We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful courtyard and room”
Review of Casa Quetzal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Quetzal
Ranked #2 of 21 Valladolid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful courtyard and room”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent 2 nights here in November. It was a beautifully decorated room and the garden/courtyard is lovely and peaceful too. Our only grumble was that the ceiling fan was a bit noisy and there was no water in the shower one morning (something to do with the 'bomba' apparently?! It was fixed by the afternoon though). The staff were friendly and helped arrange a taxi for us to go to Ek Balam. Breakfast is available but it's a shame it's not included in the price of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carola_Marron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    81
    21
    6
    6
See reviews for
59
145
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Casa Quetzal is a sweet oasis to come back to after the scorching heat of Valladolid or the humid crowd choked scenes of Chichen Itza. The garden and pool area cool and peaceful all day. The rooms a spacious the beds very comfortable. It's great to stay right by the convent, one morning we heard beautiful choral singing drifting into our room at dawn. The service was friendly if a little impersonal but all things considered a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fotofriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Spent two night at the Quetzal on Sept 5/6 2012. The hotel has 8 rooms and a cottage in the back yard. The building is hacienda style with a yard in the middle with pool, and beautiful vegetation. The rooms are spacious and clean. We had a little noisy air conditioner but apart from that had a great rest both nights.

Breakfast is generous and reasonably priced. It's not included in the price.

There is WiFi available but don't expect fireworks in the speed department. Sufficient though to catch up with the world.

A great value for sure - MN$1,800 for two nights for two heads.

Will definitely return one day.

Room Tip: Try rooms 3 and up - these are not street facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed two times in Casa Quetzal, one time in March, by myself, and on time in June, with my husband. Both times I loved it very much! It is not 'like' staying with friends, it IS staying with friends! A wonderful atmosphere, a beautiful landscaped garden to relax in, a great breakfast and wonderful staff, all combined with the most gracious owner, Judith!

There is really nothing more to wish for on a trip and this is the perfect place to explore anything in town! Casa Quetzal is right across the Convent, it's quiet and peaceful, and the rooms are absolutley lovely!

Everything is neat and clean and tidy. I stayed in 3 different rooms during these stays and loved them all! The bathrooms are great, and I enjoyed my little balcony upstairs in March. Everything is lush and green with colourful flowers everywhere, and the pool is just what you need to cool off after exploring your surroundings!

I can only recommend this place to anyone, and the other guests I met there were as happy as I am :)

Can't go wrong here! Enjoy!

Room Tip: My favourite room is the one by the pool, upstairs! Love that one personally, but all are great! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beate64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussles
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

A wonderful quiet place with a nice garden and high standard of the room. I agree with GeoffW195 - for me it had the highest standard from all the hotels we stayed in Jucatan - we traveled 1 month. A little relaxing oasis. It is a 10 min walk from the city center but it is safe one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Family of 5 stayed 3 nights at Casa Quetzal, and we rated it highest of any hotel we visited in a city during a month of travel in Belize and Yucatan/Mexico. Large, well appointed rooms with huge, delicious breakfasts (not included in room price but very reasonably priced). AC and fans worked well in both rooms, staff was friendly and helpful. Looks from the street are deceiving - appears plain enough outside, but once you enter the courtyard you are in a different world. Prices for our stay were very reasonable considering we had 2 large rooms. And the location in Valladolid was great for walking to the village center and other attractions. We loved Valladolid itself, and it was also handy for short drive to Chitzen Itza. Beds were fantastic also...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffW195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This place is lovely quiet and relaxing, 10min walk from the center of town and across the road from the Convent. Great location, great service, super clean and comfortable.

A great place to stay if you want to visit the surrounding site 40mins away by bus, at a cost of only $2 USD if you take local transport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bdmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.7 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
1,396 reviews
0.8 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
440 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
332 reviews
1.5 mi away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valladolid
206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ecotel Quinta Regia
Ecotel Quinta Regia
#9 of 15 in Valladolid
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Quetzal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Quetzal

Property: Casa Quetzal
Address: Calle 51 No. 218 x 50 y 52 col. Sisal, Valladolid, Yucatan, Mexico, Valladolid, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Quetzal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or pleasure, alone or with family, Hotel Boutique Casa Quetzal he looks great facilities in the historic center of the magical town of Valladolid, Yucatan. Since our opening in 2006 we have distinguished ourselves by providing an atmosphere of total tranquility in a Mexican colonial style building framed with large gardens and terraces. The spaces are decorated using Mexican folk art objects, which provides our hotel a regional touch. The undeniable charm of Casa Quetzal will always do their first choice in this colonial destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Casa Quetzal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Quetzal Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing