be a peaceful place, and the proprieters were willing to provide information and advice for whatever adventures I wanted to attempt. I also found getting to know other guests at the bed and breakfast a real pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CiniB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xcalak
22.1 mi away
Costa de Cocos
Costa de Cocos
#1 of 2 in Xcalak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
17.3 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#38 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
20.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
24.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Paraiso

Property: Casa Paraiso
Address: Beach road "Calle Costero" | 2 kms north of Xcalak pueblo, Xcalak 77940, Mexico (Formerly Casa Carolina)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Xcalak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Xcalak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Yucatan's Caribbean coast in the village of Xcalak, Casa Carolina is a beachfront B&B catering to travelers who desire something different. With only four guestrooms, Casa Paraiso offers privacy, intimacy, and individual attention in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. All rooms are oceantfront. Breakfast is included, and all rooms have kitchenettes, giving you the option of eating in or dining out for the rest of your meals. Kayaks and bicycles are included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Carolina Hotel Xcalak
Casa Paraiso Xcalak, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing