We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome fish tacos”
Review of Costa de Cocos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Costa de Cocos
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Xcalak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We took a ride down from Mahahaul for the day. Our first stop was at the Reel Inn at "Costa de Cocos". We had some delicious fish tacos and my GF ordered one of their "specialty" drinks. The girl working the bar was entirely sure how to make it but was THRILLED when she was told that it was perfect. There really isn't much going on in Xcalak... which is exactly why I'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheoMassapequa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 124 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I have been vacationing in the Maya Riviera area for the past 20 years, witnessing the area go from peaceful and quaint to nonstop development and traffic. We were anxious to find a place that brought back the feel of a simpler, fishing town experience. The area around Xcalak definitely does that. I was a little worried that this may be a little too rustic for me but when we pulled into the resort I was please to find the grounds immaculate and the bungalows at Costa de Cocos to be very clean, quaint and comfortable, though the bathrooms could use a little updating. One morning, we took the 3 hour river trip into the mangroves and were lucky enough to spot a manatee, who swam right past our boat !! The river trip included a stop for snorkeling on one of the most beautiful reefs where we saw a nurse shark. We did not partake in any of the bone fishing trips. We drove to the spectacular Mayan ruins of Chacchoben one afternoon and were the only ones in the park (must not have been cruise ships in Mahuahual that day) and even saw a family of monkeys. Chacchoben is an hour and a half drive each way and there were no places to eat close to the ruins as the snack bar was closed, so plan accordingly.

We quickly got into a routine of watching the sunrise, ordering our breakfast omelet, followed by a day of exploring or relaxing, then back later in the day for margarita's, pizza and talking with the other guests. One evening, a group of local kids came and performed their dance recital on the porch of the restaurant. We ended our day sitting outside the bungalow and watching the stars. Besides the restaurant in Costa de Cocos, we also ate at Toby's in town and Tierra Maya, which was very good. The staff was very attentive to anything we needed. One afternoon we mentioned eating at the Leaky Palapa restaurant in town and the staff person got on his bike and drove all the way into town to check and see if they had room for us.

I did miss wide beaches to walk on but the peacefulness and viewing the multitude of colors in the shallow water were enough to make me want to come back again. I wouldn't recommend bringing children as I think they could get bored.

Room Tip: We had one of the bungalows closest to the water and the view was very lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Julie From WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch twice after diving with XTC (also fabulous). They accommodated up to 7 of us with smiles and a welcoming atmosphere. The food was wonderful and the Tarpon Pale Ale was greatly appreciated by my husband. Unfortunately we didn't get an opportunity to try the pizza which is after 5 pm. We had a selection of food and was all delicious. They kept the pico de gallo and guacamole coming. Nice people and location. Thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This place is fantastic, the food is great and the fishing is wonderful. Be prepared for a simple hut that is clean, has electricity and flush toilets. The place pretty much closes down after 8:30pm so bring a few activities or bubblies to keep you busy. Fishing starts at 8am, you meet at the dock and head out to the salt water flats and return around 4pm. While the place is rustic and simple, and inexpensive, it won't disappoint.

Room Tip: Pick a room close to the main lodge, you might have wireless in your hut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matthew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Xcalak is a find - it looks miles and miles away on the map (right by the Belize border), but it's only 3 hours South of Tulum if you have a decent car. And wow - the place is to die for. A cute dusty Wild West outpost, 60kms from the next town, with miles and miles of virgin mangrove swamp and unfettered reef on either side.
We stayed in Costa de Cocos because it was the last room available in the town (there aren't many) - and it's a lovely place: 20 little thatched huts around a palm tree lined seafront, with a rickety jetty, a cute restaurant / terrace, and a little boat-house and slipway.
The staff look after you very well, and the food is great and good value.
The rooms are rustic and charming, though a little tired - a few too many holes for mosquitoes to get in, and we had a very friendly but alarmingly large iguana on our thatched roof who made sudden noises and occasionally poked his head through the thatch - quite amusing but a little disconcerting. if I had to nitpick one other thing, the electricity generator is quite noisy at night when the electricity's being temperamental.

Anyway, we spent the days lying in the sun, or taking a kayak out to the reef for some snorkelling (the hotel provide kayaks and snorkel gear free of charge) - and there's lots of wonderful sea life out there.
But even better is to pay USD40 for a boat-trip to the Belize border (2 miles max) to float through the mangroves, then snorkel around the reefs over there - some of the finest coral and sealife I've ever seen - to rival the Red Sea or Thailand certainly - and we found a stingray bigger than my kitchen table, who rose majestically in front of us and wafted away into the distance.

This is a magical getaway, and whilst Costa Cocos could do with a bit of upkeep, I'd certainly go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Awesome food, awesome fishing, in a great relaxing place. The accommodations are rustic but functional. Don't stay here if you are looking for a "canned" cancun resort experience with beach peddlers and techno music. Food at the reel inn bar was awesome and so was the service. Nicest people I've met in Mexico.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was my 5th trip to CDC and it didnt disappoint me. They have kept the place in good condition all these years. The food is still great and the flyfishing even better ! This is one of my favourite place to get away from it all. No it isnt 5 star, but it is very comfortable, simple and clean. The staff are awesome and friendly, and it is very good value for your money. I will be back again every year. Special thanks to my guide Joel, and the manager Chai. Well done !

Room Tip: I have stayed in palapas 1, 7, and 13. All very comfortable. #1 is goo as you are near the shoreline...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xcalak
18.1 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
151 reviews
16.6 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 54 in San Pedro
237 reviews
23.2 mi away
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
478 reviews
23.3 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
869 reviews
24.0 mi away
Captain Morgan's Retreat
Captain Morgan's Retreat
#24 of 56 in Ambergris Caye
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa de Cocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa de Cocos

Address: Xcalak Peninsula | follow Hwy. 307 to sign for Mahuahual, turn right at road to Xcalak, Xcalak, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Xcalak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Xcalak
Price Range: $88 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa de Cocos 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa de Cocos is about immersing yourself in nature, while relaxing in a hammock suspended under palm trees, enjoying an ice cold beverage on our patio, fishing, scuba diving, snorkeling, traveling along the coast in a kayak, or touring the surrounding landscape on foot, observing our local flora and fauna. From our shore you will observe numerous juvenile fish in the shallows, while multiple species of shorebirds feed along the coast. All you hear is the gentle roar of waves breaking on the nearby reef, all you feel is the warm sun and a gentle breeze blowing across your skin. You are surrounded by turquoise waters and dense jungle and mangroves. No skyscrapers, crowds, or cell phones.Costa de Cocos offers a truly unique experience on the frontier of Mexico. Our environmentally friendly resort has much to offer those who seek to experience life off the beaten path. We are located within the Xcalak Reef National Marine Park (Parque Nacional Arrecifes de Xcalak). The closest gas station and ATM are 30 miles (50 km) away, and the closest sizable town, Chetumal, is a distant 130 miles (200 km). Power is provided by the sun, with a generator backup.No square concrete rooms here, you will stay in a private Mayan-style beach bungalow with attached bathroom and shower. You will dine in our shore-front restaurant and bar, with wood decor and thatched roof.During your stay you can go fishing, snorkeling, and scuba diving, experience guided bird tours, kayak along the coast, visit Mayan ruins, travel to nearby towns and museums, and visit Belize. We are located five hours south of Cancun and three hours north of Chetumal. Belize and Ambergris Caye are located only a few short miles to the south.We have a wireless Internet connection, but no cell or land-line phone service. The nearby village of Xcalak offers very little in the way of shopping and nightlife. If you are looking for sandy beaches, shopping, and an active night life, it it best not to choose us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Costa de Cocos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa De Cocos Xcalak, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing