We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (668)
Filter reviews
668 results
Traveler rating
603
56
5
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
603
56
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews denis larsen ek balam other guests local market wealth of knowledge guest house yogurt an excellent host mayan ruins an oasis wonderful stay our room was spacious an easy walk common areas beautiful garden the main square breakfast was delicious
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 668 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2019

We stayed at Casa Hamaca as part of a curated small group tour. We were immediately impressed with the quality, cleanliness, and location of the hotel. The rooms and common areas are spacious and well appointed. The small plunge pool was just right for an afternoon dip on a hot day. The lush garden made the home feel like an oasis in the city, and the location couldn't have been nicer. There is a neighborhood plaza right outside the front door and the main city plaza is an easy walk past some shops and dining spots.

The people who run the hotel are friendly, hospitable, hardworking and accommodating. The food in the restaurant was delicious and traditional. The owner of the hotel was a fabulous resource for enjoying the city and the local market. If we find ourselves again in Valladolid, we will definitely stay at Casa Hamaca.

Muchas gracias a todos!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PeasnLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2019 via mobile

We just stayed at Casa Hamaca for the first time and enjoyed this lovely oasis in the small city of Valladolid. Denis is a charming host and our stay was delightful in every way. We look forward to another visit soon!

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank 47babs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay at the Casa Hamaca Guest House. The owner, Denis Larsen, was very business-like in confirming our reservation and prepayment of the room immediately upon making the reservation through hotels.com. When we arrived, he was enjoying the cool afternoon breeze on the balcony of his lovely guest house. We were warmly welcomed; and he was very efficient checking us in and getting our luggage to our room. We had a lovely and spacious room with a very comfortable bed. The room was decorated in a typical Mayan fashion, and very charming. Our room was very clean, and the shower was hot. We also ate dinner and then breakfast at the restaurant on site. We enjoyed both meals very much. Denis was helpful in recommending activities not in the guide books. We happened to arrive on the night of the annual Panucho Fiesta which we went to on Denis' recommendation, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Valladolid is a very pretty, charming, small town. It is a great starting point to visit Chichen Itza as well as some of the area cenotes. Also, I highly recommend taking time to stroll the streets of the main shopping district. We booked this guest house as a one night stopover between Puerto Morelos and Merida. We really should have booked two nights or more. There is much to do in and around Valladolid.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019

We spent 3 nights at Casa Hamaca in March. The hotel is about 4 blocks from the central square, in a quieter part of town. Easy walk into Centro. Nice trees grounds with a sitting terrace and restaurant. Very friendly, helpful and attentive staff. Rooms were large and comfortable. Very nice breakfast included in the price. Would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gonedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2019

the place is hidden, not very quiet during the day as many dogs and buses are actively making noise. Curtains are clear so sun comes in at 6 am! Nice to sleep. Ok beds. spacious rooms with great showers
Owner feeds cats so if you are allergic to cats avoid. pool is very small and was dirty so we did not use it. Very nice firiendly staff, free breakfast that was ok. parking on site

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MarilenaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews