We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Diving Experience”
Review of XTC Dive Center

XTC Dive Center
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Xcalak
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: XTC Dive Center is located within the Xcalak Reef National Marine Park, a strictly protected region of the Meso-american Barrier Reef system. The area boasts some of the most breathtaking dive sites on the Yucatan peninsula and offers visitors an opportunity to enjoy the pristine marine environment without the crowds present in the more developed areas of the coast. XTC Dive Center is internationally known for our world-class customer service, top notch equipment and expert guides. We provide a seamless customer experience through careful planning, logistics and proprietary local knowledge. All of our standard trips and courses provide great value!
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Diving Experience”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

What a great dive shop, We found this great dive operation in an "off the beaten path" in Xcalak, a remote, rustic town, XTC has created a wonderful dive shop with excellent dive masters, professional instructors, good equipment--and the dive sites are beautiful. First time seeing a Lionfish! Would definitely recommend this Dive operation. Safe, clean, professional, and fun! Thanks to Ollie and the gang!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kcinhtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jules P, Manager at XTC Dive Center, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Luckily we don't have a lot of lionfish on our reefs as generally we hunt them, hopefully feeding the little ones to morays and snappers and bringing the large ones home for ceviche! They are a beautiful fish but unfortunately not native to our area.
Thanks for your wonderful comments about our staff, we all pride ourselves in being a fun, safe and professional dive shop. We are lucky with lots of beautiful dive sites too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    28
    7
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
portland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just returned from Xcalak. Dove for two days with XTC and had a wonderful time. They were over the top in customer service and safety. It was everything you want in a Dive Center and more : dive masters with great reassuring attitudes (thank you Ollie and Jesus), the clean well cared for gear (Thank you to the very attractive and knowledgeable Ellie, Holly and Terry), boat driver's steady hand in rocky water, the hammocks and hot coffee, the photographer's custom video (thank you for the extra photos Mario), the extra resource material and above all, the support staff's recommendations - before and during (thank you Sophia). This place was EXCEPTIONAL! Just trying to figure out when we get to return.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank neswstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jules P, Manager at XTC Dive Center, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your review - here at XTC Dive Center we focus on the customer having the best possible time and right from the very first email, Sophia finds out what sort of experience it is and we try to make this happen and if we can't make alternative plans so there are no surprises when you arrive. Our divemaster in training are a wonderful help and a lot of fun and we wish could employee them all however it is just not possible. Eli, our exceptional Mexican divemaster has just completed her instructor course and has now joined Ollie and Xesus on our instructional team guiding divers. We look forward to your next visit and hope you like all the changes. Not only hot coffee and hammocks but a cafe and a few other little surprises!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Earlier trip”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

They conducted the PADI open-water certification dives for my oldest son while we were down fishing. They were very accomodating and easy to work with. Allowed us to fit his diving in with our fishing schedule. I'd recommend them to anyone - and they offer access to Chinchorro Banks.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank FlatsFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jules P, Manager at XTC Dive Center, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We are glad you had such a fantastic trip in Xcalak. The fly fishing is pretty fantastic down here, very uncrowded and pristine with a good amount of bone fish, permits and tarpon for a grandslam! XTC Dive Center knows that it's important to have family time as well as each you being able to have fun doing your own activity so being flexible with our schedule can really make the most from your schedule. We hope to see down here next time on a family fishing and diving holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Diving @ XTC”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Wonderful week at XTC, great DMs, great coffee and great dive sites. Even helped out with a cleanup around the dock and got to hang out with the local schoolkids. Ask nice and maybe you can spearfish for the Lionfish! I'll definitely be back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lewis35813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jules P, Manager at XTC Dive Center, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Xcalak is a little further a field then some of the more touristy areas however it is well worth the bus rides or the car hire as once you get here you are greeted by uncrowded dive boats, gorgeous healthy reef. As a divemaster I know you appreciate the little details and we are glad to hear we have accomplished just that. At the clean up with the high school children we gave four Discover Scuba Diving experiences away - you missed the prize being claimed. It was a very fun day indeed!

We hope to see you down here next time with your girlfriend and leave it to us, she may be starting her Open Water course but soon she will be alongside you on the reef exploring too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Experience At XTC!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My partner and I had an absolutely awesome experience in Xcalak with XTC. I'm an experienced diver and I really appreciate the difference a quality shop can make. My partner did her open water certification at XTC overcoming a fear of diving and falling in love with it through the amazing support of XTC's staff.

XTC is blessed with a beautiful town and reef on their doorstep, but what sets XTC apart is it's knowledgable and attentive staff. Our dive masters knew the sites inside and out, our captains landed us right on top of the dives, and the rental gear was in great shape. We both felt very safe with XTC and the dives were beautiful.

We chose to stay in the hotel on site while we dove with XTC. I recommend this - staying on site was beautiful and the rooms are comfortable. On top of that, I really got to know the staff better and felt a part of the shop for the week we spent in Xcalak. I loved it there. We'll be heading back as soon as possible.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jules P, General Manager at XTC Dive Center, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
XTC Dive Center strives to give the best customer service possible to experienced divers and novice divers. Glad to read we succeeded on your vacation. I will give all the staff a pat on the back

We are glad to hear you love Xcalak as much as we do. We look forward to seeing you back in our onsite hotel and on our dive boats soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed XTC Dive Center also viewed

 

Been to XTC Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing