We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DIY fly fisher's paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa de Suenos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Xcalak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Suenos
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DIY fly fisher's paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Really excellent spot. Definitely planning to return at some point soon to have another crack at the DIY grand slam! Jim (the caretaker) was really helpful and friendly, tending to all of our needs. There is DIY fishing all over the place here. Really good fun all round. Beautiful spot. Very remote, isolated and quiet. The road between Xcalak and Casa de Suenos is extremely bumpy, and took us about 30 minutes in our cheapo rental car. This would be slightly quicker in a 4x4, but it's still going to be slower than it looks on the map..! It took us about 5 or 6 hours or so to drive from Cancun airport. It's worth stopping on the way down at Walmart (or somewhere similar) in Playa del Carmen to do a big grocery shop, as the food truck that comes past the house (3 times per week) has fairly limited supplies, as do the shops in Xcalak village. This truck comes past at about 11 or 12 and hoots its horn, so make sure you listen carefully if you're planning to buy anything. In the downstairs kitchen there are two fridges, a gas hob, sink etc. Fairly basic, but all that you would want/need. Between the house and the beach is a short lawn with a couple of palm umbrella type things as well as a few sun loungers. There are two (slightly leaky) kayaks that are a lot of fun, and are a good way to explore the lagunas behind the house (ask Jim for instructions about how to get in and out of the lagunas.. and make sure you keep an eye on when it's going to get dark, as it'd be VERY easy to get stuck in there if it got dark... and I wouldn't want to be stuck overnight with the crocodiles..!). The snorkelling in front of the house is excellent, with miles and miles of calm, shallow, corally water inside the barrier reef. The restaurant at Costa de Cocos (just north of Xcalak village) serves good pizzas. We were told that Silvia's, in Xcalak itself, is excellent too, although we never actually ate there. We were there in July, and the weather was fairly changeable, with a few colossal thunderstorms, although this wasn't a major problem. We caught permit, bonefish, barracuda, jacks (as well as a few other unidentified reef fish). Saw some big tarpon as well, smashing sardines and mullet. Guides can be easily arranged, and do make it much easier to get to the fish, although we still caught fish without them (it just requires a bit more legwork and determination). A DIY grand slam is definitely a possibility here. All in all, I would highly recommend to anyone who either just wants "to get away from it all", or (even more so) someone who wants access to some excellent DIY fly fishing.

Room Tip: The upstairs apartment would be the one to go for if possible. Particularly if there are more than 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Troy, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

If you are looking for a vaction that offers great accomidations, a short swim to the second largest reef in the world with out of this world snorkeling, beautiful beach at your doorstep and owners that make you feel that you are home... than you must check out Casa De Suenos in Xcalak, Mexico. Like us you will want to return year after year. It is a slice of heaven that gives you an authentic tropical Mexico experience. excelente!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WisconsinTravelers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Just returned from my second trip to Xcalak. After meeting Dom and Sarah during my first trip there we decided to stay at Casa de Suenos this time around. Our group of 4 arrived to find the caretaker Jim waiting for us and after a brief introduction and orientation we were in full relaxation mode, which continued for the entire 9 day stay. Casa de Suenos is clean and comfortable, with all the amenities we needed for a relaxing vacation. The location is perfect - quiet and right on the beach. Swimming, snorkelling, fishing, kayaking or just relaxing all right there. We cooked for ourselves, getting fresh fish at the cooperativa and fresh fruits and vegetables, along with other groceries from the grocery trucks which stopped by every couple days. We can't say enough about Jim as he was the consumate host, making our stay an absolute treat by being there when we needed him, not being there when we didn't need him and going out of his way to ensure our stay was most enjoyable. The 9 days went by way too fast and I did not want to leave this piece of paradise. A huge thanks to Jim for exceeding all expectations during our stay. I can't wait to head back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkP154938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetumal, Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

We booked two rooms for two nights way in advance...actually it was a two bedroom, second floor apartment...and almost at the last minute had to cancel half of it because our kids had to cancel their trip. The owners were very understanding and, since they did not have a single room available, we stayed in the apartment and only used one bedroom.

Additionally, we had some friends with us in their RV and they were showed where they could camp nearby and were made welcome at the hotel for just hanging around.

We had such a good experience with the wonderful snorkeling right in front of the hotel that we extended our stay an extra night. The beach was kept beautifully though it was a bit of a challenge for Dom with all the sargassum that kept washing ashore.

Honestly, the owners, Dom and Sarah, went above and beyond in many ways other than the above.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatheK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

Casa de Suenos is the icing on the cake to the more relaxing a beautiful vacation ever! The house is clean, quiet, with the most beautiful surroundings ever. Michael and Martina the caretakers are there for you when you need them, yet never intrusive. Our party of 3 stayed at Casa de Suenos for 3 weeks, diving with XTC dive center the whole time. Waking up to look over the Caribbean ocean at our own personal sunrise - lol - was the best. The quiet at night listening the wind and even the occasional rain was still relaxing. When you are ready for a true get away to quiet and beauty, go to Casa de Suenos. I am sure you will love it as much as we did.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs apartment, 2 bedrooms, 2 bath, kitchen, dining and living room. It was gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

If you are coming to Xcalak you are coming to destress or get away from it all, and there is no better place to do it than Casa de Suenos. The sunrises and sunsets are memories that last a lifetime. I would recommend this to everyone we had such a relaxing, peaceful vacation, swimming , snorkeling and maybe some fishing if thats your thing. It's also a divers paradise. This units are of a very good standard and in a fantastic remote location. This is an Eco resort so it is all about protecting the environment so keep that in mind when you go there.The furnishing was simple but effective and the beachfront location was outstanding. We just wished we had booked two weeks! .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed at Casa Suenos for a week while fly fishing and diving in Xcalak. We were so excited to arrive in Xcalak as we had just been down 3 months prior, but staying at different accommodation, and had returned to try out the diving with XTC (an exceptional experience).

Consider our surprise when we arrived at the end of the road to find the caretaker sitting under a palapa yelling with many profanities about how hot it was, how many bugs there were, how they weren't ready for us because they hadn't been told until that morning that we were arriving, how she couldn't understand how anyone would visit in July with the heat and bugs....how there was only one more reservation in August and that was enough for her.. while the other caretaker raked the beach for the only time while we visitied ? Welcome to Casa de mal suenos was our thought... Wow!

I never make reservations when travelling as I like to be able to stay longer or move on if things are not what we want and ask around to find out where to stay etc.... my first experience in pre-paying for a week (we were taking a specialty dive course at XTC that had to be arranged in advance) and this was our arrival welcoming.

We were told as the caretaker led us into the two bedroom apartment that they were far easier going than the place we had stayed at last time (which we greatly enjoyed by the way, and ended up going back to when we extenended our diving time in Xcalak ), and she wasn't going to run through a bunch of rules on us.... wish they had: We were informed in no uncertain terms two days later that they were upset because we had used too much internet and their internet had been shut off (we were taking a Rescue Diver course online through PADI which required downloads, once we were informed of the lack of band width we did our downloads at the dive shop), and they had had to pay $10 to get it resumed -- we never would have used the internet for anything but email if they had explained that in advance.

Another day later, we were told we were using too much electricity leaving the fans on when we were not home -- we had ensured we turned off lights, etc, but thought leaving the fans on would keep the air moving; the air did not move well through the bedroom at the back of the apartment even with all the windows that would open were opened. Also, that we needed to make sure we put the kayaks back up on the rack as there were thieves that would walked aliong the beach in the mornings -- we had pulled the kayaks up above the high tide line and weren't worried as we had been told when we arrived that we were the only ones staying there and would have the run of the place. We try to travel cheaply and are not unreasonable people, telling us about the rules for the apartment at the start would have been welcomed, rather than getting upset when we cross a line we didn't know was there. John did come in right away and fix the screens in the back bedroom when we explained that we had holes in all the bedroom screens and a room full of bugs, and did give us water when we requested it, but the other caretaker never did get around to providing us with the clean towels we requested after 5 days.

We were pleased to move on to the Reef House at the end of the week where we were provided with clean towels and a hearty welcome where we were told about the lack of band width for internet, use of fans, etc.

Casa Suenos could be jewel, but needs some much required TLC and a much better welcome!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank canadianfamily007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xcalak
31.3 mi away
Costa de Cocos
Costa de Cocos
#1 of 2 in Xcalak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Porto Coral
Porto Coral
#7 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.3 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Suenos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Suenos

Property: Casa de Suenos
Address: KM9 Camino Costero Xcalak, Xcalak 77940, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Xcalak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Xcalak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Suenos, an off the beaten path eco-friendly resort. Xcalak is off the beaten path, and the nature of the location and lack of creature comforts like air conditioning and TVs is not for everyone. However, if you enjoy a tropical beach setting, with untouched and unspoiled surroundings, and very little tourist traffic, then this is the place for you. Spend your days doing nothing at all, playing beach games, reading a book, walking and beachcombing the miles of uncrowded beachfront. Kick back with a refreshing cocktail, sit by the fire at night, listen to your favorite music, relax. There is a small disco and a few bars in town and along the strip should you wish some sort of nightlife, or never leave Casa de Suenos once you arrive, and want for nothing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa De Suenos Xcalak, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing