We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playa Sonrisa
Nearby Hotels
$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Secreto(San Pedro)
$420
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sapphire Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$214
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Belizean Shores Resort(San Pedro)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
71
11
1
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
11
1
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslaid backgreat hostscourse dinnerleaky palapaother guestsoff gridan easy driveget awayoutstanding foodpalm treesr rrental carrelaxing weekmany placeswi fidirt roadnatural beauty
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 86 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We were not very happy ending here after a very long trip. The beach is full of mangrovie and all around there is nothing for kms (apart from milions of mosquitos).
There is absolutely no chance to go out of the resort unless you have your own car, nevertheless owners are not happy even having to offer you a phone call, they try to be frienly but they are not helfull at all.
there are so many wired rules to be followed! (you will receive a long breafing and a book that explains you how to do carry your stayng there!!)

We felt as in very expensive jail.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Carolina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaSonrisa, Owner at Playa Sonrisa, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

You can see from the photos that our beach is covered with beautiful palm trees, not mangroves. The closest mangroves are about 1.5 km to the south and continue from there all the way into Belize. (Mangroves are critical habitat for tropical reefs which we have in abundance in the national Marine Park which begins at our shoreline). There is turtle grass at the shoreline because the reef protects the shore from big waves. Playing in waves can be fun, but snorkeling a tropical reef is better :-) Turtle grass also means it is a good place to look for turtles. The water is about 1 meter deep at the end of our dock, not deep enough for diving (unless too much tequila) but is deep enough for swimming, and is deeper as you get closer to the reef.

Playa Sonrisa is very remote - which is why it is so peaceful here - which is also why we cannot offer you a phone because there is NO PHONE SERVICE OR CELLULAR SIGNAL here. There is a business in the village that has capability to place a phone call for a small fee. We do have Wi-Fi signal to connect to the internet with your own device, but our computer is not available to the public. (This is all explained on our website.)

The village is too small to have a reliable taxi service so if you do not have a car the dive shop will come to us by boat to take you out for snorkeling, scuba and manatee/bird watching trips, and we are quite happy to call the shop by marine band radio to set it up for you. But apart from contacting local services, making other travel arrangements on your behalf is not a service we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I wanted to be someplace special for my birthday this year, preferable butt naked on a warm beach. The place had to be quiet, small, served good food, and far away, oh, and accepted my naked butt on the beach. I found just what I wanted at Playa Sonrisa! The only thing missing was my 2 PM cup of fresh hot coffee every afternoon.
Yes, it was a long drive but oh, so worth it.
Thank you Murph and Cindy for a most memorable birthday! I loved your place and hope to be able to revisit someday.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marsha4752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This was our first time to Play Sonrisa and it was as close to perfect as it gets.
Donn and Cindy are wonderful, very accomodating and went out of thier way to make reservations for the guests for side trips or restaurants in town.
The food is a fixed menu and nothing Cindy cooked was bad. Excellent soups.
The grounds and facilities are excellent. Clean and well maintained.
Their web site is accurate and truthful.
This is for people who want to be off the grid.
Do not be put off by the long drive. It's worth the drive. The roads are paved and in good condition. The last 9 kms are on a dirt road with lots of pot holes. You don't need an off road jeep or truck. Had no problems with our rental car.
Do not go if you want Cancun.
If you want peace and quite and an all over tan you can't beat Playa Sonrisa.
Already thinking about next year!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bradturbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had a very relaxing time with Murph and Cindy at Playa Sonrisa, it really is just as it says on the website (which could do with a revamp but tells you all you need to know ), but the location is great, lovely beach, not commercialised and very quiet. Our American friends have been before, so we knew what to expect. They had the upper and lower parts of Villa Sonrisa, which is really well equipped and upstairs the roof terrace is really secluded. Our accommodation on the beach had a wonderful view, but I would have been happier with a ceiling hook for my mosquito net (I actually did not get bitten due to the wind, but I find a net a relaxing addition). Cindy manages to produce remarkable food given their remote location - both she and Murph work very hard to make sure you have everything you need. And on Saturday and Sunday we went to the Leaky Palapa which serves excellent food (not particularly cheap, but very good) Murph will book it for you, and help out with booking other trips (and in our case, helping us get a replacement hire car brought down from Cancun after our keys stopped working) We had a great time, only complaint, not long enough!

Room Tip: Upstairs in Villa Sonrisa would be my recommendation.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tan4a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

My honey and I spent 9 wonderful days this month at the Playa Sonrisa resort, a few clicks north of Xcalak, Mexico. Imagine looking out your palapa window at a gorgeous Caribbean sunrise, then running out free as a bird to take glorious photos and enjoy a warm morning breeze. Day after day we enjoyed the fabulous beach and sunshine (except for one fun tropical storm day!), variety of birds big and small, delicious breakfasts and lunches, and snorkeling round a world class reef viewing incredible multicolored tropical fish. Some days Murph and Cindy would organize a game of naked Bocci ball (they always seem to lose even though they had been way ahead!), which somehow always entailed a short break for a fresh cerveza. In the evenings, we actually put clothes on for the nightly happy hour featuring the "Son Rita" (Murph's secret recipe) and then sat down for another delicious Cindy-dinner (very reasonably priced). How she comes up with so many different menus (secret salmon recipe, shrimp stew, chili relleno, lobster, .... !), in this remote location, it is hard to understand. Invariably everyone continues talking and sampling the various libations for another hour or two, and I am not sure why, but all the guests seem to be very interesting people.

The drive down is easy and well worth the little extra effort it takes to get away from all the overly commercialized resorts to the north. Playa Sonrisa is clothing optional, and that does mean "optional". While we were there one couple continued to enjoy the textile world and clearly enjoyed themselves immensely.

We've been back in beautiful and snowy Montana now for a couple of weeks, but daily talk about going back to Playa Sonrisa again and again. Murph and Cindy have created a magical place to be.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MontanaFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews