We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing honeymoon retreat!”
Review of Sin Duda Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Xcalak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sin Duda Villas
Ranked #1 of 4 Xcalak B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We are newly weds and got married on the Pacific side of Mexico and decided to go "off the grid" and totally relax for part of our honeymoon to an area we had both never been before. Sin Duda offered the perfect place to relax, read, snorkel, kayak, and just take in the amazing view of the crystal clear ocean water from the palapas on the private beach. The rooms were clean and cozy and the yogurt and homemade granola were delicious every morning. Dave and Lesley were such generous and friendly hosts that made us feel very welcomed and special during our honeymoon stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 339 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

I've been around, but Sin Duda is the most beautiful, peaceful get-away-from-it-all spot yet. Imaginative, architect-designed Mayan style self-contained apartments nestled under coconut palms and bougainvilia right in the beach. An almost constant gentle on-shore breeze and sun fill every day as one relaxes under the private Palapas. Very laid back: drinks at sundown on the beach, or do your own thing. Swim, snorkel, kayak, visit native restaurants, or take in Mayan ruins. Plus the friendliest, most thoughtful hosts, Dave and Leslie. If you've been looking for that special, no-pressure getaway, give them a call.

Room Tip: Units are all wonderfully different. Ask Dave or Lesley for the layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Sin Duda is the type of place that you don't want to write a review about but would rather keep as a secret for yourself.

Everything good that has been written about this place is true. Lesley and Dave are the best hosts in the world and I dearly hope that their Sin Duda paradise will remain unspoiled for many years to come.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank christofaufreisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Sin Duda! What a wonderful place. Great rooms, great beach, great palapas. The common area/kitchen is perfect, with coffee, yogurt and granola available every morning. There is plenty of wildlife: birds, fish, crabs, rays, and also the loveliest cats and dogs (beach buddies). Dave and Lesley are amazingly generous hosts, with plenty of stories to tell and margaritas to share. The villas are also eco conscious, which is a refreshing difference from the large resorts in Cancun and Playa del Carmen. Xcalak is quite isolated, so remember to grab your groceries on the way and bring plenty of cash for the afternoon food trucks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susannah v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our stay at Sin Duda couldn't have been any better. We had the Ocean room and enjoyed having the shared kitchen which was fully equipped and stocked with coffee, delicious homemade granola with fresh coconut and yoghurt. The library was astounding and makes you wish your stay was longer - like maybe three months. We loved snorkeling right out from the property where there are lots of coral heads containing octopus, eel, rays, many types of fish, and squid. While kayaking in the lagoon we saw a ray and many large birds and had a great time exploring the mangroves. There is a beautiful garden that is home to lots of birds, geckos, and hermit crabs, and has great napping and reading areas under private palapas with lounge chairs and tables. Most of all we looked forward to the evenings when we would sit and talk with the other travelers, neighbors, and our wonderful hosts, Dave and Lesley. We can't wait to go back and spend time with our new friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juanayrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

An amazing family holiday at the majestic Sin Duda Villas!! Loved meeting the new owners, Dave and Lesley. Already thinking about when we can return. Great people, great accommodations, beautiful scenery, magnificent snorkeling. Looking forward to our next visit.

Lisa and Phil

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I've done a lot of traveling, all over Mexico and Central America. I gotta say, Sin Duda is a special haven. The beach is lovely and well taken care of. Snorkeling is out of this world, only steps from the beach. You'll see a wide variety of fish and beautiful coral. The grounds are really interesting and there's plenty of opportunity to relax and watch the world go by.

The hosts, Lesley and Dave are great. When we arrived they greeted us as we pulled up and helped us with our luggage. They showed us the ocean room which would be ours for the next two nights. It's a nice room facing the ocean with a balcony to relax on. Great bed, hot shower and ample space. Really nicely decorated with interesting artwork. There's a communal sitting area with kitchen right down the hall. It's awesome to have a large fridge, stove and coffee for one's use. Lots of books to read are also in this sitting area/kitchen.

Back to the hosts, Dave and Lesley, they were GREAT...going above and beyond. Extremely helpful and willing to go out of their way to make sure you have a good old time.

My husband and I were there to celebrate his bday. I mentioned this to Lesley and by surprise she made appetizers and drinks for all the guests. We congregated in the sitting area and out of the blue everybody began to sing Happy Birthday! What a treat and so thoughtful! It's a bday we'll never forget!

If you want a mellow vacation, off the beaten track, with a lovely beach, great rooms, awesome hosts then this is for you. One goes to Sin Duda to chill and to perhaps reflect how lucky we are to have found such a hidden gem. Book the trip, you won't be disappointed!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Yelgef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xcalak
3.9 mi away
Costa de Cocos
Costa de Cocos
#1 of 2 in Xcalak
124 reviews
22.0 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
151 reviews
20.5 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 54 in San Pedro
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#10 of 12 in Mahahual
33 reviews
19.3 mi away
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
23.9 mi away
Balamku Inn on the Beach
Balamku Inn on the Beach
#4 of 22 in Mahahual
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sin Duda Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sin Duda Villas

Address: Km 8 Xcalak Beach Road, Xcalak, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Xcalak
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Xcalak
Price Range: $64 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us at the end of the road on our secluded beach - a respite from the noise and bright lights. Using ecologically responsible technologies and a cheerful perspective to conserve our unique environment, we live through seasons leaving only footprints in the white Caribbean sand. Presenting 8 remarkable spaces designed by the past architect-owner. Sin Duda Villas reflects an appreciation of Mayan simplicity, form and tropical colors. With a bit of whimsy tossed here and there. Peaceful, unique and decidedly rewarding. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sin Duda Villas Hotel Xcalak
Sin Duda Villas Xcalak, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing