We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax on the beach”
Review of Sin Duda Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Xcalak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sin Duda Villas
Ranked #1 of 4 Xcalak B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2010

Sin Duda is a relaxed spot that's worth the drive. Owner/architect Robert incorporated Mayan elements in his building design, and he and wife Margo make guests feel welcome. We enjoyed the provided bIkes,kayaks, and beach lounges.Rooms are colorful and well equipped. We used the shared kitchen, and Margo provides breakfast granola and coffee. There are just a few small hotels and houses, so you have the beach to yourself,. The only negative is that when you walk along the shore, you run into tidal debris on the undeveloped sections. Other than that, it's great.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2nothome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 337 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2010

muy bien to robert and margo the graciuos owners of sin duda villas,xcalak,mexico
wow what a spot to escape a cold colorado winter. sin duda is ON the beach with the shimmering carribean sea just outside your door,fantastic snorkeling in bathtub warm water only yards away. our apartment #8 was a great,looking out at morning sunrises out of the ocean was priceless,the villas were well kept and clean,tastfully decorated,with rooftop big views of the ocean and laguna estuary behind. local food trucks come by every day almost
with groceries,tortillas,donuts. happy hour every day with killer 'margoritas' served up by margo/robert our extremely interesting hosts. we loved the lack of touristas,hotel row,noise,traffic,and all that stuff you get up north in cancun,playa del carmen. xcalak is a sleepy little mexican village with a cool ex-pat community along the coast. the diving was world class,with tarpon,eagle rays,turtles,unbelievable coral gardens,i was the only diver that day,with multiple dive sites only 5 minute boat rides away. ah the fun ends so qiuckly and now it's just a dream cause we are back in colorado at 9,000 ft.and it's 2 degrees out.........
......thanks sin duda villas,we will be back..............loved the corgis.
jim and annie lewis
central city, colorado

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

Margo and Robert are great hosts, very accommodating and responsive to guests needs. Guests need to be conservation minded. Sin Duda is off the grid and depends on collected rain water for much of the water use. I like that aspect of the experience there. It really fits with the low key, calm and relaxed atmosphere that Margo and Robert have created. Robert designed and built this small and beautiful hotel. The rooms are charming and comfortable and what a library! If you forget to bring something to read, don't worry about it! the snorkeling from Sin Duda is really nice. We saw turtles, rays and beautiful parrot fish, among other colorful finned beings. We shopped from the grocery truck and enjoyed the best, freshest food imaginable that we cooked in our Sin Duda apartment. Our standard fare at the grocery store in the US sucks, by comparison - why do we stand for it????

We also loved the village of Xcalak. One of the best things about Xcalak for us was the Leaky Palapa restaurant. The food was sublime and I was reminded of the film, Babette's Feast, and the transformative experience of eating well . Great food, great owners, staff and atmosphere! Our waiter, Louis, became our good friend. You can also hire him to take you bird-watching.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Higgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Sin Duda is a special place held near and dear to our hearts after traveling there twice and never wanting to return. Robert and Margo, your hosts, are endlessly hospitable, funny, warm and know just how to make you feel at home. Ever since our stay, we've renamed our favorite drink the "Margo-rita" in honor of our favorite hostess and her famous evening drinks.

The location is AMAZING! Far away from "the world", Sin Duda sits on a very quiet stretch of white sand beach, under some palm trees, and right in front of a living reef (literally, you can snorkel in front of the villa about 100 yards out and see reef teaming with life). The rooms are very comfortable and the stars are plentiful. We've spent hours there reading and sleeping on the beach, talking, swimming, walking in the sand and just unwinding in ways that aren't possible in less remote (and less beautiful) locals.

Things you should know: Sin Duda is not for everyone. It is a long drive from the airport in Cancun (6 hours) so it requires careful planning to get there safely before dark, especially since much of the drive is through very lonely jungles where you won't see life for miles. It is very remote, so you won't find a grocery store, fast food, television, telephones, or 24 hour electricity (for miles). There are a small handful of FABULOUS restaurants near by that are run by local expats and innkeepers, but they keep their own hours and may not have everything you want, so you need to plan to provide for yourself while you are there. The villa is eco-friendly. This means that you sometimes need to live without hot water, lights, a hair blower, etc. (from other reviews it is obvious that not everyone understands what that means). If you aren't comfortable with this, then this is not the vacation for you.

If you hope to achieve true relaxation, spend real time with your loved ones, and have the courage to strike out to somewhere outside the "hotel zone", then this place is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBestofTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

After staying at several mega-resorts in and around Akumal, we wanted to experience more of Mexico at a slower pace. Toward that end we spent several days at SDV in 2008. We thoroughly enjoyed it, so this year (2010) we spent the first two weeks of February there; and found that we liked it even more than in 2008! Margo and Robert are considerate hosts with an easygoing sense of fun. One feels like a member of a circle of friends rather than 'another customer'. Sin Duda Villas is a small eco-friendly place with a great staff, a clever design (Robert is an architect) and many thoughtful touches.
Some things that we'll remember: The quiet - the breeze through the coconut palms that sounds like a rain shower at night - the most comfortable lounge chairs on the coast - looking at the stars at night from the roof - talking Mayan history with Robert - the grocery trucks stopping at the front door - candles flickering in the evening - snorkeling in 'Margo's garden' (a large coral head 30 yards from shore) - watching the herons standing on the beach, looking for lunch - the corgi's taking offence to the herons - the sun rising out of the Caribbean sea in the morning - the quiet - 'running' into town to go to the Leaky Palapa - hermit crabs at sunset - hundreds of books around the resort - Margo's famous 'Margo-ritas' (use caution if drinking more than two!) - really great coffee - kayaking - evenings spent chatting with Margo, Robert and other guests - suggested vacation ideas (for the asking) - - - - and so much more. The question is not if we'll be back, it's when! (and the answer is not soon enough).

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Our most recent journey to the end-of-the-road was this last November 2009. At the end of a long and difficult year we knew just where to head for respite and renewal. My husband, son and I have been visiting Sin Duda almost annually for the past 11 years.
I just happened to be perusing the Trip Advisor Reviews and was a little dismayed to read a very recent post regarding what sounded like a bad situation (with a malfunctioning refrigerator)-- but the date of this malady occurred almost two years ago! From my perspective, and from most of the write-ups about Sin Duda, one would have to assume this issue has long since been corrected. In fact, we spent a week there during late summer 2008, (just after the reported problem) and at that time the communal cocina had recently been entirely renovated--new shelving, even more books, new paint and new appliances. During our visit this past November we found there were even more improvements. Robert (the Owner) is also a wonderfully innovative Architect from Seattle. The Casita (where we usually stay) had a new sunroom; and a deck for morning coffee, and best of all, all the rooms have new queen sized beds. The evolution has been really fun to observe.
Being from California, we are always impressed that this small resort, with about 8 bedrooms, can provide this high level of service without any negative environmental impact. Living entirely off the grid means there are so many variables that require constant monitoring. The delicate balance which must be maintained has to be both rewarding and challenging for those who choose to run these types of resorts-- requiring an extra level of commitment and diligence.
When Robert gives his "welcome tour" of Sin Duda he always tells the guests to report even the slightest problem so it can be resolved. Even for those of us who visit each year, we're reminded to report anything questionable-- and if anything arises its always a very quick fix. As far as the food goes there are wonderful fresh fruits, vegetables and meats available (brought to your door!) by the grocery truck every day.
At the risk of sounding much too philosophical for an online travel site I must say that one of the primary reasons we return year after year is the beautifully simple way of living. To fix fresh meals, drink Margo-ritas and enjoy fascinating new friends; to marvel at the starry night sky; to be lulled to sleep by the sound of the breeze in the palm trees (which sounds exactly like rain) -- is close to perfection. Every sunrise is stunning and a photographer's dream with hundreds of birds in synchronized songs, welcoming another day.
And behind all of this, Margo and Robert are working constantly, interacting with their employees, running pumps, keeping the lights on and the appliances running, hanging sheets out to dry, coordinating guests fishing and diving excursions over the short wave radio, yet all we notice from our comfy chaise lounge under our palapa is the blue sky, the white sand beach, and the stack of great books just waiting to be read.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunnyABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

We stayed at Sin Duda the first week of January and really enjoyed our time. With four people in our group, we rented apartment which had sufficient space, a well-equipped kitchen, porch, living room and screens on all the windows. The hosts are lovely, very generous and helpful with anything one might need during their stay in Xcalak. The hotel is north of Xcalak, located on a lovely stretch with a healthy coral reef close to shore, in a quiet location. The hotel offers both breakfast and delicious margaritas at cocktail hour. The hotel also has kayaks, complete snorkeling equipment, bicycles, horseshoes, games, a library, lounge chairs and umbrellas, a communal kitchen/sitting room and more.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindseyteal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xcalak
3.9 mi away
Costa de Cocos
Costa de Cocos
#1 of 2 in Xcalak
124 reviews
20.5 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
236 reviews
22.0 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 53 in San Pedro
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Playa Del Sol Free Snorkeling & Fishing
19.3 mi away
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
24.3 mi away
Hotel Maya Luna
Hotel Maya Luna
#3 of 22 in Mahahual
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sin Duda Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sin Duda Villas

Address: Km 8 Xcalak Beach Road, Xcalak, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Xcalak
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Xcalak
Price Range: $64 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us at the end of the road on our secluded beach - a respite from the noise and bright lights. Using ecologically responsible technologies and a cheerful perspective to conserve our unique environment, we live through seasons leaving only footprints in the white Caribbean sand. Presenting 8 remarkable spaces designed by the past architect-owner. Sin Duda Villas reflects an appreciation of Mayan simplicity, form and tropical colors. With a bit of whimsy tossed here and there. Peaceful, unique and decidedly rewarding. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sin Duda Villas Hotel Xcalak
Sin Duda Villas Xcalak, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing