We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restaurant”

El Meson del Marques
Ranked #2 of 107 Restaurants in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We ate the best meal in all of our 12 days in Mexico here! The seafood was exceptional, the ambiance superb and the service first class. We were sorry we had not stayed here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Borkijazmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello,

Thank you very much for your beautiful words, we feel very grateful for your visit, thank you for choosing us.

Best regards and we hope you return soon.

- Rodrigo Escalante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    649
    464
    147
    41
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful ambiance = excellent food”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Gorgeous, colonial hotel and restaurant. Excellent food at a moderate price. Our waiter was slightly absent the evening we ate here, but the charming hostess and fabulous food made up for his slight faults. Definitely worth eating here and we want to stay next time we visit Vallodolid as the price for rooms is right, also. Haven't seen what they are like, but it is a beautiful, historic, colonial building so we aren't expecting "urban glitz"!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello,

Thanks for the title of your comment and your words. We are motivated to read comments like yours.

Thanks for sharing your experience.

Greetings to Canada.

- Rodrigo Escalante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not as good value”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Came a few years ago 4 times -this time prices have gone up and the food not quite as good value-nice setting though just off the square.

Tourism has caused prices to go up-shame

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heydd55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello,

Thanks for your comment and to return to the restaurant El Meson del Marques, unfortunately prices worldwide have increased; but we have been considerable and fair with the prices of our dishes.

We care a lot about the quality of our food, but I will talk to the chef to follow up on your comment.

Best Regards,

- Rodrigo Escalante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Del Carmen, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Calm elegance and classic service”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This was our choice for a quiet lunch without a tour group buffet. It is on the plaza across from the cathedral. The Yucatecan dishes were flavorful and the Mayan Coffee served with a flair.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Xcalacoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello,

Thanks for visiting and for your comments, we hope you visit us more often.

Best Regards,

- Rodrigo Escalante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful courtyard in which to have breakfast”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

If passing throughout this lovely small Mexican town, do stop at the Meson de Marques and have breakfast in their courtyard restaurant. The food is fine, but it's really the elegant setting that makes it so special.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jax_46Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello,

We sincerely appreciate your comment. It's good to have satisfied customers.

We hope you come back soon

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Escalante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Meson del Marques also viewed

 
Valladolid, Yucatan
Valladolid, Yucatan
 

Been to El Meson del Marques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing