We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous holiday with Margo and Robert”
Review of Sin Duda Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Xcalak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sin Duda Villas
Ranked #1 of 4 Xcalak B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A fabulous holiday with Margo and Robert”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband and I found out about Sin Duda from a friend and passed it onto friends who decided to visit with us. What can I say. Our 2 couples rented the 2 apartments available and we had a fantastic, laid back, Margorita time. Not only is the place friendly to a myriad of people including many Canadians, but also dogs. We had a wonderful little dog called Fiona adopt us...and we adopted her. She stayed on our patio with us the entire 2 weeks and we had many other dogs visit as well as guests felt free to bring their mutts. But it was never a problem as all guests including the canine variety were more than gracious. Do stay at Sin Duda if you want a carefree relaxing holiday. Margo and Robert have planned everything to make your stay wonderful Robert is well read and can give you fabulous book reviews of the wonderful books in the library they have as well as read the stars for you. Margo is a charm and always willing to help with bookings at restaurants, or for dive excursions. They have lovely corgis which walk the beach everyday...you will be lucky to have a walk with them.

The apartments are charming and the sea breeze is so wonderful at night, we didn't even need the fan, So much to do there if you are willing to go into to town and if not, people come to you...fresh truck daily...who would have guessed cheesecake from a lovely Mormon lady and children...or how about buying fabulous fresh fish off the back of a motorbike???? You will not regret a holiday here. Throw your cell phone away and go back to the days when we could enjoy life. But if you can't be completely disconnected...you can still get internet :)

Room Tip: The apartments were wonderful but there are only 2 so book early! We loved the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artistandteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    12
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
165
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at Sin Duda for a week in January 2011 and decided to go back with our parents for a week in March 2012. This is not a resort and this is why we love it so much. The villa is beautiful and right on a quiet beach. Tons of snorkeling just a few minute swim from your door with great reefs and all kind of fish (I even saw a turtle!). There is also great fishing and scuba diving near. The drive from Cancun is about 5 hours, but there is many pleasant stops along the way (ask Margo the owner for traveling tips). So refreshing to get to Xcalak after the craziness of heavily touristed Playa Del Carmen and Tulum. Sin Duda is a place to get away from your busy life, forget about your emails, read on the beach for hours, have great conversations with interesting down to earth travelers in the shared kitchen and spend time enjoying the outdoors (paddle on the lagoon, flyfishing, snorkeling, bird watching...). For me this is the real definition of holidays!
Ariane and Jay, Alberta, Canada

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCantaloups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keewatin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed the first time here for a week in March 2012 and had a wonderful relaxing time. We left and moved farther up the coast staying at three other places for two weeks. Then we realized that we were not going to find another place like Sin Duda, so cantacted Margo and asked what the chances were of us getting back in for a week in April. With less than a week's notice she gave us our old room back and we had an even better time than we did the first week.
This is the most relaxing friendly place I believe that my wife and I along with our dog have ever stayed. As for the dog, she has been very welcome here and gets along great with the three resident corgis who are very tplerant of her invading their space.
We have made friends with most of the other clientel who are looking for the same things as we are, namely quiet, swimming, snorkling, sunning and good conversations. There is also awesome fishing for those that enjoy it. Snorkle gear, kayaks and bicycles are provided for those who like to do those sports.
There are great get togethers most evenings in the owner's apartment with stimulating Margoritas and stimulating discussions on many varied topics sure to get everyone involved. Robert also does a illuminating star orientation lecture on the roof when the skies are clear.
We loved our two one week stays this year so much that we are booked in for a month in March 2013 (Mayan end of the calendar permitting). lol !!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThunderBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at Sin Duda for seven glorious days this past April and will definitely be back. Xcalak is an amazing little village and Sin Duda makes for the perfect landing pad. There are several loaded coral reefs directly in front of the hotel where you might spot a parrot fish, puffer fish (or was it a trunk fish?), octopus, barracuda, or sea turtle in amongst the butterfly fish, squirrel fish, fair basslets, sergent majors, angel fish, blue tang, and more. As written here in many previous posts, the Margoritas are great and POTENT, which I’m sure contributes to the lively conversation in the evenings. And, oh boy, did we all enjoy those!

The rooms are comfortable, breezy, and there is hot water and WiFi (be conservative with both). The shared kitchen is well-equipped and a great place to make new friends. The beach is lovely. The hosts are friendly and helpful (and a hoot). Xcalak offers great fly fishing, diving, snorkeling, and food (although the town’s best restaurant is only open seasonally and on weekends). While the 20 minute bumpy ride in from town may be a bit of a deterrent for some, those that are really looking to get away from it all know that a bumpy road is the first step to finding a great treasure that few others will ever experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hongkong
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I don't know what has taken me so long to write this review, but our visit to Sin Duda was one of the best holidays my husband and I ever went on. It is truly remote, relaxing, and away from it all. However, I must say it is not a place for everyone. It is eco-luxury, not 5-star luxury. You cook your own food, get your own beers, and you provide your own entertainment. They have kayaks and other games around, but this is a spot where you get away from it all in a true paradise. The drive is long but worth it and only adds to the experience. The rooms are great and have everything you need. The beach is breathtaking and the water is crystal clear. I would go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saiyingpun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2012

You cant even begin to picture what a beautiful and relaxing time one is capable of at this out of the way( but not really) piece of paradise. The drive may seem long at 5 hours, but, having made the trip many times, that's half the fun. On the way, local vendors and small towns showcase the charm of the unseen piece of this turista corridor. Lizards/birds/butterflies and snakes come across your path at regular intervals , so be careful! You enter the small village wondering what you have got yourself into, but the smiles and waves from the people ensure you are a welcome addition. Upon arriving to your destination, an unexpectedly warm and authentic welcome is brought to you by the owners and caretakers of the property, Margo and Robert. Margo-ritas ease you into a sense of togetherness as the waves crash over the close by reef of life sustaining coral. It really is only 30 seconds out to an amazing array of undersea life! Sting rays, angelfish and too many others to count( Robert knows them all by a simple description) make for a wonderful daily snorkel. To be honest, there is not a lot expected of you as a guest and that's a good thing! Spend the time as you wish. In nature, with good company, and understanding why you are there in the first place. To unplug and listen to what is around you. I continue to visit ( 3 times in a year!) and have become smitten with the love and appreciation of the surroundings shared by the owners. You just have to take a chance and say why not?

Room Tip: Always see if you can get something on the beach side of the building. Because....heck it's a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filmguyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Sin Duda's location is fantastic ... if you like remote, peaceful and the fun of driving down an extremely bumpy dirt road. Luckily, we did. All part of the experience! We were given a choice of rooms, one on the ground floor which meant we could get up and walk straight out to the beach, or one on the first floor, with beautiful views of the sea. We opted for the latter, a pleasantly and quirkily decorated room, with plenty of books, ceiling fan, and small bathroom w/ shower. While we were promised hot water, in six nights we only had one warm shower ... admittedly we only raised this once and were told "it should be working". I suppose when you're undressed and under cold water, you can't be bothered to go and make a fuss. Not a massive deal, but a little trying. The fan in the room was on a timer, an hour a go, and we were sweltering during the evenings, and kept waking up to reset it ... It's an 'eco' place, and our first, so not too sure if this is normal or not. Felt a little harsh, but we opened the balcony door and room windows for a lovely sea breeze. Could be worse!

The shared kitchen was a nice room, well stocked with pots, pans, glasses, crockery etc, and again lots of books - it felt very homely. Robert mentioned they turned off the refrigerator in the evening to save electricity - fair enough, but what about the fresh food in there that goes off rather quickly? Fortunately for us, we only lost strawberries, which is all we had in there.

There is Wifi which comes on around 8am ish and off at 8pm ish, again not a huge deal and fairly refreshing to pull yourself away from a computer now and again. We were asked on a few occasions by their house sitter if we were downloading anything as "we're down to 30%" and that she was trying to "find out who's using all the wifi" which was a little odd ... we did feel quite guilty despite not downloading a thing all week!

Margo and Robert are very welcoming hosts, and they took their time walking us around the property and explaining how everything works, and giving us great tips about things to see and do locally. Margaritas when we arrived were greatly appreciated, as were the way they were very accommodating to our dog, Dolly, who was more or less free to roam around as long as she was well behaved. We really appreciated that.

All in all, a wonderful place, with great hosts, and a fantastic location. A couple of things to be improved, but no one, or nowhere is perfect. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xcalak
3.9 mi away
Costa de Cocos
Costa de Cocos
#1 of 2 in Xcalak
121 reviews
20.5 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 54 in San Pedro
227 reviews
22.0 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#36 of 54 in San Pedro
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
0.1 mi away
Acocote Eco Inn
Acocote Eco Inn
#3 of 4 in Xcalak
57 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hotel Maya Luna
Hotel Maya Luna
#3 of 23 in Mahahual
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sin Duda Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sin Duda Villas

Property: Sin Duda Villas
Address: Km 8 Xcalak Beach Road, Xcalak, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Xcalak
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Xcalak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us at the end of the road on our secluded beach - a respite from the noise and bright lights. Using ecologically responsible technologies and a cheerful perspective to conserve our unique environment, we live through seasons leaving only footprints in the white Caribbean sand. Presenting 8 remarkable spaces designed by the past architect-owner. Sin Duda Villas reflects an appreciation of Mayan simplicity, form and tropical colors. With a bit of whimsy tossed here and there. Peaceful, unique and decidedly rewarding. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sin Duda Villas Hotel Xcalak
Sin Duda Villas Xcalak, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing